We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Clara Bungalows

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Santa Clara Bungalows to your Saves list
Santa Clara Bungalows
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Sargentos Provisionales 24, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

have just returned from a two week stay at Santa Clara Bungalows. Bungalow was clean had everything we required, bathroom a bit dated but adequate. Staff were lovely very friendly and helpful, room cleaned daily, beds changed three times a week and clean towels on a daily basis if required (just leave them in the shower when you want them replaced). Pool bar serves great snacks and beer and the owner sam is a lovely man. Resort is excellent some great places to eat. Shopping very good. Yumbo centre has some great bargains. Go to the Kasbah centre for excellent food the Toro Steak House is very reasonably priced. For good old british food go to the Britannia pub which is just round the corner from the bungalows. All in all after reading reviews prior to holiday i was getting a bit concerned at some of the things people had put but i couldnt disagree more with most of them we would certainly return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    96
    40
    22
    16
See reviews for
52
75
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I have just returned from santa clara bungalows.If you like a quiet holiday than this is the place.we had a lovely bungalow and clean beds were changed twice in two weeks towels changed three times.people at reception always friendly and spoke everytime you passed them.two lovely pools always plenty of sunbeds.Going back next year.

Room Tip: 269.just behind the pool very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

this was the second time i have stayed at these bungalows, four of us sharing a bungalow.They are very clean and there are two pools, staff were friendly and helpful, it may not be ideal for people with children but for groups of friends its ideal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

well just returned from a week at santa clara bungalows i had read the reviews but thought its paid for so dont expect much i arrived 30th august 2012 the receptionist slammed a bunch of 4 keys on the desk and said its round there got to ithe bungalow yes it was the last key i tried that opened the door the room was basic but seemed ok a bit hot there is no air con just a fan that did at times look like it was going to come away from the ceiling the short version is my room was cleaned twice isay twice a quick flick with a dry mop and emptied the ash tray towels changed once and the bed once i did speak to the thomas cook rep Jay who i cannot fault the poor guy was getting it by all he said every day he talks to the manager about the cleaning nothing is ever done at the end of my stayas i had a late flight i asked Jay about keeping my room on he said he would sort it there and then he asked in front of me they told him to get to ask again the day before i was leaving this i did and was told to go away and ask again that afternoon i returned at 2-30 pm i asked the second receptionist he said i am not at work yet go ask the other one he arrived told me no be out by 12 put your case in that room would i stay here again no would i recomend this place to anyone no but thomas cook you should be proud of Jay he is a saint to put up with all that complaining and still manage to have a smile for everyone

Room Tip: there are no good rooms dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Travelled August 2012 for 2 weeks as a single parent with an 8 year old, following some recent reviews I did travel with an open mind and upon arrival I was fairly please with what I saw, check in was swift and easy directions to our room saw us passed both of the pools, I was pleased to notice that there were plenty of available sunbeds in the middle of the day. We arrived at our bungalow and again I was fairly happy, although I had requested a room near the pool when booking I ended up with a roadside one, but the security of the high walls & fences was quite reasuring. Our bungalow was very basic and in desperate need of TLC but it was only ever intended as a place to sleep and shower (I don't do holiday cooking), the beds were comfy, they appeared to have memory foam matresses which only added to the very hot nights though.

It soon bacame apparent that this complex was residential, with only the residents having access to the many gates onto the street, holiday makers had to use the front entrance which was a pain as we were only 50 yeards from the nearest supermarket, but had a 5 min walk due to being restricted to using the front enterance. I even witnessed people 'locals' gaining access through these gates brining towels etc, making it obvious they were not even residents to the complex but having keys to enter it, though when we noticed someone using the gate by our bungalow we did make a dash for it and hold it open and found most of the residents around us were happy to do this although we didnt try to get back in using this method.

The pools were nice, a decent size and depth, we stuck to one left of reception as in the first few days it seemed that the residents seem to go to the other, which was fine for us, until Saturday & Sunday when on mass families from other parts of the Island appeared, I have never known such rude people, my particular favourites were the free porn show as young couples 2 to a sunbed if you get my drift covered themselves with a towel and didn't come up for air, not saying there was sex, but it sure wasn't innocent get a room!!! and the 2 little girls walking a yorkshire terrier to the back of my sunbed and letting it take a crap, really?!? and yes I did move after a few choice words!!! and then the security guard whos vocabulary consisted of no lilos, no balls, no jumping, no diving!!! This is what really got to me as the 'locals' got away with everything, it was a disgrace and very upsetting for my son who just wanted to enjoy his holiday :(

It wasnt until our 2nd week that I atempted to have our room changed, the Rep Jay came to see me one day around the pool and I just happened to mention that I was having trouble sleeping due to noise from the road (it was constant traffic all night), I wasn't looking for a room change, but Jay suggested as it was change over day that if I was prepared to move he could definately get me new room, I wasn't over bothered but just to see if I could get a better room I agreed, he came back within a few minutes with a key and off we went to a bungalow that was completely surrounded by locals, just the noise they were making was too much, let alone the smell of fish being cooked, we both decided this was not a good move, he said there were more rooms and he would get back to me the following day. Unfortunately the following day all the 'empty' rooms had been "overbooked by the Spanish" instead I hired a fan that drowned out the road and cooled us down at the same time :)

The only direct complaint I can make about the Santa Clara is that the cleaning service to the bungalows was rubbish in 2 weeks we had our beds changed once and clean towels maybe 3 times.

I have made a formal complaint to Thomas Cook sugesting they should drop this accommodation or change the way they described it in their brochure as I would never have booked it knowing there was such a high number of residents. I don't normally a complain but feel Thomas Cook have left out some essential information about this complex and missold this holiday :(

Jay the rep was great though very sympathetic and made every attempt to do what ever he could to improve situations :)

Ooops I appear to have gone on a bit, hope it helps tho. Oh also I wouldn't go back to Playa del Ingles either far too big of a resort too spread out,very dated and a bit tacky :(

Room Tip: Book a different complex :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Just came back from this place and it was the worst hoilday ever this is not for family's at all saturday and Sunday's the front gate is left open so anyone can come in to use the swimming pools and stuff there's nothing to do but there was some nice bars behind us and some good food places but everywhere you go in town there's dirty old men looking at the little kids not nice at all the people that we was next to had there apartment and had parties till 6-30 in the morning did complain but nothing was really done would never go back to this hell hole again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grangemouth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the sants clars bungalow in march 2008 we loved it we have tryed to book back few times around march time without luck the bungalows were well maintaned clean we were very lucky because we had only book a One bedroom and we were given a two which was even better you are close to chaparal,yumbo bars,shops,night life great we are going back in march 2013 if we manage to get booked up.Staff very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Santa Clara Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Clara Bungalows

Address: Avenida Sargentos Provisionales 24, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Santa Clara Bungalows 1.5*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Santa Clara Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Clara Bungalows Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Santa Clara Hotel
Hotel Santa Clara
Santa Clara Bungalows Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Clara Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.