We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa del Sol Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Playa del Sol Apartments to your Saves list
Playa del Sol Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Tirajana 26, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Really nice hotel. Central location, only 40 mins from the airport. It's close to bars and clubs, so could be bit noisy in the night, but if you there to party, that isn't a problem. Downside is if you want to watch TV, you have to pay for the remote, but if you have Samsung S4, you can use it as a remote control:))Wifi is free for one hour only with a voucher provided from reception. If you still want to use Internet, you also have to pay. But these are really minor 'problems'.
All in all the hotel is fantastic, nice gardens, beautiful pool, with plenty of sunbeds. We've had a fantastic holiday and will definitely return again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Sol P, Director de Recepción at Playa del Sol Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Veronica. We thank you left us a review. It is really important to us. Do not forget to come back anytime this year we have the Premier Rooms. If you choose to make your reservation for this room type will warrant the bedroom to the pool and thus avoid possible noise.
Thank you very much and greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    145
    54
    16
    8
See reviews for
13
122
40
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My partner and I stayed here last month for 11 nights. I think that the reviews are a very fair representation of the hotel and what to expect. The rooms are nice and clean, quite basic but have everything you would expect. They are cleaned nearly every day and the maids are brilliant. They even washed any dishes that were in the sink. The safe was expensive to hire but you don't really have much choice do you? We were in room 210 and it was fine with regards to noise, our bedroom was on the pool side so the noise from the Yumbo didn't really affect us at all. The beds were the comfiest I have had in a hotel abroad, there were toppers on the mattresses and plenty of pillows.
The pool and gardens are really nice, there were plenty of loungers and space. The happy hour at the bar was great, every afternoon 1pm - 6pm 2 x beers for just under 4 euros. Happy days!!
Great access to the Yumbo centre which has loads of bars. We did visit the other centres Sandi and Cita where there are also lots of bars but they catered more for German guests.
The beach is a 10 - 15 minute steady walk away with a fab chill out bar on the front, big comfy seats and fab music.
I don't think I would go back again but that was no reflection on this hotel at all. It is more the resort, there was not a great deal to do there in the day.
We did get a bus into the capital one day but a couple of hours there and that was more than long enough, however the main bus stop is right outside the hotel, very handy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with the bedroom over looking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Sol P, Director de Recepción at Playa del Sol Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Good morning Claire! We are glad you liked our hotel. We work every day to meet your needs. Thanks for giving your opinion collaborate. See you soon back at Playa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I stayed here end of September for 2 weeks - Basic but clean accommodation. Had all I required right next door to Yumbo. The beds were the best I've had in a basic budget hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Pool and gardens were kept very clean. I would stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Sol P, Director de Recepción at Playa del Sol Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are happy to welcome you again in our hotel. We hope to see you soon. A greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed here twice this year for extended periods. The apartments are excellent value - well located, clean, well kept, extremely helpful staff and very competitively priced. My only issue was wifi reception in my room, which the staff tried hard to correct (though never fully). A new gym area is currently being created with impressively expensive equipment. Overall, you would be very hard pressed to find better value in Playa Del Ingles!

Room Tip: Get an apartment with a bedroom overlooking the pool area. It reduces noise from the nightlife and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Sol P, Director de Recepción at Playa del Sol Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello Travellin. Now for the third year! We are very glad that our hotel happy customers leave. When you return to Playa del Sol, do not forget to ask for a new room Premier, is fine and has some interesting extras. A greeting and thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Just back from 2 weeks there at end of September. Overall you get what you pay for. Basic but clean accommodation. Had all we required. Handy for Yumbo but could be a bit noisy early in morning with traffic noise when you were trying to sleep. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Pool and gardens were kept very clean, plenty of sunbeds. During the daytime you never noticed the noise from the nearby street. I would recommend this accomodation to anyone looking for a good budget place to stay. We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Always ask for a room with bedroom facing onto the gardens and pool area as noise from Yumbo may aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Sol P, Director de Recepción at Playa del Sol Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hi Bill! We are happy to come back to spend special days like holidays with us. We are glad that you've been happy. Hope to see you soon. A greeting and thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We decided to go self catering and picked these apartments as they are close to the Yumbo, we had a room on the top floor and it was reasonably clean and comfortable, there were enough dishes, utensils provided for what we needed (usually just to make lunch) The coffee maker was awful so we just used a pan to boil water for coffee, to use the grill/microwave is an experience! we had to stand on a chair and we are reasonably tall.. One tip is to turn the fridge temp up high as it was not the best fridge, also use an old card to keep the power on in the room when your out (I used a store clubcard)
There is no air-con but we did hire a fan, served it's purpose but in the height of summer I think we'd have suffered. There is a large pool and plenty of sunbeds, the pool area is clean and relaxing although I think I only saw 3 parasols there.
Yes there is noise from the Yumbo as it's directly opposite, if you are a light sleeper then this is certainly not the place for you. Hardly saw any staff but those we did were friendly enough.
We probably won't stay there again as even though I knew there was no air-con I thought we'd be ok, it bothered me when trying to sleep and the fan was probably louder than the yumbo centre!
Shower was good but had a tiny head with little spray so was like being hosed by someone. Maid service was 5 days out of our 7, towels are on the thin side but they did the job

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Sol P, Director de Recepción at Playa del Sol Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Hello. Please leave your opinion, as it is important couple us. Sorry to suffer inconveniences during your stay with us. We are improving every day to give a better service to our customers. Concerning the noise, this year there is a room called Premier, with bedroom to pool and break kit apart from television and free gym and some extras. Thanks and regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Very central accommodation, 2 mins to the Yumbo Centre, so for shopping and nightlife, it doesn't get any better. The downside for me was the traffic noise. We had a 2 bedroom apartment, which although on the 4th floor, was at the end of the building with a large and busy roundabout more or less beneath our apartment. Over my 2 week break, my sleep was constantly interuppted, so not as much rest as I had hoped for. Having said that this is not the fault of the apartment block, but you need to be aware. The apartments are very clean and very spacious, maid service every other day. The pool area is great and is also very clean. Plenty of sunbeds and a small bar/snack place for drinks and food served at fairly reasonable prices. Free wi fi in the hotel reception area and restaurant. Very friendly reception and cleaning staff; other than my issue with the noise, no complants at all.

Room Tip: Go for a high floor and a room as far away from the main road as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Sol P, Director de Recepción at Playa del Sol Apartments, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Good morning. We appreciate your feedback and we greatly appreciate the positive. As for noise, this year we have created Premiur room, designed for relaxation and solve any of these problems you name us. Thanks, greetings and hope to see you soon Playa del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa del Sol Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa del Sol Apartments

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 26, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa del Sol Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa del Sol is located en Playa del Inglés, with direct access to the Shopping Center Yumbo.It has 140 apartments, 130 simple rooms and 10 dobble rooms, all of them recently renovated. It has 2 swimming pools (adults-children) with gardens and sun-beds. The rooms have got a combined kitchen-living room,bedroom, complete bathroom and terrace. The kitchen iswell-equipped with a freezer and refrigerator, microwave,coffee maker, cutlery, china and good spaces to work on.Reception is open 24 hours, money exchange, wake-up servicies. Hairdresser, restaurant and disco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Playa del Sol Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Del Sol Apartments Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Playa Del Sol Apartments Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa del Sol Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.