We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sol Barbacan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sol Barbacan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sol Barbacan Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tirajana 27, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 139 hotels in Playa del Ingles
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel was very clean and conveniently located for the Yumbo Centre. The balcony got the sun most of the day and we preferred to sit there so we could easily go back in the room for water and shade. It was definitely worth spending a little more on this hotel, rather than staying in some of the dirt-cheap Playa del Ingles hotels.

The buffet breakfast was really good and varied - lots of different choices even for vegetarians like me. There was lots of fruit, nuts and cereals. No soy milk unfortunately, even though it is widely available to buy in the surrounding shops.

If you like a strawberry daiquiri, try one form the hotel bar - delicious.

Unfortunately when we arrived, our room wasn't ready. We walked into the room and it was the way the previous occupants had left it - NOT a nice first impression! We went back down to the reception where we had to sit and wait for an hour with no apology and the shop was closed for siesta so we couldn't get juice/water. It was not a nice welcome after being up since 4.30am. It would have been nice of the receptionist to at least offer us a glass of water.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs as the motorbikes on the busy road outside can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear thehitgirl,

I would like to thank you for your comments about our hotel, breakfast and specially for recommending us.
I have to apologize because you did not have your room prepared when you arrived. I will personally take care to avoid that it happens again. we hope you visit us soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    164
    103
    30
    5
    4
See reviews for
92
128
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I cannot fault this hotel, we stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment (2 adults + 1 kid) for 11 nights, our apartment was situated on the 3rd floor, all rooms are very spacious and we had a lovely kitchen area and living room and a lovely big balcony with a nice view of the pool which is handy if you have kids, due to the design of the hotel all the apartments over-look the pool area, the hotel is very kid friendly and plenty of things to keep them entertained. They also have a smaller pool and jacuzzi for adults only. The hotel deserves its 4 stars as its kept to a very high standard and very clean, the staff are very friendly & always helpful, our rooms was cleaned daily and towels & bed linen all changed and towels are provided for the pool area. The hotel provides FREE WI-FI which was a pleasant surprise. We also had air-conditioning which made for a great nights sleep. The location of the hotel is ideal as everything is only a short walking distance or you can catch a taxi outside very easily (taxis are very cheap), Maspalomas is also a lovely 30 minute walk away or a quick taxi journey and worth a visit. There are plenty of shops and bars and restaurants near the hotel, I would advise people to walk around the hotel area (back and sides) as you can miss a lot of the different shops and bars located nearby . I would highly recommend the hotels own restaurant, we didn't go half board or all inclusive but we did have breakfast, lunch & dinner in the hotel most days and the food was of a very high standard, you can order from the al-la carte menu or they have an all you can eat buffet and pricing is very reasonable, we tried both and the food was really good, a fellow guest told us about the Chateaubriand which they serve for 2 people and a must for any steak lovers. I would ask the hotel on any meal offers as we got a pay for 3 get 4 deal for the buffet dinner which worked out cheaper than eating out. A great stay and plenty of things to do & see and the perfect place to stay, I would highly recommend for couples or family's. Well done Hotel Barba-Can

Room Tip: Ideally the 3rd,4th or 5th floors but I wouldn't be disappointed with any rooms as the setup of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear fox123abc,

Thank you very much for your comments, specially for recommending our restaurant. We work everyday to provide our guests of quality services to get that their stay is so good as they expect. We would be very glad if you visit us soon again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just enjoyed a 10 day family vacation here. Hotel is nice, situated on the edge of Playa Del Ingles, bordering Maspalomas. The area is quiet and there is a taxi rank outside, fares are cheap. Our 1 Bed Apartment was spacious, with a balcony, and beds were fairly comfortable.

The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, kids club was great and the staff there excellent. The kids club ran twice a day for young kids and twice a day for teenagers. Food was good, but half board here applies to breakfast and dinner only, should you wish to have lunch they will not accept same instead of dinner. Any hotel I have used before for half board would allow breakfast and either lunch or dinner.

We did not use sunbeds, but I did notice that there seemed to be some control in this area by the hotel in an attempt to combat sunbed mafias.

Negative!! The wifi here is a disaster, if you need it for work (like I did), or for your kids devices, go elsewhere. Multiple excuses by the hotel are offered, but they seem very unprepared to solve a very simple IT issue.

Room Tip: 5th floor will attract less noise from people walking about on hard floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Pat M,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a remark about your stay in Barbacan. Also, thank you very much for your comment about the staff, they work a lot for the satisfaction of our clients.
Regarding to wifi, unfortunately is a common problem of the hotels of the area, however, we are working to solve it.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We are just back from 2 weeks in the Sol Barbacan. What can i say the place is great especially if you have kids. The kids club and team are fantastic my son is 8 and he loved it. The staff and cleaners are very friendly and the maid cleans the rooms etc every day. The only downfall of this hotel in the SUNBEDS!!!! The hotel seems to cater more for Dutch which can be very intimidating they are waiting from 8.30 to get their beds and once the Security Guard gives the nod they are like ants!!!! Didn't come away on holidays to set our alarm clock to get sunbeds it was dreadful. The staff at the hotel didn't seem to do anything about this which is sad really.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear Debbie F,

your comments will help us to improve, thank you very much. Regarding to sunbeds, we will make new procedures to avoid that it happen again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A lovely hotel, appartments, bungalows are fantastic, very spacious and offer a lot of privacy. The staff great and everything is cleaned, fresh towels etcc on a daily basis. They also provide towels for the sunbed area. This place is gretat for kids, very safe and they can roam freely, the animation team are superb and really make a huge effort for the kids. Food, buffetIis good with themed nights. The bar is a bit pricey, but does have a nice relaxed ambience.

The beach is 3 euros in a taxi and is great, 4 to 8 ft waves great fun and only 7.50 for two beds and a parasol, beware of the touts trying to con you with scratch cards and prizes, they just want you to go to a timeshare pitch, just walk away!

Maspalomas is nice but quite dear to eat and not all that special. The yumbo is close but has quite a large gay presence which might not be everyones cup of tea. I would recomend kims place and broodje amsterdam which offers good food.

On the down side, you have to be poolside at 8.15 or you wont get any beds, the most annoying thing is the way certain people, mainly dutch all work as a large group to ensure that they get as many beds as possible working in teams. When I was there this irritating little man with blond hair (bald on top), was directing people as to where they could lie. This hotel has a hard core clientele which vists year, after year and believe that they have a divine right to own the sunbeds. When one godfather figure leaves is he replaced by a new version who then takes over the sunbed allocation duties, the management of the hotel ignore this, hence my reference to the mafia. This group of guests are almost cult like, a bit scary.

On the whole a nice place, the internet-wifi is dreadful and they should not really charge for this as it so poor. This place is very dutch, and they tend to dominate everything.

The waiters all speak dutch which sounds very weird as they are all spanish,

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear luke7duke,

Thank you for your remarks about our restaurant and also about the activities for children.
Regarding to sunbeds, we have implemented new procedures to avoid the problem you had, and also, about wifi, unfortunately it is a problem of most of hotels in the area, but we are working to solve it.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed here with a friend and we really enjoyed our stay, but I would recommend this hotel mainly for families. There are lots of activities organised throughout the day for kids and adults, and evening entertainment seems to be aimed at kids (cabaret, magic shows, etc), although there is live music in the outdoor bar too. You need to be up really really early to get a sunbed; on our last day we had a midday flight so were up early and there were at least 30 people with armfulls of towels at the pool waiting for the staff to lay out the sunbeds at 8.15am! As we were never up that early, most days it was about 4pm before we got a sunbed. But the (huge) balconies have sunbeds too. Apartments are lovely, fairly modern and spotlessly clean with comfy beds and great air con and shower. Cleaners come every day; we actually had an awkward experience with a cleaner forcing her way into the apartment despite us protesting that we didn't want the apartment cleaned that day! Apart from that my only complaint would be that on check in we were offered zero information about anything, not directions to our room, info about the resort, facilities, the area, a map, nothing! We only ate in the hotel once, for lunch, and it was very average, my tomato soup was definitely from a packet! But it was cheap so was fine. However, the a la carte dinner menu is far more expensive than any other restaurant we saw in Playa Del Ingles so we didn't bother trying it. There is a supermarket on site but it closes from 1-3pm and at 7pm, but there is another supermarket right across the road which opens all day until 9pm. If you come out of the hotel and turn right and go through the roundabout, continuing down Avenida Tirajana, there are several lovely restaurants within 5-10 mins walk of the hotel, I would recommend in particular Barbados, Mundo and Asia Palace. The Jumbo Centre is a 2 min walk from the hotel which also has lovely restaurants (try Gio Bar) and better shopping than Kasbah which is about a 15 min walk or less than €3 in a taxi. Overall we had a great holiday and I think it was great value for money, possibly dearer than a lot of hotels but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room on the top (5th) floor as it is the quietest floor (see other reviews about...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Dear giggle24,

Thank you for your comments and the value you have given us.
Regarding to the lack of information you received in the check in, I have to apologize for it, I will find personally out what could happen.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarsbergen, The Netherlands
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

The Sol Barbacan hotel is situated in the centre of Playa del Ingles next to a busy road. To the beach its a 15 minutes walk (approx 1.4km). Inside the hotel/apart. complex you do not notice the crowding of the outside. We stayed in one of the bungalows. Everything in the bungalow was perfect, the kitchen is very compleet, bedroom and beds are good, everything is clean. All the bungalows have a terras, upstairs and downstairs, airco in the bedroom. You have a lot of privacy.
The staff is friendly, the food is very good. For diner you can have a la carte (recommended) or buffet. As a guest of Barbacan you will get a discount of 20% on the a la carte menu in the restaurant.
The hotel has a free car parking.
On the complex there is WiFi you have to pay for, eur 6,- for 1 day. No free Wifi, not even in the lobby of the hotel. When you take Wifi for 9 days you will get 4 days exta, total price Eur 26,--. But for that price......do not expect a fine working Internet. You will often lose your Wifi connection and some times it takes a rather long time to reconnect.
Barbacan hotel is a place for sun lovers. You see a lot of families with children hanging around the pool whole day. The staff is friendly for children. The hotel has also a mini club and an animation team.
We can recommend the apart hotel Sol Barbacan.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbacan_direccion, Director General at Sol Barbacan Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Dear ydoorn, thank you very much for your comment. As much the staff as me are very glad to know that you had a satisfactory stay in our bungalows, and you enjoyed A la Carte restaurant. I would like to inform you that from August wifi is free of charge and we are working to improve it. We hope you visit us soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sol Barbacan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Barbacan Hotel

Address: Avenida Tirajana 27, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Barbacan Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sol Barbacán aparthotel is located in the tourism resort of Playa del Inglés. 500 m distance from the city center, 2 km from Playa del Inglés beach and golf courses, 6,5 km from Playa de Maspalomas beach, 15 km from the airport, 29 km from Puerto de Mogán, 30 km from Las Palmas, 77 km de Teror and 89 km from the Valle de Agaete valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Melia, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sol Barbacan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sol Barbacan
Sol Melia Playa Del Ingles
Sol Barbacan Hotel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sol Barbacan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.