We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel but lacks some modern day amenities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Chippenham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very good hotel but lacks some modern day amenities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was a return visit to the hotel after 5 years and very little (if anything!) has changed.

Good points - spotlessly clean everywhere, excellent food (all buffet and a very small a la carte restaurant), very comfortably and cosy rooms, everything well serviced (a broken bath plug chain was mended the next day without us reporting it!), super location on the dunes, super friendly (and gay friendly) and very hard working/helpful staff, small minibar fridge in room that you could use for your own drinks, small supermarket next to hotel that sold foreign newspapers and everything you need for a picnic. Some good evening entertainment but for the older generation

What was not so good - no tea/coffee making facilities in room (take your own kettle with adapter), 85% of guests are Germans (most 60 plus) most of whom live up to stereotypes (e.g. despite a hotel policy of no reserving sun beds, by 8.30am most sun beds (in the good spots) had been bagged, very few facilities for children (this is really an adults only hotel), meals have to be taken at 6.00 or 8.00 (sittings) - generally over in about an hour, restaurant very well appointed but a bit Butlins-ish, no wifi in rooms and very limited service in reception area, only one pool towel provided per day (unless you bribe the staff) and only available from 8.30 to 11.00. Nearly always full booked and therefore busy.

Room Tip: Book a seaview room and ask to be on the 4th floor. These rooms have open to the sky balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    196
    66
    12
    7
See reviews for
97
561
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife & Iast stayed here in 2010 and returned hoping that this visit would be just as good. Sadly, it fell short of the mark. It is a very good hotel, but I would dispute use of the term "palace" to describe it.

ROOMS
We booked a standard room (as we did last time) and at first was offered a choice of two rooms with dire views, before eventually being offered a choice of a third room which was better. The rooms were as I remembered them, perhaps a little less fresh. Bathroom was OK, however it was basic and certainly no better than a non- "palace" hotel. TV had a few English speaking channels, most channels were Spanish and German. Use of safe costs extra, should really be included!

DIINING EXPERIENCE
Food was good, well presented and tasty! Main courses and options for starters were good, however sad to see the a la carte option has gone. We dined in Krstal restaurant one evening, both of us thought the food was better in the regular buffet restaurant!

GROUNDS
Hotel grounds are stunning as are the views over the sand dunes. This is what you pay for. The smaller pool area is the better of the two areas, more greenery and less busy. Pools are a bit nippy at first, but you get used to them eventually.

OVERALL
Not as good as our first visit but still a very good hotel. However I think that they are charging too much for the level if service offered and on that basis I would probably not return. If they refreshed the rooms to a higher standard, then I would return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas must be the best hotel in Maspalomas we stayed for 7 days in October 2013 Excellent .
Beautiful clean rooms excellent food, 2 swimming pools, lots of sun beds, Friendly staff
a lovely holiday that I would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: book a upgrade to a sea view room its well worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

What a great hotel, staff excellent, room cleaned thoroughly every morning, choices for breakfast and evening meals were excellent, drinks/ great measures Facilities first class, plenty of beds and parasols, fresh towels every day in room and at pool. They went out of their way to help us celebrate our anniversary/birthday, iced bucket with cava and flowers in room, petals and candle on our dinner table etc Only negative I can think of is that the evening entertainment could have been better. However, everything else was so good that we will certainly return.

Room Tip: all rooms looked excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grunstadt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I and my husband have stayed at this hotel approx ten times over the past nine years, and We just love being there. The service is excellent from the moment you enter the hotel. You are made to feel valued and treated as an individual. The glass of cava is always a nice gesture on entering the hotel and start your holiday. Breakfast starts at 8am, and seating is indoors and outside. The food is wonderful , with cava on tap and on ice. Hot fresh, food combining continental, and traditional. To sit out side in the morning on such a beautiful terrace for breakfast , starting the day with a chilled glass of cava is wonderful. Dinner is served at two seatings. Winter time at 18:00 and 20:00 and Summer time at 18:30 and 20:30. Reception will adjust according to suit but you will keep the same setting and table for your stay. The food once again is excellent , with a variety to suit everyone. This hotel is immaculate with a classic theme. Is there anything I think needs to be improved , yes , the evening entertainment is not good. The house band the Silvers need replacing , and the rest of the evening entertainment is either non existent or for a kindergarten. The guests are mainly German, with a percentage of Belguim, Holland,and UK. I have to comment that there is very little for families and children at this hotel. It trends towards couples aged 50 plus. To conclude attentive ,friendly staff. Excellent food, and just Simply the Best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisburn
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for a two week period in September and found the hotel to be first class. Food excellent with a great variety. Our room was made up first thing every morning and thoroughly cleaned. One draw back was the walk to the beach which was very taxing however we got a taxi at the door of the hotel for 5 euros which was well worth it. The only other problem we had was with our waiter who for some reason took an instant dislike to my husband and constantly spilled wine or soup at my husbands side of the table. Avoid table 47 and Jacobo. This was the only member of staff who let the hotel down.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor with a sea view and great balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scunthorpe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

a last minute booking with thompsons and was extremely pleased with the quality of the hotel.
arrived 9pm and was taken straight to the dining room for evening meal. the resturaunt choice self service buffett) and quality was some of the best we have ever had (we have been on a dozen cruises too) the service throughout the hotel including cleaners seemed first class.
the location on the sand dunes was unique but a hard slog if you want to walk to the sea, which must be done if your fit enough. 2 nice swimming pools. only a short walk to centre of playa des ingles but that could be any of the spannish costas. overall top hotel, friendly staff and good value for money

Room Tip: if you REALLY want a room with a good view pay the extra, we were lucky and had one without the upgr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas

Address: Avenida Tirajana s/n | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#7 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas 4*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. Next to the Maspalomas sand dunes. 4-Storey building. Colonial-style architecture. 28,000 M2 of subtropical gardens. 800 M from the beach. 2 Km from the city centre. 500 M from various shops. 30 Km from the airport. 50 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Palace Maspalomas Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Palace Maspalomas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.