We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Great Service, Very Relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Sandy Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Sandy Beach to your Saves list
Seaside Sandy Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Menceyes s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helensburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Great Service, Very Relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We have just returned from a great holiday at the Sandy Beach Hotel. My wife and I were greeted at reception and were treated very well with a glass of champagne each. Check in was very quick and our bags were taken to our room a few minutes later. We arrived at the hotel at 2300 but were given a light snack of cheese dried ham and fruit /yogurt in our room. We were in the ground floor and had a garden view. Our room was actually under the swimming pool but was cool and we had no real complaints as you could hear a pin drop it was that quite at night. The rooms were cleaned daily but we have mixed feelings on the depth and quality of the cleaning. We did notice debris lying in the corridor for about three days including a cigarette end. The other floors were immaculate, so maybe we had a lazy cleaner on our floor. All the cleaners and staff are very friendly in the Hotel and special mention should be made to Nereida in the pool bar, Viera in the main bar and Emilio in the outside bar. All were very good and very approachable. The meals were very good and you even get Champagne for breakfast but not Dom Perignon!!!!. Only joking. The only improvement would be to get a rotary toaster for the hotel as the ones they have are small pair holding 8 bits of toast. The pool area is great and there are no problems getting a bed up to midday. The ppol men will supply you with clean towels and mattresses upon request. There is a deposit for the towels but is refunded on a token basis. The only other charge is for the safe at 28 euros for two weeks. Some people still insisted to queue for beds at 0845 when the pool opened!!! We could not understand why? The entertainment was good with a resident band playing each night until the scheduled entertainment at 2200. This went on till 2300. We had acrobats / Magicians and singers come in along with dancers. The Il Trio opera singers were excellent. The hotel is a 5 min stroll from the back door of the hotel which requires your door access card to operate the lift and to get back in by electronic sliding glass doors. You can haggle for trips at the roundabout on the beach. We managed 70 euros for two on the Sagitarius Star boat which was All inclusive for botth of us with free snorkels and free banana boat ride. Jet ski was extra. We also went on the Bahia Cat which was not as good as you could not lay down to sunbath. We also did the island tour all day including lunch for 58 euros which was very good value as it includes a visit to the Rum Distillery at Aracus. One last thing to note is that be wary of the timeshare sellers at the roundabout by the beach even when they tell you it is not. DO NOT FOLLOW THEM. Also if you are easily shocked be wary if you walk on the beach towards the sandunes as there is a nudist beach which people do mingle with as they walk down to the beach. We did wonder why the beach was busy with walkers!!! Anyway this was a great holiday with good memories and new friends made. Well done to all the staff at the Seaside Sandy Beach.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but if you want a sea view you need a high room. Good WIFI in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for having chosen Seaside Sandy Beach **** and for sharing your impressions with the traveller community.

How lovely to hear that you spent a great holiday and keep good memories of your stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed our pool area as well as the entertainment with our trio whose voices truly are exceptional.

Above all, we appreciate your praise of our personnel, especially Nereida, Viera and Emilio, who we are proud were able to render a great service through their friendly and attentive attitude. We will certainly share your kind words which are very rewarding and encouraging for the entire team, thank you!

Please rest assured that we will follow up on your remarks with our team members as we strive to ensure that our high standards of cleanliness are consistently met and maintained.

Again, thank you for this lovely review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    197
    46
    9
    9
See reviews for
196
357
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This was our 3rd visit here ,and it still is one of the best hotels we have stayed at and,It was so lovely to see that the majority of staff are still there which says a lot as some of them have been there many years, Ursula does a grand job in the restaurant, The food is exceptional,and so clean everywhere ,We will be back !

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Paula,

Thank you very much for having returned to our Seaside Sandy Beach **** and for sharing your feedback with the traveller community.

We are happy to learn that you consider our hotel to be “one of the best” and that you appreciated our gastronomy, cleanliness and the friendly service by our team.

It makes us very proud that most of our personnel has been loyal to us for many years and truly enjoys pampering our guests.

We thank you again for this lovely comment and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

With our best wishes,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We just returned from this Seaside Sandy Beach Hotel today from a seven night stay. All the staff were very friendly and ready to help with a smile. We were received by name on arrival and given a room on the 6th floor. The view from our balcony was a palm tree, We asked for a higher floor the next morning and Santiago at reception moved us to the 9th floor, we loved the room and the beautiful view.

Food was fresh and delicious. Not much variety for vegetarians but the restaurant staff were willing to make special suitable dishes. I would especially like to mention Eva who looked after my dietary needs very well. (I am a lacto-vegetarian).

Entertainment was very good with different shows every night and live singers who were excellent.

On the last day we were supposed to vacate the room at 12 midday. We asked for an extension until 5 pm, the Manager let us keep the room until 8 pm.

We really enjoyed our stay, thank you to all staff.

Room Tip: Higher floors - 7th and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Aruna,

Thank you for having chosen Seaside Sandy Beach **** and for sharing your experience with the traveller community.

We are pleased to hear that you felt well looked after by our team and appreciated their friendly and efficient service attitude. Rest assured that we will proudly share your special mentions with Eva and Santiago whom we are proud to have in our team!

It is lovely to hear that you also enjoyed the evening shows and music by our live singers who aim to enchant our guests with their diverse programme and extraordinary voice.

Once again, thank you for this wonderful comment and we hope to be able to welcome you back for another renewing stay in the near future.

With our best regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have recently returned from a 10 night stay at the Seaside Sandy Beach, and have to again commend the hotel and the staff on another great stay. Following our last visit we wanted to stay in a room with a better view, so we emailed the hotel a few weeks before our stay to request a room on the 6th floor or above which was sorted no problem and we were allocated room 603.

When we arrived we were greeted at reception by name and offered a glass of champagne each. Check in was efficient and we sorted wifi and room safe and were told we did not have to pay for the safe until we checked out. As dinner service ends at 9.45pm we had missed dinner but a plate of cold meats, cheeses, fruit and yoghurt was provided in our room but we elected to eat out.

During the first part of our stay the hotel was relatively quiet, but got busier later in our stay. Food is exceptional. I have seen previous reviews stating that food can be a bit similar from night to night. Whilst there is some element of truth to this the vast array of choice meant I had different food each lunchtime and dinner.

Our room had been refurbished and believe that the hotel is currently upgrading the rooms, our room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and the air con was effective. We will be going back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

It is great to learn that you were pleased with the comfort and location of your room as well as with the overall cleanliness. Our housekeeping team will certainly appreciate your kind words of encouragement!

Furthermore please rest assured that we will share your praising words about the nice welcome and the good food with our Reception and our kitchen staff.

Thank you so much for your kind review on Tripadvisor!

It would be a pleasure for us to be your host again and we wish to extend our best wishes to you.

With kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Currently staying here and it's amazing!! Excellent facilities, excellent food and the staff are in a league of their own!! I've read reviews about the staff favouring German guests and this is NOT true, the staff are very engaging towards ALL guests and I cannot wait to return here again. I've stayed in a lot of places in Gran Canaria and this hotel is the best by a mile. I cannot wait to rebook and I cannot thank the team enough for making this stay the most enjoyable yet.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We truly enjoyed reading your lovely comment and special mention of our staff.

Thank you so much for these praising and encouraging words, it is the best reward for our team to know that we could contribute to making your stay “the most enjoyable” so far!

We highly appreciate your wonderful feedback and wish you an excellent stay at our hotel. Please do not hesitate to directly reach out to us should you have any further questions or wishes.

Sincerely,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

My husband, I & a friend stayed at The Seaside Sandy Beach Resort for 10 nights all inclusive & we loved every minute of it. We were very warmly welcomed by Snr Paco, who arranged an upgrade on our room which was a very nice. The room was ample size for us all & although we didn't have a pool view it meant it was nice & quite when we sat on our balcony. All the reception staff were very helpful whenever we bothered them with anything.
The food selection was plentiful, the fish & meat selection were fabulous...there is so much to choose from you can't go wrong here....and very nice pack lunches are also available if you are out for the day on trips, just give the reception a days notice.
There is the rule of not putting towels on sun-beds until 8.45, 9am which actually works & gives everyone a chance to get the places they want.
The spa is worth a visit, we all had a holiday pamper massage that I personally loved. We also treated ourselves to booking a private jacuzzi, this is on either the 10th or 11th floors....as it's private area for you for the whole day there is no chance of being disturbed....sparkling wine & fruit is also provided, nice touch...we were informed the hotel were happy for us to take drinks up to the jacuzzi area as they do charge for a waiter service.
There is free wifi throughout the hotel & no extra charges if streaming or downloading.
There is a charge for having your minibar filled, however taking drinks back to your room & using the fridge was not a problem.
Overall this hotel is highly recommendable
Just a quick side note.....we took a tour of some the island & camel ride with a company called Zig Zag Tours through a website called Isango.com...worth a look, lots of fun!!

Room Tip: Recommend asking for a room anything over the 3rd or 4th floor for nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you for staying at Seaside Sandy Beach **** and for sharing this lovely feedback with the traveller community.

We are thrilled to learn that you loved every minute of your stay and that the efficient service rendered by Paco and our reception staff could contribute to a carefree holiday. It is a pleasure to hear that you took the chance to unwind at our SPA and let our therapists pamper you.

Furthermore we are glad to hear that you fully enjoyed the luxury of having your own Jacuzzi and private sun terrace for a day.

We wish to thank you for your recommendation of our hotel and hope to welcome you back soon for another relaxing break.

With our best regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Excellent food. Very good entertainment. Generously proportioned rooms. There were also some nice additional touches, such as a plate of food waiting for us when we arrived at about 11pm on the first night.

The clientele in the hotel were a mix of nationalities, mainly British and German, but also some French, Swedes, and Dutch. I travelled there with my (same sex) partner. Whilst we were there it was gay-pride week in Gran Canaria, so there were quite a few other LBGT guests, but even during this week we were outnumbered by heterosexual guests. I think you would be unlikely to ever find yourself the only gay person staying in this hotel, but it is definitely not specifically geared up for the LBGT market (which suited us fine!). There were only a few younger children in the hotel during our visit, and generally it seemed to be couples, small groups of friends and solo travellers.

The resort itself is very established, and has lots of facilities. The hotel was in a quiet area, but only a short walk away from the main action. It's not necessarily the most attractive resort, but it's very safe and there is plenty to do (I went mountain biking, as there is a mountain bike shop beneath the hotel).

I would definitely recommend this hotel. The standards were exceptional and manageress was very dedicated to ensuring guests had an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Edward,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful review of your recent stay at Seaside Sandy Beach ****.

The fact that our team was able to contribute to a “faultless” stay through their attention to detail and passion for guest satisfaction is very rewarding for us. Rest assured that we will share your very encouraging words with the entire team.

We consider safety a requirement for providing a comfortable stay to our guests and we are glad that you had this feeling throughout your stay with us.

It is a pleasure to hear that our high standards were able to exceed your expectations and we hope to be able to renew this experience on the occasion of a future visit to Gran Canaria.

With sunny regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Sandy Beach

Address: Avenida Menceyes s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Sandy Beach is situated in the centre of Playa del Inglés at just 200 metres from the beach. In the surrounding area there are numerous commercial centres for shopping, entertainment and to enjoy the lively night-life. The hotel offers a choice of sunbathing terraces, set around the large heated fresh-water pool, which is equipped with seats and beds with massage jets and a waterfall, in which to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Seaside Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Sandy Beach Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Sandy Beach Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Sandy Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.