We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Sandy Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Sandy Beach to your Saves list
Seaside Sandy Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Menceyes s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
DERBY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

just to confirm this hotel is is the equal of any 5*+ in gran canaria,our entire stay was brilliant, my thanks to all the staff,every aspect of our holiday was just great,we shall return,get a room on level 3-11 if you can.

Room Tip: above level 5 are best for views,if you dont want bright sunlight 3-5 are shaded by palm trees,
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you for your comment published on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Seaside Sandy Beach **** and very proud that you found our service to be brilliant.

As we strive to provide perfect holidays for our guests it is good to hear when our efforts are appreciated. Please be assured that we will pass your kind words on to our team.

It was a pleasure having you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    176
    45
    9
    9
See reviews for
178
321
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a week all inclusive in this hotel. We wanted a relaxing break after Christmas and did not want the hassle of having to go out looking for restaurtants every night so opted for all inclusive here because the previous reviews were generally great.

As we had not paid the higher category room rate we were allocated a room on the 2nd floor which is actually on the same floor as the pool and the restaurant. We thought that as the photos showed that some of the higher category rooms facing the pool had obstructed views because of the plants and trees we would check out the standard street facing room first and upgrade if we felt this was necessary. The room, 237, was in a convenient location and overlooked the garden and street so we had a mix of birdsong and vehicle noise - neither caused any problem. The room was very spacious and had a kitchenette with a kettle and a fridge so you could keep your own things cool. You could get tea, coffee etc from reception by completing an order form but we had bought coffee and milk before seeing this.

the room was well clened every day and towels replaced and extra toiletries could be requested if you run out so no need to bring shower gel or shampoo though your own conditioner may be worth taking. there is a safe to be hired at just 2 euros per day and this was cheap and secure so you can be confident your money and documents are secure.

You got sun here in the afternoon but as the balcony is concrete rather than glass you do not get full sun for bathing so I would not recommend these if you prefer sunbathing on your balcony. However this did not bother us as we were happy to sunbathe by the pool or on the sun terrace. I found I never had any problem finding a sunbed and I never reserved a place early in the morning.

The pool bar was great for getting drinks whilst you sunbathe and there were also cakes and freshly made waffles from about 3.30 to 5.00 each afternoon if you are peckish

I can only repeat the opinions of other guests that the food at this hotel is wonderful for an all inclusive set up. There is at least one chef every evening cooking fish, steaks etc to order as well as always 4 choices of meat freshly carved such as duck, beef, pork etc. There are salads, vegs,potato selections and rice and pasta dishes as well as a different themed selection most nights such as Chinese, Mexican or Canarian.

each morning the selection is extensive and the bacon is fab and the chef will cook fried eggs or omelettes at your request. there is also always a selection of fresh fruits and cheeses available. And a bonus, should you choose, is the Cava available at breakfast.

We never had to wait long for a table and the system of selecting your own table seems to work well. If the place settings are not already in place, for example if the table has just been vacated, the staff are quick to attend and dress your table and take your drinks order. All staff are wonderfully friendly and make an effort to give a smile and a "bon appetit" to all guests.

I did feel that the management attitude ensured that the hotel was run like a family business with ALL staff being efficient, smiley, helpful, chatty and working together to ensure guests have the best ever holiday

We really had a great time and hope to return in the autumn and may even bring our daughter and her partner to enjoy the hotel and Gran Canaria

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you so much for this detailed comment on Tripadvisor.

It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your holidays to the fullest and appreciated the quality and variety of our food.

Thank you also for mentioning the good work of our team. Since it is our goal to provide unforgettable holidays, we were delighted to read your kind words.

We would love to welcome you again in our resort and wish you all the best for the future.

Kind regards

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My best friend and i came to this hotel to celebrate her 50th birthday which was on the 5th Jan. When we checked in there was a problem with our booking (they had her down as a man who had the same surname and came from a different area). The hotel receptionist was very apologetic and upgraded us to a pool view on the 5th floor. When we spoke to our hotel rep he checked everything was okay and told us the mistake was made by the tour operator in England. All of the staff at this hotel were very friendly and polite and helpful and work very hard. It was very clean and had a variety of different hot and cold foods to suit different nationalities.There is a smoking and no smoking area on the the terrace at meal times you can sit inside if you prefer where there is no smoking which is what we did. Good hotel will go back.

Room Tip: 5th floor was sun trap.We could here noise from dining area early breakfast and bar noise until 1.00...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and are happy that you spent some nice holidays here in our hotel.

Thank you for mentioning the good work of our staff - please rest assured that we passed your kind words on to our team.

Once again we wish to thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination and are looking forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards from the sunny island,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perthshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a week at the Sandy Beach and this hotel is amazing. Arrived at 1am to food and drinks in our large family room, very spacious and clean. There was a fridge, microwave and safe in room all free of charge. Food in restaurant is the best all inclusive we have had on holiday you will never tire of it. Large selection every meal time. You get pool towels provided every day and the pool attendant was very friendly and helpful. Both swimming pools are heated, and very comfortable to swim in. The staff are very friendly always chatting to the kids and made us feel very welcome. The locations perfect 5 minute walk to beach and Yumbo centre. You will not be disappointed by this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you for your comment published on Tripadvisor.

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to meet your expectations.

Furthermore we wish to thank you for your kind words regarding the food in our restaurant. It is the main goal of our head chef and his team to spoil our guests with a variety of national and international dishes in order to make sure that our guests always find something to delight their taste buds.

Wishing you all the best and hope to see you soon again.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot in London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My wife and I spent 2 weeks at Sandy Bay Hotel over Xmas and New Year -- first problem arose over our first room number 428 -- it smelled of seriously blocked drains -- team of cleaners arrived and sprayed all over shower and bathroom area providing temporary nauseating perfumed odour.
I am a medically qualified doctor with Public Health experience and identified the origin of the smell in a blocked drain in the shower -- the smell was overpowering and awful almost hinting of raw sewage.Any way a charming Con man in reception promised us a superior room on the eighth floor with pool view in two days at no extra cost !! what we got was a standard small room on the seventh floor with a close-up view of the crown of a Palm tree.My wife was fed up to the teeth of packing and unpacking and additionally feeling physically and mentally distraught -- she persuaded me to accept the room and concentrate in getting on with it..
Our first impression of the open air dining room was confusing --- normally you are met by a waiter and allocated a table -- here you self-select and try to dodge the smoking areas -- there was no smoking discipline and it was difficult to find and area free of tobacco smoke and odour
On one occasion there was a dreadful scene when a German couple refused to extinguish there ciggys in a non-smoking area.We had interesting food and drink on the 2 Gala nights and the management did us proud at Xmas and New Year. Food and wines on the whole were very good -- they did include a decent Rioja in the All-inclusive deal -- "Arin"
My first swim on Boxing Day was bracing -- the water was freezing -- this put me off for several days but to be honest when I swum after a week water was fine. There was the usual scrum at 9.40 AM for best poolside loungers -- but there was loads of room on the raised sun terrace above the pool.
The hotel itself was surrounded by iniformly ugly Apartment blocks
Highlighyof our stay was day long trip round the island iin convoy of six seven seater Mercedes people carriers -- scenery was wonderful and very scary driving over the central range -- min-grand canyon was awesome
I wouid say a better area to visit would be Maspalomas viz -- as opposed to Playa del Ingles
Puerto Rico I would also recommend
Our trip was organised by Thomson who seemed to charge us substantially more than the brochure price -- conveniently there was no brochure on hand at the time of our booking
Travel Agent said brochure price was only a "guide" and the pricing system was "fluid"
This was disappointing since we have been loyal customers for nearly twenty years

I will try to download some photos showing our room obstructed by tall palm tree on the right and some views from the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your taking your time to valuate our hotel on Tripadvisor.
It is nice to read that you enjoyed the culinary performance of our kitchen team and appreciated our wine selection.

We are very sorry to learn that your holidays here on Gran Canaria did not meet your expectations.

If our guests should not be entirely satisfied or something in the rooms needs to be fixed we always try to find a perfect solution. Due to the maintenance issue mentioned we offered you a room on a higher floor. We wish to inform you that the room allocation is always based on availability and especially when our hotel is fully booked we have less free rooms to choose from. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused by this change of room.

It is understandable that non smokers do not wish to be seated next to smokers, this is why we offer our guests a huge non-smoking area not only on the terrace but also within the interior restaurant. We regret that you did not inform our staff immediately, because we would have been more than happy to organize a suitable table in the non-smoking area for you.

Once again we would like to thank you for your comments, since they enable us to identify any weak spots and improve our services every day.

We would be very happy if you would give us a second chance and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back on Gran Canaria.

With kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Just got back from spending Christmas 2012 at Seaside Sandy Beach. The Hotel was spotlessly clean. Our Room was spacious and very clean. Beds comfortable. Shower room with basin, large shower and toilet was very good size and very clean. It had a large mirror, hairdryer, magnifier mirror, shower gels, nail files, flanel, we regularly had clean towels. There was a daily cleaning service, the maids were very friendly. We had a small walk-in wardrobe room with safe (you have to pay for use of safe). Room had large TV, fridge, kettle, cups and glasses. Complimentary water, toiletries (apart from those in the bathroom) were left in room. We arrived very late in the evening so food was left in our room (plently of fruit, bread, cheese, hams). The balcony was a good size with table and two chairs. The hotel facilities are superb. The hotel is in easy walking distance of the beach, bars and restaurants. There is a large supermarket almost across the road from the basement exit of the hotel. You can get all you need at the supermarket including english newspapers. Below the hotel at the basement exit is a bicycle hire facility. Taxis are available near the beach only couple minutes walk. The pool area at the hotel is fabulous. You cannot place towels on sunbeds before 08:30, which is just as well. You will have to go and queue in the morning to put your towel on ta sunbed otherwise you may not easily get a sunbed especially if you are a late riser! You have to pay about €20 to obtain two tokens for pool towels of which the reception gives you a receipt which you must keep to get your €20 back at the end of your stay. The hotel is German run and most of the guests are Germans. There were some English, French, Italian and Finish guests, but most are German. Most staff speak english. The restaurant we used at all times was outside on the Terrace covered by Canopies. It is a very very pleasant eating space. The food was always buffet (except Christmas day in the evening). If you can't find something you like to eat here then there is something wrong with you!!!! I found the food fabulous. We had ALL INCLUSIVE deal so it was heaven. I have never seen so much variety of food for Breakfast, lunch and dinner. Sometimes at lunch it was very busy and it was difficult to order our drinks, and on a few occasions I had to go and find someone to order our drinks. The all inclusive deal for drinks was from 11am to 11pm and we did encounter 2 evenings where we ordered drinks at around 22:30 and the waiter forgot us so by the time we got hold of him to order again it was passed 11pm and we had to pay for or drinks. My friend got very irritated by this and to add insult to injury on one evening my friend was on her own and was ignored by the waiters... then when she gave her order to the waiter, he did not bring it so it was after 11pm when she eventually got her drinks and had to pay for them. Ordering drinks was the only real problem. The Pool bar and pool area was fabulous. The bar staff at the Pool were very good. The Sun-Bed attendant was also very good at his job - very friendly. At 3pm they served Waffles and cakes at the pool bar - we could not resist them - they were to die for. As far as I could see all the rooms at the hotel face the pool. I do believe that if you upgrade you get placed on a higher floor. You can ask reception for Robes during your stay. In the evening there was regular entertainment. Though theh Karioke was not something I like to listen to. We saw an ABBA act which were very good. For a change we went to some of the bars on the beach which was nice to meet other people. We did not have much need to go to reception but when we did we found the staff helpful. I would go back but maybe half-board as I found it nice to get out in the evenings. The reasons I would go back are the cleaniness, the spacious well equiped rooms, the food and the pool area. We did not visit the Spa, Gym or roof terraces so cannot comment on them.

Room Tip: As far as I am aware all rooms face the pool - I dont think there are any seaview and I think the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your detailed comment on Tripadvisor, which surely is a great help not only for us but also for other travellers looking for the perfect holiday destination.

We are so glad that you spent a nice holiday with us and would like to thank you for mentioning the good work of our staff and the quality of our food. Since it is our aim to spoil our guests we are happy, when our efforts are appreciated.

We would like to apologize for the incident at the bar and regret that you have not informed us immediately, because we would have liked to ensure a prompt service and to cancel the bill.

It was a pleasure having you as our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

With sunny greetings,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Seaside Sandy Beach over Xmas the food and staff are both excellent.

We did had an issue with the first room we were allocated on the third floor there was something not right with the plumbing and the room smelt. We spoke to the management and they immediately sent people down to fix the problem, the maintenance guy went straight to the waste pipe for the shower. We were promised that we would be moved to another room in a day or so, the next day I was in the bathroom and saw water coming up into the shower tray from the waste pipe, I now understood why the maintenance guy went straight for that area, and presumably the waste water coming back into the shower tray was other people dirty water, not good, it must be a known issue with the hotel. We were moved to another room higher up but noticed our old room was occupied the next day!

The standard rooms are a little plain and you need to be at least on floor 5 or above to have any sort of view.

Perhaps we were just unlucky with the allocation of the first room or our expectations were simply too high after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor, would we go back, probably not.

Room Tip: Must be above floor 5 for any view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments published on Tripadvisor.

It is a delight to hear that you found the food and the services rendered by our staff to be excellent.

Since our main goal is to provide perfect holidays for our guests, we always strive to solve any issues immediately and therefore would like to thank you for having informed our team right away. We are sorry for any inconveniences caused by the change of room and are happy, that you enjoyed the view from the new room allocated to you.

It would be a pleasure to have the possibility to welcome you back on a future occasion and to convince you of our high standards.

Best regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Sandy Beach

Address: Avenida Menceyes s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Sandy Beach is situated in the centre of Playa del Inglés at just 200 metres from the beach. In the surrounding area there are numerous commercial centres for shopping, entertainment and to enjoy the lively night-life. The hotel offers a choice of sunbathing terraces, set around the large heated fresh-water pool, which is equipped with seats and beds with massage jets and a waterfall, in which to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seaside Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Sandy Beach Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Sandy Beach Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Sandy Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.