We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Sandy Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Seaside Sandy Beach to your Saves list
Seaside Sandy Beach
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Menceyes s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Having arrived at about 11pm in the hotel after a flight delay, our first impression was not great as our allocated rooms were not pool view, as paid for in advance. We returned to reception only to be told that the hotel was full and that nothing could be done that evening. However within half an hour we received a phone call to inform us pool view rooms would be available to us the following day from around 11am. We reported to reception as requested and were issued with new key cards and before we new it hotel staff had whisked our luggage to our new location. Not only that we received a refund for the the one night we didn't have our pool view. The situation was dealt with fuss free, and in my opinion very professionally thus redeeming the situation.

RECEPTION - Even on the initial first night glitch, they could not be criticised. Always efficient, friendly, smiley and pleasant. You can't ask for any more

ROOM - Large, clean and well maintained. Plenty of storage and electrical points every where. Shower also worth a mention because it was superb. Oh almost forgot really comfy bed.

FOOD+RESTAURANT - Always plenty of choice, prepared to the highest standard and most importantly in my opinion, PIPING HOT.
The outside restaurant however could get really busy at times in the evening and this is caused by the lack of seating elsewhere for people to move on to after dining. It is difficult to see a solution if clientele insist on sitting at their table all night even after finishing their meal thus not allowing incoming diners anywhere to be seated.
I am sure however the excellent hands on management team will find a solution.

DRINKS - Good quality spirits and mixers, with the usual Tropical Beer on tap which was always refreshingly cold. Though I didn't have many, the coffee that I did have on occasion was excellent. Bar service at times could be a little slow but this was down to staff being friendly with customers and not just throwing drinks at you during busy times. In my opinion can't be too critical for that reason and would rather wait a few minutes and be greeted with a smiling face when you were next to be served.

POOL/TERRACE - Hotel was quite full when we were there but we never had a problem getting sun beds. The pool guys work really hard all day getting you comfy by providing mattresses and sun shades at your request. The pool at first seems to be on the small side but is deceptively large because of its shape. We were in it every day and at no point did it ever feel overcrowded.

LOCATION - Excellent location for the beach, shops, bars etc. Although all these amenities were close by, the hotel never suffers from disturbance from external noise.

All in all we had a great time and will probably return there in the future. Although not perfect, the friendliness and hard working ethic of the staff, from maid to management are commendable.

Room Tip: Any Pool View room on higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank your for your review published on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Seaside Sandy Beach****.

It is a delight to hear that you had great holidays and especially enjoyed our gastronomy and service.

Furthermore, we are glad that we found a quick and satisfying solution concerning your room request.

We also thank you for your observation regarding the seating situation on the terrace. Our Bar Salon usually invites many of our guests to sit inside, have a drink and enjoy the entertainment offered. Nonetheless, we understand that some guestd also like to sit outside and relish of the good climate. We have already taken notice of this issue and will take it into consideration for future planning.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you back at the Seaside Sandy Beach**** on a further holiday on Gran Canaria.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    176
    45
    9
    9
See reviews for
178
321
28
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Went to the Seaside Sandy Beach in June and it's a very good 4 star hotel. For an all inclusive, the food was possible the best we have encountered. You had different meals every day, with the added option of a range of meats cooked in front of you. The restaurant is lovely, you would happily stop there to eat if it was not in the hotel. The service is the only thing that lets it down. Can be sometimes waiting a while for your drinks.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk to the beach. Get the towels from the guy at the pool, tokens obtained from reception.

I am only rating 4 star as comparing to some top hotels. Overall very good hotel would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the Seaside Sandy Beach****.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our all-inclusive offer to be the best you have ever experienced.

With regard to the service, slightly longer waiting times may occur when the occupancy is rather high which is due to the fact that we are not willing to make compromises when it comes to the quality of our gastronomy.

Once again, thank you for recommending us. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back on Gran Canaria, soon.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Just returned from a 7 day stay at the Sandy Beach with my husband. Great location 5 mins walk to beach, 5 mins to Kashbah centre and 8 mins to Yumbo centre and to all bus stops. Outstanding staff never seen such a clean hotel absoultley spotless. The food is outstanding everything you could think of even champagne for breakfast unbelieveable, words cannot express this 4 star hotel. The service is first class well done to all staff definitely will be returning and will recommed you to all friends thankyou for a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: It is a quiet hotel all rooms are clean and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

With great delight, we note that you enjoyed your stay at the Seaside Sandy Beach**** to a maximum.

We are always eager to maintain and optimize our high standards and are glad to hear that you were completely satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel as well as our gastronomy and service.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you in our hotel on future holidays.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidcup, Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed for one week in August at the hotel. The hotel is spotlessly clean, I have never seen cleaners work so hard, no area was missed. Infact all staff work extremely hard to ensure that guests have a fantastic holiday.The hotel is in a nice quiet location. The rooms are spacious and as previously stated they were spotless. The food was delicious with so many choices and the quality of the food was excellent. We found all staff to be very hard working, friendly and polite. The pool area has lots of good quality sunbeds. There are activities to take part in, darts, table tennis etc which were good fun when we needed a break from the sun, the lady that organises the activities is so friendly and happy, speaking many languages she brings everybody together and translates so that you can talk to all nationalities.We had a lovely holiday, very relaxing in nice surroundings, with lovely people. I would highly recommend the hotel and would love to go back. The hotel staff really go above and beyond what is expected to ensure that guests have an enjoyable stay. We left some items in a cupboard (designer sunglasses, medicines etc). We contacted the hotel when we got home. They said they had the items and would post them to us, which they did by recoreded delivery. That shows how much they care and how honest the staff are.We would like to thank Ursula and all her staff for a lovely relaxing holiday. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. We hope to go back.

Room Tip: We had interconnecting rooms, which were great with the children. There was not a view but that didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, September 22, 2011
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you fully enjoyed your stay at the Seaside Sandy Beach**** and enjoyed our high standards and the excellent service..

We would be delighted to welcome you again on Gran Canaria and in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My friend and I get away from the stresses and strains of life for one week every September (we leave the kids and partners at home!). We had looked at this hotel last year but opted for one on Lanzorate instead. This year however after reading all the positive reviews and how management take the time and trouble to reply to them we decided to give it a go. THANK GODDNESS we did. We were greated with a friendly smile and welcome and told that our room would be ready in half an hour and that the pool bar was open if we wanted to go and get a drink whilst waiting. Our room was lovely, overlooking the pool on the third floor and right opposite the gym which was an added bonus and we could crawl out of bed, work out in the gym and be by the pool before anyone else had noticed!. The only one niggle I would have is the use of the all inclusive card you have to carry around with you all the time. I would often walk to the bar from the pool only to find that I forgot the card and have to return to fetch it (good form of keep fit I suppose).and it did get rather wet and soggy towards the end of the week. Also the waiters in the restaurant were using some kind of electronic machines to take the drinks orders and this seemed to take ages and on the odd occasion we would tell them our room number only for them to type it in wrong and the bill printed would be in someone elses name. This was also proved when we checked out as we had some drinks on our account that we had not even ordered and definately not signed for. The receptionist was very understanding and deducted these for us. The Spa is heaven do give it a visit if not for a treatement go and use the sauna and the sun deck, the views are fantastic from the up there. I would definately recommend this hotel and will hopefully be returning in the not too distant future. Oh yer its fantastic you dont have to get up at 7am to reserve your sun bed, they dont let anyone reserve beds till after 9am and there are always plenty of beds even if you wonder out onto the sun decks at 11am. Thank you Seaside Sandy Beach we had a fab week, totally rested and chilled out, fed and watered and well looked after. Hope to see you all again soon.

Room Tip: Rooms on floors 7 upwards for the best views but floor 3 for peace and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

We wish to thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor and are delighted to read that you chose the Seaside Sandy Beach**** for your annually holidays with your friend.

Moreover, we are pleased that you and your friend enjoyed your stay with us to the full and we were able to offer you the expected relaxation factor.

Likewise, we also thank you for the observation regarding our new operating system for the service area. This system gives us the possibility to provide our guests with a faster service and an easier handling of the orders. We have introduced it a short time ago and our staff is working very hard to become used to the new system. Therefore, we ask you for your understanding and are glad to hear that we could resolve the incident during your check-out without any inconveniences.

Once again, we thank you for the review and hope to welcome you back on future occasions.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newtownards
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

superb holiday this was one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in in 35 years of foreign hols nothing was to much trouble any request we had was dealt with right away the staff we curtious ,pleasant and helpful especially suraya who never passed by without a pleasant conversation only the second hotel we would definitely return to good range of food although maybe adding cold meats to lunchtime menu would help us british as we prefer a hot breakfast.

Room Tip: no tip but they r clean and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay in our hotel.

We are delighted that you relished your vacations at the Seaside Sandy Beach**** and that we were able to provide you with our best service.

Furthermore, we wish to thank you for including our staff in your feedback. We will pass on your comments to them and are convinced that they will be very pleased – this is the best motivation.

We also look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This is a wonderful Hotel with large clean rooms with Aircon that works! All the staff that we met were really friendly, especially if you tried to speak some Spanish with them! I was really concerned about going here after reading the views of others, but to be fair, it was far from the truth as far as we were concerned. Food was amazing, Staff Funny and Friendly. What more do you want??

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U_Matas, Manager at Seaside Sandy Beach, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear Seaside Sandy Beach Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuation on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and especially savoured our Seaside gastronomy.

Once more, we thank you for your kind words and would be delighted to welcome you back at the Seaside Sandy Beach**** on future holidays.

Kind regards,

Ursula Matas
General Manager Seaside Sandy Beach****
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Sandy Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Sandy Beach

Address: Avenida Menceyes s/n, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaside Sandy Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 256
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seaside Sandy Beach is situated in the centre of Playa del Inglés at just 200 metres from the beach. In the surrounding area there are numerous commercial centres for shopping, entertainment and to enjoy the lively night-life. The hotel offers a choice of sunbathing terraces, set around the large heated fresh-water pool, which is equipped with seats and beds with massage jets and a waterfall, in which to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Seaside Sandy Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaside Sandy Beach Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Seaside Sandy Beach Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Sandy Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.