We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but not as good as others locally” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Don Miguel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Riu Don Miguel to your Saves list
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Tirajana 30 | Playa de Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BIRD SUMMER DEALS
Ranked #16 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“OK but not as good as others locally”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

This is a 3 star hotel, and I would say that I had a 3 star stay. I've stayed in a few other hotels in this resort, mainly being 4 star ones, and I do think the difference shows. The food in good hotels in Playa del Ingles is often superb, but here it did fall below that standard, eg, cheaper/ less tender meats, and fish nearly always hake or pollock, with rather alot of bones. Room was ok, pool good, no all-inclusive facility as far as I could tell, you have to charge everything to your room. No ice machine. Staff friendly. If you get a good deal on one of the 4 star hotels take it. I rate this hotel as just OK.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

748 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    296
    90
    17
    11
See reviews for
30
423
64
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Booked one week stay early April with Jet2. Very centrally placed in a good area with great access. Very little to fault, check-in very smooth with smart, large foyer with lounge bar & internet access. Hotel feels modern and clean, rooms of average size but again modern bright with good decor. Big plus is large balcony, rooms facing inland have added advantage of evening sun - very welcome and relaxing after a day out. Pool area excellent and a good size. Hotel is for 16+ which means you can actual swim & relax in the pool. Plenty of sun lounges and whole area meticulously clean and well cared for. Slight problem with pool decking when we were there, but not noticeable. Dining area- excellent breakfast but range & quality of evening dinning was slightly disappointing but not unlike many hotels of this size. However plenty of good restaurants near by.Tip: This is quite a long hotel with some rooms quite a distance from reception, worth mentioning if you need to be central. Although rated as a 3* I would say this is definitely more a 4 star experience and would return and recommend.

Room Tip: Many room choices so difficult to predict a good view or perfectly quiet room. I would choose high f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Me and my partner stayed here end of may 2013 after booking up a last minute break. Neither of us had been to playa del ingles before but this hotel has a fantastic location to get to bars, restaurants and the beach. The rooms are very spacious and the hotel is very modern! we had a ground floor room facing the pool and our terrace was huge and we spent most evenings on it having a drink whilst the sun was setting before we headed out. The food was really good, we went half board and there was always plenty of options for breakfast and dinner, with lots of different stations. Some nights the entertainment wasnt great but one night they had an all male opera group on which were absolutely fantastic! The pool area is really nice and we loved chilling on the big double bed loungers. We also must say all the staff in the hotel were very friendly and always make you feel welcome. All in all we had a great time and i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Lovely hotel rooms beautiful food good would request room near lift on next visit. Our room was up one flight of steps then down another flight which were like fire escape steps very off putting there was no lift to our room. .We arrived Thursday saw rep Friday told reception l didn't like the steps was offered a change of room on the Saturday on 2floor near lift however as we were only there for a week we did not feel it worth packing and unpacking again so we stayed put The steps became part of our daily exercise so that was a good thing .All in all loved the hotel and would go back again Staff great and the pool beautiful would really re cleaning very good both in rooms and all the hotel would recommend this hotel to everyone good value for money and great location.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms nice also ask if room has a lift to them if you don't or cant do stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Just got back from our 4 nights stay at Don Miguel. The location is very good, just few steps from the night life and supermarket. The dinner buffet was superb, very high quality and tasty food. I found the hotel modern, clean but somewhat sterile, the lobby looked like a hospital waiting room. Rooms very adequately sized, clean and beds very comfortable. Out door dining patio looked lovely and was more quiet than the main canteen like restaurant.
The staff were kind and very eager to please, almost to the point it was a bit embarrasing and forced at times ( you can be friendly without trying too hard... ).The clientele is a mixture of gays, young couples and elderly people, nice international feel . Overall positive experience and I would certainly return.

Pros:
Cleanliness
Excellent food
Beautiful pool area
Clientele ( it is a gay friendly hotel )
Location

Cons:
The size of the hotel makes it a bit factory like
The decor was a sterile, hospital like ( lobby+ main restaurant )

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW, UK
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Emailed in advance our choice of room having stayed here several times before. Response saying they couldn't guarantee. Allocated a room two doors away on the same floor so very happy. Cleaning of room very good and towels changed every day at our request. Sheets changed as often as we wanted. We had an issue with the lights in the room early in the stay so rang reception. They sent someone immediately and the issue was sorted quickly by a friendly maintenance guy. The next morning a basket of fruit was left in the room with the compliments of reception.
The pool area and outside bar area is kept spotlessly clean at all times and it is obvious that staff in all areas of the hotel work hard at ensuring people enjoy their experience at the Don Miguel. We love the friendly atmosphere and it's great that Don Miguel is adults only.
One thing that disappoints is the number of people using Body's Restaurant (their A la Carte restaurant). I guess it's either because the hotel does not advertise enough or because of the 12 Euro charge per person. We had used the restaurant in previous stays and used the restaurant twice in the fortnight we stayed and each 4 course meal was delicious and 12 Euros per person charge is excellent value.........so give it a try!
I agree with other reviews that there are flaws regarding linen and towels but on the whole we find this hotel provides us with a comfortable and friendly stay in a great location in Playa del Ingles.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean room with a reasonably sized balcony. Central location - just across the road from the Yumbo Centre. Good breakfast and dinner, with plently of choice for everyone. Good pool area. Can be loud due to neighbouring streets and bars, but this is a party area! Good mix of guests. Interesting points: internet in the room €20/week; safe in the room €2/day. Most unusual for these modern times!

Room Tip: Rooms with the balcony to the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riu Don Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Don Miguel

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 30 | Playa de Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#13 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Don Miguel 3*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. 4-Storey building. 1.5 Km from the beach and seafront promenade. Complimentary bus service to the beach. 300 M from the city centre. 200 M from a shopping centre. 30 Km from the airport. 200 M from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Riu Don Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Don Miguel Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Don Miguel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Don Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.