We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Merits a 4 star not just 3, highly recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riu Don Miguel

Save Saved
You added Hotel Riu Don Miguel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Riu Don Miguel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Tirajana 30 | Playa de Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Special Offer
Ranked #9 of 139 hotels in Playa del Ingles
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Merits a 4 star not just 3, highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for 1 week , 2-9 February, found hotel to be absolutely spotless everywhere, was constantly being cleaned in every area, room 317 faced road had some traffic noise but didn't bother us, room spacious, comfy beds , safe and fridge , safe only cost 14 euros per week with no deposit, bathroom spacious with complimentary toiletries, maids in room everyday and were very nice, restaurant spotless, food was great , plenty choice at both breakfast and dinner , always restocking and cooking food fresh, chefs very friendly , staff and management welcomed you before meal, any drinks in restaurant had to be paid at reception next day or end of stay , pool area yet again spotless and constantly cleaned , pool guy constantly mopping floor and tidying up , plenty of sun beds , bar staff very friendly, night entertainment was ok , resident singer was good , Joe thomson rep was very nice and helpful. We weren't able to have a late check out but wasn't a problem as there are 2 courtesy rooms where you can shower and towels are supplied, also storage for suitcases . Simply cannot fault the hotel would highly recommend it to anyone, we thoroughly loved it. It definetly merits a 4 star rating not just a 3 star.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

594 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    239
    67
    8
    8
See reviews for
26
300
43
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel spotless, food very good, service excellent, Pool a bit crammed in.BBC and Sky news only on the tv. Our room was a way from the reception, so if anyone has difficuties in walking, ask for a room near to the reception lift area. Wasn't too keen on Playa del Ingles, windy, bit tired looking. Ingles beaches 15 minute stroll from the hotel. Try Maspalomas/Meloneras. Great Beaches tho the nudist parts are too plenty! The only downer from this hotel for me was the entertainment, ridiiculous and at times embarrasing! a cover band would have been far better than people dancing around with lampshades on their heads! Otherwise I would recommend this hotel, for a 3 star, excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is situated well for getting around it is next to a roundabout and there is a lot of traffic noise if you are round the pool area or on your balcony, however the hotel itself is imaculate the staff very friendly the food was plentiful. the evening entertainment was hit and miss for us so we went to a bar down the road called Benny hills because my husband enjoys his John Smiths and every evening was live entertainment a mixture of nationalities and everyone had a good time.
There is a 20 minute walk to the beach downhill or there is a courtesy bus provided but we never used it. The hotel has had a refurb and the rooms are nice and fresh comfy beds plenty of storage space in rooms and also safe for valubles all in all no complaints from us

Room Tip: We were in room 215 2nd floor overlooked a busy road but still slept well
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strasbourg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We had 10 days in November 2012 and couldn't wait to enjoy the hotel that we know very well after their renovation of the rooms, the outside at pool side and the restaurant area.
Everything looks good and nice, but u fortunately the standard and quality of the service in the restaurant has gone down. They have also created a jacuzzi outside but not heated!

The prices for this hotel are much higher now, so it is absolutely less attractive to book the hotel compared to before the renovations. .

For years we have been very happy to stay at this hotel but we must say we are looking for other possibilities in the future when we are coming to Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh Lancs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Well what can I say about this hotel that hasn't already been said. This was our second choice hotel for a repeat stay in Playa del Ingles and it more than exceeded our expectations. We stayed in room 157 which backed onto Av. Alfredo Provisionales. The rooms although a little on the small side have been refurbished to a very high standard. Each room has a minibar and a room safe as well to put valubles. As other posters have said, this hotel is stiuated on a busy road. We found that there only tended to be traffic noise if the patio door was open and there was a little bit of noise from entertainment at the weekend but this tended to stop around midnight. The beds were lovely and comfortable and it was a pleasure to actually get a double bed for a change instead of two beds pushed together. Also although the maid didnt understand a word we said, we found her to be lovely and friendly.
Restaurant - We stayed on half board basis and we found that we never got bored of the food. This was a surprise as lots of people including ourselves usually get bored of buffet food. As per previous posts, the tables are extremely close together and could be a bit off putting for some couples. However on the first night we were asked if we were happy with our allocated sitting and table and if we would like to move elsewhere. Although we are both non smokers we moved outside into the smoking area where the tables are a little better spread out and found it more than satisfactory.
Pool area - only used once by myself. Found the water a little cold but easily got a lounger at 3pm and got the last remaining little bit of sun for the day.
Bar/A la carte restaurant. We didn't use either but found that the A la carte restaurant seemed dead and this was from about 9pm at night.
Internet - You get 90mins free access a day in the lounge area or you can pay 20 Euros for a weeks access in the room. Have found in the past internet access to be very poor on this island but the paid WIFI was fantasitc. We uploaded loads of pictures to facebook of our holidays.
Getting around- the 32/33 bus takes you to Puerto Mogan which is well worth a visit and costs 8.30 Euros one way for two people. If you want to visit Las Palmas which is about 40mins away then catch the number 30 from the Yumbo center. This was approx 12 Euros each one way. We were nervous of going on the local busses but the drivers speak limited English (just enough to get to going)
Yumbo shopping center - This is just across the road from the hotel behind the Neptuno hotel. Beware you do get harrassed by the shop keepers. Be careful if you like the slightest look of anything you will get pounced on. Also watch out for the guys with sunglasses and watches who are walking around
Also if you walk along the beach, watch out for the people trying to get you to visit the Anfi time share property. We fell for it the first year. the property is stunning but they try and get you to sign a contract for 32 grand
Leisure - We both enjoy biking. There are two companies in the resort whos website can be found on google. Happy Biking and Freemotion. Only go to Freemotion if you are extremely confident on a bike and are used to hills/very hard rides. I booked a tour that I thought I could do and got left behind at the back of the resort. I wasnt given my money back even though I asked. Happy Biking is run by 3 Belgium guys and we found their shop although not as flashy as freemotion a lot more helpful. If you are a serious cyclist then I suggest you just hire a bike, get a good map of the island and mark up the routes from the two cycle shop websites. Dont stray off their routes as we found out when we nearly got ourselves into serious trouble
Rep - Well Thompson Holidays you have got a great rep here. Joe from Madera admitted he had not been on the island very long but he was extremely friendly and if he didn't know the answer to a question he made sure he found out for us the next day. Well done Thompson :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Been going to this hotel for years.Always made welcome by the same staff(that alone tells you something)Food always very good with plenty of choice.Rooms spacious and comfortable.Good entertainment in the evenings.Location ideal for transport/shops/bars etc.Beach 10/15 minutes walk away,but a courtesy bus provided.Since my last visit the hotel has been refurbished.All rooms now have air conditioning and are very nice.Restaurant has new lay out and is supurb.Pool area greatly improved with more sunbeds.I can't fault this hotel and hope to continue to visit for many years to come

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel has recently been refurbished and is now adult only - perfect! The staff are very friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Food was very good and plenty of choice at breakfast and evening dinner. All the meat, fish and breakfast eggs are freshly cooked, although the vegetables and potatoes could be on the cool side if you didn't dine when the restaurant opened at 6pm. Only downside is that the tables are very close together. The pool area is lovely and there is a waiter service from the pooside bar. Snacks are also served at the poolside bar. Pool is heated so even in January it was lovely to swim in and there are fixed loungers in the water so you can just relax & stay cool. Rooms were very clean and serviced daily. We were initially given a room on the ground floor near to the pool which meant that guests around the pool could look over into our terrace. I asked to switch rooms and was given a much better room on a higher floor. Hotel is very near to the Yumbo Centre so there are plenty of bars to go to at night. It's about 20 mins walk to the beach, but there is a courtesy bus at various times during the day. I can't fault this hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Riu Don Miguel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Don Miguel

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 30 | Playa de Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#6 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riu Don Miguel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Playa del Ingles. 4-storey building. 1.5 km from the beach and seafront promenade. Complimentary bus service to the beach. 300 m from the city centre. 200 m from a shopping centre. 30 km from the airport. 200 m from a bus stop. Credit cards accepted: Visa, MasterCard, Amex, Diners. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Riu Don Miguel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riu Don Miguel Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Hotel Riu Don Miguel Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riu Don Miguel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.