We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad ....but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Waikiki

Save Saved
You added ClubHotel Riu Waikiki to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
ClubHotel Riu Waikiki
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Avenida Gran Canaria, 20 | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Turn Spring Around!
Ranked #25 of 140 hotels in Playa del Ingles
Kirkbymoorside, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not bad ....but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Firstly a couple of pointers DO NOT BOOK WITH COSMOS OR MONARCH they are useless.When they pick you up at the airport and transfer you to the hotel take a good look at the rep because once your dropped off you wont see him again.Apparently theres only one Cosmos rep in the whole of Gran Canaria.He couldnt be even bothered to get off the minibus and pointed to the hotel and reception while the driver got our cases
Another thing is 48hrs before you depart you personally have to ring the coach company to arrange your own transfer to the airport,you will get an email prior to travelling and you will also be told whilst on the bus to your hotel.The rep explains that the hotel reception will do this for you.Thats rubbish infact they took a lot of persauding on my part.ITS A BLOODY JOKE.
Now The Waikiki Hotels policy on your last meal...
If like us you have a late flight home ours was 11.45 but were getting picked up at 8.45 for our transfer at the hotel they have 2 sittings for dinner we were on the 6.30 sitting.On the Friday night prior to us leaving the next day we were eating our dinner when the chief waiter approached and asked if we were leaving the next day.After replying yes he said "tomorrow you have breakfast lunch but no dinner okay".So there you go its there policy that you eat out or stuff your face at lunch as you aint getting any dinner .It spoilt our night to be honest and this rule is the hotels rule not your tour operaters so it wont matter who you booked with.
We had no problems booking in and were pointed to our room Block E room 756 off we went.Cause we arrived at midnight they left the restaurant open there was cold meat and buns with salad so we could eat.Once we reached our room the key wouldnt turn on hearing noises from inside the reception sent the security guard up only to find our room occupied.We were then moved to the 6th floor below to room 666 yes 666 you couldnt make it up.So our holiday didnt start to well.
The first couple of days were really busy in fact every sunbed had a towel on them and i mean every one so we trotted off to the beach .To be honest we thought the complex was far too small for the amount of accomodation they had.They only had one bar(the other being in a cabaret room opened later in the evening)all the toilets down two flights of stairs .The bar was okay plenty of self service items such as lager soft drinks and coffees,the bar staff service was crap only served whoever they wanted no queing system what so ever.A lot of the time you were overlooked .
The food like others said is often the same each day with a few variations but very tasty i thought breakfast was a bit dull though.
Entertainment was fine plenty going on during the day and shows in the evening that were quite good actually.The thing is with the place being so small theres no escaping the entertainment its in your face all day no quiet spots at all available.The pool is small with about 200 or more sunbeds around it all side by side like sardines in a tin.
Reading this you'd think we didnt enjoy it ,we didnt hate it we just had issues that could have made it better for us .The location is excellent and we met some lovely people here especially the young couple who let us put our bags in there room and use there shower before we left .You have vacate your room by 11am so unless you have 60euros for another room or put your name down for a shower room good luck.Overall we'd come back to Gran Canaria but not here its a nice litte place but not customer friendly

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    355
    173
    44
    18
See reviews for
184
354
26
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from Riu Waikiki and have had a brilliant time there. All of the staff and services are excellent, the complex is cleaner than some 5* hotels that I have stayed at. The food is good, dining experience in main restaurant is a little crowded also being seated in such proximity to strangers is a little off putting as you quite literally bump elbows with them. If you were travelling in a larger group though where your party would take up an entire table this would not be an issue(you are assigned a seat throughout your stay for dinner) but by the pool bar there are snacks available throughout the day which are excellent. The selection of drinks are great. The rooms are spotlessly clean, rather basic but nothing to complain drastically about. It would have been nice to have a fridge in the room to chill water as we were quite a way from the bar, the plug sockets in the room were only available behind the tv which was strange so every time I needed to charge something I had to pull the tv unit out, the beds were quite hard too, only by the end of the holiday did this take its toll though. Overall I really enjoyed my stay and for a 3* hotel you really are visiting one of top quality.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

First off please dont listen to all the rubbish reviews yes there are a lot of other nationalities at this hotel but to b honest they are better behaved and mannared than most of the english! we stayed here on 27th August for two weeks. This was our first family holiday with our new baby he was 4 months and I have to say the staff made this the easiest and best holiday we've been on. On the first morning at breakfast we met the manager who was checking everything was ok with all her guests this is the first hotel I've been to were your on first name terms with the manager of the hotel. When we went to dinner we were asked what time we preferred and then they allocated us a table we had been warned before that u are allocated a table and have to share with other guests but this didn't bother us. Yes the rooms are a little dated but no worse than any other hotel we've stayed in and I have to say this was by far the cleanest hotel I've ever been to and we have been to some extremely nice 5 star ones. Aqua gym was great colleen gave u the hardest work out but it helped to burn off all that food. The food was good it does get a bit repetitive and some things ate better than others but there was always something to eat and it was always hot and nice. The shows were good the team really did put there heart and soul into it. The staff were always nice and polite to us maybe a smile does go a long way we never had problems being served and were always welcomed by all staff. I really would recommend this hotel to anyone and with a newborn it really was the best holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel the first week in September.
The hotel was lovely, the cleanest hotel we have ever stayed in. Plus the cleaners were all absolutely lovely said good morning/hello every time we walked past them. As were the vast majority of the staff.
We stayed in block D which over-looked the building site of the hotel opposite which was an awful view, but it didn't disturb us.
The rooms were as expected for a 3 star. As it didn't have air-con, just a ceiling fan the room was quite warm in the evenings when trying to get ready.
The pool was lovely really big with enough sunbeds for everyone. We used to go down around 9.30/10am and always got sunbeds.
The daytime entertainment staff work tirelessly throughout the day - we didn't do any activities because it's not really our scene but their was never any pressure to take part and always a wide range of things to do for both adults and kids.
The all inclusive was excellent. Serve yourself pop/water/beer/wine/hot drinks meant you never had to queue.
In the evening we would sit in the pool bar which was open until midnight, there was also a proper bar downstairs but we only went one evening therefore can't comment on the animation.
The food was okay, always plenty. A lot of grilled fish and veal which was not to our tastes but there was always plenty to choose from. A huge selection of salads, various pasta dishes, veg, pizzas.
As others have said it did get very repetitive and we ate out two nights.
The lunch was basically the same as the evening meal but the pool bar served burgers, pizzas, hotdogs and toasties all afternoon along with chips and salad which was also a buffet format.
The breakfast was mainly continental but they would also do eggs and beans. They would have one kind of meat, either ham pieces or streaky bacon each morning but if you are after a full English you will have to head out for breakfast.
The hotel was located a short walk from both the kassbah and yumbo center's and about a 10 minute walk from the beach.
So was a great location.
It was the first time we had visited Playa del Ingles. We had a great holiday but I would not return to the resort. It all seems pretty tired and run down. Although all the bars and restaurants were open they seemed like they had seen better days. The resort could do with modernising.
Also in response to the comment re the prostitutes, we thought whoever had written this review were lying until our last night we were walking back to the hotel at 5am we did indeed see two working girls on the road adjacent to the hotel!
This had no effect on our holiday though and we walked back late every night and were completely safe.
Would recommend the hotel as excellent value for money and we had a fantastic time, but not a huge fan of the resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Its a three star so wasn't expecting the moon on a stick but it was better than expected and had a great time.

Rooms: bit noisy and half of block E faces a dual carriageway but didn't bother me. The decor is very dated but the rooms are very clean and have all that we needed.

Food and drink: the food was very good. It was very similar each day but when you have four meats, four pastas, several soups, ten different salads, pizza, chips and a big selection of vegetables to choice from you can make seven completly different meals over a week. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice and the same for lunch. The self service drinks are a great idea and most of the drinks were pretty good and definitely not watered down.

Staff: the staff were very friendly and the animation team worked super hard although it was very cheesy and dated.The bar staff, reception staff and cleaners were very friendly. Especially if you tried to speak a tiny little bit of spanish.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Ignore bad reviews this hotel is great!
The hotel is massive and has everything you need! Breakfast had plenty of options to eat, pool bar lunch is self service and has foods like hot dogs, burgers, pizza, salad etc. lunch in the restaurant however does not seem as nice, everything I ate felt cold that's why I preferred the pool bar. Dinner had lots of choice and all hot. There are 2 dinner sittings of 6:30 and 8:30, the one downfall of dinner was the fact you had to share a table with other people. The entertainment team work so hard and aqua gym is so fun! The shows at night were miming but I enjoyed them and sang along. Wine, beer, coke, sprite and fanta were all self service but u had to order spirits and cocktails at the bar. The beach is about a 10 min walk away from hotel and is nice but seemed to be very windy. If you walk straight out of the hotel and follow the road straight down then yumbo centre is right and kasbah is left, they are both similar with bars and shops. Next to the hotel on the right is a supermarket and a bar called mackers, this sells pints for €1.25! I went from 9th To 15th September and it did rain for 2 days, so if you go to the yumbo centre be careful as the stairs are very slippery!
I would go to this hotel again as I enjoyed it but not straight away as like to visit other places.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Was excited to stay at this hotel as I've stayed in gran canaria before and it always looked nice from outside will teach me to never judge a book by its cover. The food is basic at best but the restaurant manager is very nice and will change your meal time if he can. The hotel is very clean but rooms are more hostel than hotel the bar service has a great choose but the staff are quite miserable. The reception staff are the worse the wi fi kept going off which you have to pay for and when you complain they just dismiss your complaint and are very rude when they don't understand what your asking. We had a member of staff from the front desk enter our room when my friend was asleep to put a letter in there which was very rude as everyone else's was put under there door this we found very strange so all in all not a great place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ClubHotel Riu Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Waikiki

Also Known As:
Riu Waikiki Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Riu Waikiki Hotel
Riu Waikiki Playa Del Ingles
Riu Waikiki
ClubHotel Riu Waikiki Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Address: Avenida Gran Canaria, 20 | Playa del Ingles- Gran Canaria, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ClubHotel Riu Waikiki 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Five 7-storey round buildings * 3,500 m2 garden * 1.5 km from Playa del Ingles beach * Complimentary bus service to the beach * 500 m from the city centre * 400 m from "Metro" and "Kasbah" shopping centres * 30 km from the airport * 50 m from a bus stop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Otel, Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ClubHotel Riu Waikiki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.