We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST FOOD ABOUT” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vaca Roja

Vaca Roja
Av Alf. Provisionales | C.C Prisma, Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Vegetarian, British, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Family friendly restaurant and grill, affiliated with our Sports Bar Shenanigans to show all sport, handball, icehockey, football etc. Speciality menus - coeliac, vegetarian, childrens. Known for our huge portions and low prices. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Opposite Hotel Buenos Aires at the top of the winding road down to playa del ingles beach
lanarkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST FOOD ABOUT”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have been going to the Red Cow for a number years, and having read some reviews i must say the people with negative reviews must have been mistaken and been somewhere else, we have never left on an empty belly, sometimes cant even finish the platefull you get, the portions are really large and taste great, staff are helpfull, friendly and attentive, the prices are very reasonable for the size of the portion you receive, we will be back every time we are over.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    189
    67
    27
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“WHAT A LET DOWN”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

went to the red cow last night as read reviews on here and thought great as its on our doorstep. I was told by the guy who gave me a flyer that the meals were huge and as i only eat mains i was looking forward to tucking into a feast. I ordered chicken, jacket potatoes and salad. It came out and i couldnt believe it...the jacket was the size of a boiled potato ...the chicken was the size of a sparrow and the small bit of salad i got was accomponied by a dollop of coleslaw that was not ordered as i cannot stand it. I will say the potato was very nice but so small was gone in a bite but the chicken was all bones...i didn't really want to pay but in british fashion i did. Very poor , went for a kebab after as i was hungry.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamRedCow, Owner at Vaca Roja, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
hi, sorry you didn't enjoy your meal. I have to say that our chickens are all 1200 gram so each standard and acceptable size for a meal, our side salads do come with coleslaw automatically, as in other places olives or peppers or alioli may be automatic, its just a quirk in each different restaurant around the world to vary standard basic every day lettuce, tomato and cucumber. I'm glad the potato tasted good and I apologise if it was small. I will definitely look in to that because this year is a bad year for the potato crop given the bad weather (we use british potatoes as the canarian ones are all small) and we are compensating by giving two potatoes when we deem a potato isn't big enough to fill a customer with an accompanying meal. Our biggest complaint year in and year out is that our meals our too big. I do hope you'll call in again if you are in the area and give us another chance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Wow"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Read about Red Cow on trip advisor before we went to Ingles last month so looked it up. "Wow" the food IS fantastic. We had the steak and i`m not kidding it really was the best steak my husband and I have ever had!!! A must for anyone on holiday to try

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unpretentious with fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This friendly restaurant is situated across from the Buenos Aires aparthotel and offers well-cooked wholesome food at great-value prices served by charming and helpful staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Probably one of the best restaurants in Playa del Ingles!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This restaurant served brilliant food and had a great menu! The breakfast was amazing, especially after a hangover! Lol! The staff were really friendly and attentive. Definitely would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vaca Roja also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
 
Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Vaca Roja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vaca Roja, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.