We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill English bar don't listen to stuck up comments on here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of big bens

big bens
playa del ingles | gran caneria, Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #197 of 280 restaurants in Playa del Ingles
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brill English bar don't listen to stuck up comments on here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Big bens is just an English pub on a island. They make you feel warm and welcome and you can have good time there. You can't get a better English breakfast anywhere else other than here. All staff are absolutely down to earth and totally English. And people that are complaining about cockroaches it's a Spanish Island and you get them everywhere. Me and my partner are coming again in the new year. See you soon Mel and Tracey. Love Dean and Sara. Barnsley. :-) xx

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

50% Recommend
    14
    6
    8
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poorly run an the owners in particular Alan was a joke!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Went on a family holiday at Christmas came back jan 3rd called into BIG BENS "family" restaurant found the attitude of a guy called Alan very poor the guy was a liar and on the whole was a joke of a man! Advise anyone who is holidaying here to avoid big bens bar at all costs !!!!

John
Liverpool

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

only stopped in for a drink on way over to san fernando,tracey and mel seemed nice for all we spoke, only a few people in,and when asked for a few drinks not in stock but man did go to shop for vodka,seen it was quiter in december not so many brits i put they errors down to lack of buisness. nice for a quick drink

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
405 reviews 405 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Typical British Pub Abroad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

Cannot comment on the food or hygiene, as we just stopped for a drink at the end of our evening walk, saw the advert for John Smith's so thought we would have a pint. This place is very typical of the English pub abroad, Union Flags, English TV programmes etc, it will appeal to a certain type of client, but not really for us. Barman was friendly enough, but found John Smith's cheaper at other bars quite near by, wouldn't go back out of choice.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maspalomas, Spain
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Shut down for hygiene!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

I came to this restaurant at the start of them month as I am staying on the island for the winter, I found a cockroach in my sandwich and noticed that the place was dirty when I walked to the kitchen to complain as the waiter was there. I saw the chef pick up a yea towel that had cockroaches fall out. Absolutely discussing!!

The place has been shut as they have had a hygiene inspection and with no surprised it was a hazard!

Don't cove here! They are ripping customers off with poor quality!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed big bens also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
 
Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
 

Been to big bens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage big bens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.