We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor beds” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Walkirias Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Walkirias Resort to your Saves list
Walkirias Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda. Alfeceres Provisionales 33, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Eindhoven
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great location, poor beds”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Great location, only a few meters from Yumbo. Nice and clean apartment with large balcony.
Friendly and helpful staff. Very nice pool and deck. Beds are horrible. Small, harder than concrete. Quite noisy as it is next to Yumbo with all the bars and clubs but that's the reason to go to Gran Canaria isn't it?. Bathroom is decent just as well as the kitchen area and the closet space in the bedroom. Would I go here again? Yes. Would I take my own inflatable mattress? Yes.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    12
    6
    5
See reviews for
14
46
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

The hotel is centrally located approx. 100 meters behind the shopping center.
Rooms are spacious and all with balconies.
Clean rooms but slightly worn, the beds very hard, which is quite common all over Spain. The service is fantastic, thanks to Abbi receptionist who will arrange the most you are asking for. A plus is also his language skills. As far as I know he can fluently English, German, Norwegian, Danish, Swedish, Portuguese and Spanish, of course. One tip is to book a room high up in the hotel building.
Then you get views of the sea and less noise from the street and shopping center.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleroi, Belgique
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

we arrived from Belgium on 22 september for 2 weeks and it was lovely, the rooms are simple but very clean, yumbo centre 3 minutes, very close (during the night you can hear the noize from there). the price is acceptable and comparing with the services it's ok. Abi(he speaks a lot of languages even french that we appreciated a lot) and Adam from the reception are very friendly and can give you a lot of advices if you need.we even book an excursion at the reception and it was ok. one of the bad things is that the safebox is situated at the reception and not in the room and they are very smal (for passports, creditcards, documents, smal objects).
the pool side is clean and very nice for relaxing during the day if you are tired to the beach, free sunbeds and a very nice small bar with acceptable prices and sometimes they had live music plus barbeque, etc

and in my opinion but this is a relative point of view: the beds are not that confortable, but it depends on each person.
next time we will go back for sure we liked the hotel and the stuff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Just came back 3 weeks ago from las walkirias and it was great!
In the beginning of this year we went to monte feliz in bahia feliz (we are going to go there again!) but because this time I went only with my friend (my husband and son couldn´t come) we wanted to stay in playa del ingles to do lots of shopping and have fun in the night and this was the best hotel we could find!

This hotel has a amazing pool, it is stunning!
With the pool comes a poolbar where they sell a kinds of snacks and drinks.

We didn´t expect much of the hotel for it´s low prices but it was amazing! the rooms are a bit old and simple but it was perfect for us plus it was very clean.

The staff is very nice and helpfull, only we didn´t like the man in the poolbar much but we went out for drinks/food anyway.

The best about this hotel is the location, you will find the jumbo center en lots of shops, restaurants en bars within 5 min. walk. The jumbo center is so much fun in the night with all the shows they do, they are so funny!

Do know that you can hear some music in the night from the jumbo center but if you close the window in front you won´t hear it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

We went to Gran Canaria for our honeymoon. On request, we were picked up at the airport with a limousine and our room had nice romantic details (flowers, candles, champagne etc.).
The appartments are basic, but had enough space for the two of us. Every two days, the cleaning staff changed towels and cleaned the appartment. The kitchen is well-equipped.
The appartments are close to the Yumbo shopping centre, with all kinds of restaurants and nightlife. It can be a bit noisy late at night, but with all windows closed, you can enjoy a good night of sleep.
The complex has a nice pool with a poolbar, which serves coffee, snacks, a very good dutch breakfast and so on. The staff is very friendly.
We enjoyed our stay at the Walkirias Resort!
For this price, you get good value.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

If your a single traveller or a group of friends or a family with small children this place is outstanding value for money. Each appartments balcony faces the refurbished pool and sunbathing area,there is even a bar with snacks available during the day.
The clientele is mainly spanish but i felt at home the moment I checked in, the reception staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were cleaned thoroughly by the lovely cleaning staff.
Even though the block faces the Yumbo Centre it is not a problem sleeping, as all bedrooms face the main road, and with windows closed at night no mosquitos to worry about!!
Its a ten minute downhill walk to the beach, or 30 second walk to the shops, cafes and bars and nightlife in the Yumbo Centre.
For the price I paid I got a large one bedroom appartment and I was in Heaven!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

hi just back from the walkirias and i must say it was great, pool was lovely it gets the sun all day the apartments were large and the kitchen was well equipped with everything you needed , staff were very friendly and on the day we left, our transfers were late and the member of staff phoned the company to check when it would arrive which i thought was very helpfull!!, for the money you pay i thought it was fantastic and yes it is a bit noisy at night but you must no before you go here that it is right next to the jumbo so if you are not prepared for a bit of noise why book here!! i would definetly return to the walkirias it is so handy for everything i give it top marks!!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Walkirias Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Walkirias Resort

Address: Avda. Alfeceres Provisionales 33, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Walkirias Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort in Playa del Ingles newly renovated. Something completely different in the heart of Gran Canaria! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Walkirias Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walkirias Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Walkirias Resort Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walkirias Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.