We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food in a friendly atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silos - CLOSED

Silos
Avenida de Tirajana, 19 | Edifico Barbados 2, Local 36,, Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Nice food in a friendly atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

It's a smallish restaurant - with tables inside and out; I chose the patio and enjoyed watching the passing crowd as well as the dinner. The hosts are very attentive and the food is served in an attractive and thoughtful way. Good quality European (perhaps more North European than Spanish) cooking, reasonably priced. I noticed many restaurants that I wanted to avoid - and might not have stopped at Silos but for the positive reviews on Trip Advisor. I endorse them all, and recommend you try it if in Playa del Ingles. It's not at all like the typical touristy eateries in the commercial centres.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    14
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Consistently good every year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We have been to silos for several visits and food service and menu is excellent and reasonably priced. Never had a bad meal which is unusual as much more expensive places sometimes get it wrong. Highly recommended

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Fresh Homemade Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This was our 8th year going to Gran Canaria.
We were there for 10 days & ate every night here at Silos.
The food is so good & the family & staff make you so welcome & if there is nothing on the menu you fancy they will accommodate your needs.
This is the best place we have eaten in Gran Canaria.
A great place to go & relax & spend a few hours enjoying the food & atmosphere.
See you in December.
Crawford & Stephen from Inverness in Scotland xx

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food & fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Really beautiful food, fillet steak especially, but what makes it so special is the owners and the personal attention they give you. Have returned for the last few years and they are so lovely, really genuine and very kind and accommodating with children too. Very worth a visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Always Delivers Great Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have been visiting Gran Canaria for many years and normally fly out in Sept.
We always look forward to eating here each visit for the best food and welcoming from the owners and staff.

The welcome we receive is outstanding by the lovely owners of which they always seem to remember us and what type of food we enjoy the most.

The entrance to the restaurant doesn't look all that, but don’t let that put you off, once your inside and see what is on the menu and taste the fine food cooked to perfection to suit your palette, then I'm sure you will say the same as us. “Superb food”

The owners are such lovely people, speaking many languages and they take the time to chat with you whilst making you feel relaxed in their environment. If you want something slightly different from the menu then just ask they will try and do as much as they can to add or change to your liking.

The best starter we had was the salmon, this is so yummy, then fillet steak with green pepper sauce for main course.

Where is the restaurant ? - It is located 2 min walk from the Yumbo centre, if dropped off by taxi at the Yumbo centre (taxi rank) walk up the road towards the roundabout and take a left turning into Avda. de Tirajana just a few yards down the road based on the right. Its a must for fine steaks and best service around playa de ingles.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silos also viewed

Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
 
Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.