We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel, Fantastic Holiday, Beautiful Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IFA Catarina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added IFA Catarina to your Saves list
IFA Catarina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel, Fantastic Holiday, Beautiful Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

This hotel was great. We had a wonderful stay here and I highly recommend it.

Like all hotels, it had both good and bad points, but the good highly outweighs the bad. I will list both:

Positive: The location is great, the hotel is very clean, the pool is lovely. The gardens are amazing and there is always a quiet place to go. The nudist solarium on the roof is a very nice feature; it gets the sun all day, it is quiet (no screaming kids!), you don't need to go naked, and it has amazing views of the ocean and dunes. The food was good with a nice variety. We went half board for two weeks and did not get bored of the food. The air conditioning worked well and kept the room very cool.

Negative: The kids club happens every night at 8:30. They play the same terrible songs like 'Superman' every night. If you want to take a nap before going out, you will not be able to sleep at this time if your room overlooks the pool. I would recommend requesting a quiet room that overlooks the pond. The have entertainment by the pool every night. This could be a good thing, but if you are in the mood for a quiet evening, you can't enjoy your balcony without watching the show. The show does end at 10:30, so at least it is not loud all night. The dining room is very warm. We had to wear trousers to dinner in the evening, this was a little annoying because we just had to go back upstairs to the room to change back into shorts after we ate. This will not be a problem now because they changed to rule on the last day! Men can now wear shorts to dinner (I think this is fair because women got to wear practically nothing, why can't men wear shorts?).

Tips: If you choose to stay here, and you should, I would suggest that you request a quiet room at the north end of the hotel. If you like to have nights out, and want a nap first (the nights start late), try to get a nap before the kids club starts. If you are English, don't bother hiring the TV unless you speak German or Spanish. The Germans are not as bad as everyone says, but stand your ground at the buffet. They will push in for food and they will breathe down your neck if they want what you are getting. If you want to make the most of the sun, go on the sun terrace in the morning (the pool is in the shade until later), then go down to the pool area when it is sunny. To save money, only order water at the meal and buy your own drinks at the local shops. It is much cheaper and there is a fridge in the room to keep them cold.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    426
    159
    45
    24
See reviews for
272
478
51
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

We stayed half board for 7 nights. Both breakfast and dinner provided a good choice of food - although by the end of the week we saw many of the same dishes returning so 2 weeks might have been a little disappointing. There is a hot plate service for both breakfast and dinner.

The rooms were a good size and the hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly. There is also reasonable evening entertainment provided by the hotel. The hotel gardens are lovely and if the pool becomes too noisy there are some lovely quiet areas you can find to relax on a sun lounger.

The hotel is reasonably situated and you are able to walk to the sand dunes or playa del ingles centre within 10 minutes.

Lunch is easy to find in the many bars and restaurants in playa del ingles/maspolomas.

The weather was excellent but take insect repellent and the mosquitos/sand flies can bite later in the evening if you are outside.

Nice place to holiday.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, VA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

This is a great hotel. It is located in the heart of the tourist area and all the events are within walking distance. The hotel was very clean and the staff was VERY pleasant and helpful. They are also very well informed as to what to do while you on the islands. I highly, highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to the islands that wants to be near a lot of activities. The breakfast buffet is top notch as well.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

We stayed at the Catarina for the Maspalomas pride celebrations after reading reviews on trip advisor. Had never been to Gran Canaria before and had feared that the hotels would be tacky and poor quality from what I had heard. However the Catarina is a lovely hotel where the staff are helpful, the gardens and pools provide a pleasingly aesthetic backdrop to the balcony which led into a really spacious and comfortable hotel room.
The pros: Great location as it is far enough from the nightlife that it isn't interrupting your beauty sleep but near enough to walk to.
Also the beach and dunes are really nearby. The dunes are a spectacular sight and there is a lovely walk you can take around the coastline.
The breakfast is amazing. I don't think there was anything they didn't have on offer.
The pools and gardens really are gorgeous.
The pride parade went right outside the hotel, our friends staying elsewhere were v jealous of this.
Staff are lovely and helpful.
The cons: No wifi but i found out on the last day you can pay for internet that covers all of gran canaria for a week if you wish.
The tv only shows bbc world news in English which is great if you need to know about rainforest conservation and the political state of Thailand but pretty useless if you need ash cloud updates about your flight home!
Worse than that you had to pay for Sky news which i think is unreasonable.

Would stay here again and would recommend it especially on hearing horror stories from friends staying in cheaper hotels on the island having cockroaches scurrying around their bedrooms! And a final note.. what's with all the xenophobia about the Germans?! We didn't care what nationalities were staying. There was none of that reserving the sunbeds malarky as the hotel had a policy to remove your towels if you did. There was plenty of space for everyone which I also thought was a great.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

big rooms, very clean, and nice buffet every evening. Very welcoming staff and very nice garden with beautiful flowers (an exception on this island!!!) Very good location, just 30 meters away from maspalomas dunes (gorgeous! and go to the seaside there, even if 20 minutes by foot, it's really worth it!) and quiet area - nothing to compare with the touristic absurdity of playa del ingles

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

This is my first ever review on trip advisor, and thought I should leave a review on this hotel as I swear by this forum. This hotel is excellent in every aspect. This was our first holiday abroad with our 2 year old daughter. The hotel is so clean and the grounds are beautifully maintained, the pools and public areas are clean. The staff were the friendliest i have ever encountered when abroad, nothing was too much trouble. The food was great with lots of choice and very little repeatition (unless you wanted it), show cooking every evening and fresh made smoothies for breakfast...yummy. The pools - there are 2 main pools plus 3 small jacuzzi pools and a kids pool with a slide, plenty of room and certainly not too small. In response to some of the reviews...yes there were a lot of germans (90% of the hotel)...but they were so friendly. The playground was great and well maintained. The only improvement I would recommend to the hotel is perhaps new matresses on the beds as they were abit bumpy...but I still managed to sleep well! If you want more info pls contact me. As I said this hotel is one of the best 4* hotels I have stayed in and I would have no hesitation in going back, recommending to my family and recommending to people with a young family!. Oh PS we went with Thomas cook and the planes were tiny, check in was slower than slow, excursions were stupidly priced (catch the local buses which are excellent and only about 1.20 euro ) on the way back on the plane had to wait 2 hours to get a drink from the canbin crew...because they were so slow.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

just arrived back from a weeks stay at the catarina, we arrived about 9pm and had just missed evening meal but a meat salad rolls and drink had been put on for us, room was spacious clean and over looked the lovely gardens very pleased, breakfast was plentyful,evening meal plenty of choice and variety, staff very friendly and happy to help,george from the animation team very friendly, out and about, short walk to sand dunes dont be fooled by the sun not being out you can still get burnt, booked 2 trips threw the rep the blanket trip which was free i would recommend this and the other was the market that was ok but we thought it a bit expensive at night plenty of pubs at the yumbo centre,we were there when the carnival was on very entertaining night clubs if you want them.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to IFA Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#17 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your IFA Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Catarina Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IFA Catarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.