We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year in the Sun” 3 of 5 stars
Review of IFA Catarina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added IFA Catarina to your Saves list
IFA Catarina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Wakefield
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“New Year in the Sun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Clean Hotel, CITA centre just across the road on the right hand side. Yumbo about 15mins walk, KASBAH a little further. Sand Dunes just at the bottom of the street, nudist walking around in full view of people walking across them.
All inclusive finishes at 11p.m then you have to pay, Madison Bar should close at 10p.m but was closed early by about 9.45p.m each evening even though it was really busy, we found this very frustrating as we liked to use this bar on an evening!! The rooms were big and spacious, we were lucky to get a pool view. The satellite TV has sky news and BBC news 24. Food is quite good. We found the beds very hard and never once got a good nights sleep. Checkout is 12.00 lunchtime, the maid came into our room early and I pointed out that we still had half an hour, she carried on regardless of us being there!! Entertainment staff work very hard and do a great job. The bars outside of the hotel on the main streets are very quiet and struugle to get custom, this is because most of the clients are "all inclusive" . There is a free bus to the beach, its worth using as its always on time and has a regular service. New Years Eve was OK, there was entertainment round the pool. Weather was excellent. If you like shopping then I would head for the "lighthouse" about 6 euros in a Taxi, there is an abundance of designer shops/shopping centre with outlets to suit all pockets.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thanks for sharing your review and many thanks for taking your time for your comment. We are very happy you had enjoyed not only the sun also the friendliness of our staff.
We have read your comment on the room maid and we already took action on that.
We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you a nice time.
With sunny regards and hasta `pronto...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    389
    153
    40
    23
See reviews for
256
434
46
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

i think this hotel was excellent value for money all inclusive and the food well there was just to much to choose from and me supposed to be watching my weight very very good there was a show every night of some sort or another or just click a finger and a waiter would bring more drinks as ive said very very good

Room Tip: our room was 400 or so and was some distance from the facilities but what the hell we were on holid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your review and thanks for the time taken to write your experience. We are very happy you had enjoyed our X-stmas time specially the nice weather. We hope to welcome you again in this year and remain,
with "sunny" regards and hasta pronto...
Enrique Giersberg,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here from 23 to 30 December. Went with an open mind after reading previous Trip Advisor reviews. Check in was very quick and we were soon on our way to our room which was on the 3rd floor quite a way down the corridors but lovely and quiet and overlooked the gardens and distant views of the sand dunes. The room was very spacious but as a lot of people have said previousdly the beds were awful - very very firm like sleeping on a board and we both found we did not sleep well during our 7 nights stay. There was always plenty of hot water and shower gel is provided. The whole hotel is kept spotlessly clean and the staff are all very pleasant.

Food is varied and plentiful and although it is a bit repetitive we always found something different to eat but sometimes at peak periods it was difficult to find a free table. The Christmas Day buffet was very good with all the staff getting in the festive spirit.

All inclusive cocktails were a big let down with only three being available for AI guests and one of these was only available from the poolside bar. We found it strange that all evening entertainment (with the exception of one night) was by the poolside with quite limited seating which meant if you were late getting down after your evening meal there was no seats left and it got very chilly in the evening so you had to sit with a coat or jacket on which was a shame. The bar upstairs next to the reception was open but closed promptly at 10 o'clock and the only place then to get a drink was downstairs in the pool bar.

All in all we enjoyed our stay at the Catarina but a week was long enough for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience and thanks for spending your time for the large and detailed comment. We are very happy you enjoyed the stay and we do hope to welcome you again this year at the IFA Catarina.
With best regards and hasta pronto...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in November. Clean hotel, with plenty of food to choose from. As other reviewers mentioned the bar not opening til 11am even for water is a pain, and the bar in reception closed at 10pm, which meant going outside by the pool if you wanted to drink on the all inclusive till 11, which seemed odd. We had no problems during our stay and enjoyed our holiday. We wouldn't return to this hotel as we have stayed at better, however would still recommend it as everyone had different expectations of a holiday. Animation team work very hard to get everyone to join in, but are not pushy. Evening entertainment was ok, seen worse! Fashion show is more suited to around the pool at lunchtime, as we have seen at other hotels... not the evening entertainment. The sun does not come round into the grounds of the hotel until at least 11 in November, so if you are a sun worshiper, you'll need to head to the beach, which is not far and €7.50 for two loungers and a parasol. All in all, a good hotel, not far from yumbo centre nor the beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for your review and thanks for spending the time to write it. We are glad you had enjoyed your holiday and we had read your comment on the opening times and we do have next to the pool bar a indoor bar where you could sit inside after 10.00 pm.
We thanks also for your recommendation and hope you still keep Gran Canaria as a destination for your next holidays.
With sunny regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was generally great for a holiday, maybe not quite a 4* but a very pleasant stay. Beds and rooms were fine, only complaint there is that our balcony door was broken on arrival and noone ever came to fix it after we reported it. This resulted in wind in the room during a storm! The food had a good selection and was of good quality. I'm quite fussy and even I had plenty to eat! All the waiters and bar staff were very friendly. Ice creams were available in the afternoon next to the pool. The pool bar did food which finished at 1.30, a few times we didn't realise the time and had to move to the restaurant, it didn't really need to close that early. One major annoyance was that the bar did not open until 11am, even for bottles of water. Waking up sick one morning my friend tried to explain to the bar staff that she needed a bottle of water for me, however we were told no, the bar was shut. Especially in a hot country people need water, simple! The animation team were very friendly and helpful, trying to include everyone but not being annoying to those not interested. The evening entertainment was lacking, with the in house singer repeating the same songs a few times a night, every night. The parrot show lasted 20mins, then they just tried to sell you a photo for €20! The fashion show was also a bit rubbish, not what you'd expect for a 4*. Everything was over by 11- after that head to the yumba centre, rickys cabaret bar was awesome! The kasbah centre is all the straight clubs, with lots of touts trying to drag you into everywhere. Good for a dance tho. The hotel in general had lots of older people (retired age), lots of nationalities but mainly German. I think this was the case everywhere this time of year, but is something to consider if you want to meet lots of other young people. Plenty of sunloungers, although you were too close to whoever was next to you, the loungers were packed in tight. The hotel is spread long and thin, a fair walk from end to end. This was fine for us, however it would be good if reception advised everyone of the no flipflop rule on check in to avoid the forward and back trek to the rooms on night 1. This rule appeared to be applied more loosely later on, annoying as my friend only had heels and flipflops and felt uncomfortable in heels every night., but didn't want to risk being turned back. The rule needs to either be applied to everyone all the time, or scrapped. Similarly, the price leaflet in the rooms does not mention the deposit, meaning we had to go back to the room for further money. In my opinion, a 4* hotel should not be charging extra for towels and a safe, these are fairly standard items. The dunes are definitely worth a visit, and the moonlight cinema was awesome.! Overall a great hotel which only needs a few tweaks :-)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We thank for sharing your experience and thanks for the time taken for the detailed comment. We are happy you had a good time all over. It is very important you read all information you get at check-in to make your stay enjoyable.
Gran Canaria is a destination for all Europeans and indeed in the winter time you'll find more retired guests from all countries.
We hope to welcome again and wish you and you family a happy new year.
With best $ sunny regards,

Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Overall the hotel was OK, I stayed there with my nine year old on all-inclusive basis through Thomson holidays.

The holiday rep was excellent and the rooms spacious and clean. The sand dunes are 5 mins away but it is a slightly quiet area.

The staff were helpful, the WiFi was also usable but compared to an Iberostar we stayed in last year, it was not quite as good. The hotel does need an update as there are signs of wear and tear.

The all inclusive bar was slightly limited and did close at 11pm. Food was good if a little limited.

Overall it did what it said on the tin (and no more).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thanks for your review and thanks for your review regarding your stay in July 2013. We thanks for the time taken and we are sorry that your experience wasn't that satisfactory. Many things changed as you can observer from other comments and we hope you give us the chance to show you our best perfomance.
We would like to wish you and your family a happy new year full of health ans prosperity.
With best ~sunny regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Just back from an all inclusive break here. Its a great hotel. Food was fab. Amazing gala dinner on Christmas day. Every staff member I met with from reception, waiting / bar entertainment staff were all so friendly and helpful.

Rooms were spotless.

This was a break for my 79 old Mother. Shes talked about the hotel non stop!

Room Tip: Quite rooms overlook the gardens 4th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
We are realy happy you and your mother had a nice X-Stmas break and we hope, the memories will last for your mother long, long.
We would like to welcome you again next year and want to take the chance to wish you and all your family a happy new year full of health and love.
With best and sunny regards and hasta la vista...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to IFA Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#10 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina 4*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your IFA Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Catarina Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IFA Catarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.