We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday in the sun hotel ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of IFA Catarina

Save Saved
You added IFA Catarina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
IFA Catarina
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 139 hotels in Playa del Ingles
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great holiday in the sun hotel ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks room only, nice hotel but beds very hard, would put us off staying again, was rather concerned someone went in our room one evening and left a half drank bottel of water amd some chesse very strange,we told the staff at reception, but never had any feed back on this matter not very good , also our door was left open one day after being cleaned, we asked the lady that did our room the next day but she said our room was not done on that day strange that as our bed got made that day, also found man on reception very rude, we payed for breakfast on a cpl off morning very nice, pool and gardens nice, over all good holiday, but please sort them beds out big let down for a 4* hotel

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for your review and many thanks for your comment and we are very concerned about the incidences you had during your stay. We are glad you enjoyed it and we will send you private message for getting closer to the facts.
We wish you a nice time and we would like to get another chance to warmly welcome you at th IFA Catarina.
With best & "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

909 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    367
    355
    126
    37
    24
See reviews for
218
360
38
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Just got back from our second stay and we will definitely be coming back next October and so hope we get to see one of the hotels greatest assets – the same staff. So many people from all areas from reception, bar, in the restaurant right through to the cleaners are so polite, cheerful and happy to help at all times. We saw a number of staff that we remembered from last year and they make you so welcome and it was great when we saw a couple of them off site when they had finished work and they recognised us and were just as cheerful and polite to us then. The rooms are superb and a very good size, the food and drinks are superb and we know when we book all inclusive what will be available and it is more than adequate. We went to the beach quite often and the staff provided us with pack lunches and these were always well put together with ample for two people. We used the roof terrace for the all over tan quite often which is a great facility, if financially possible it would be great to see an extra roof section fitted out in the same way as this was very popular and we could not always get a bed which is testament to how popular this has become. The location of the hotel just adds to holiday, two minutes and walking through the dunes, five minutes from the CITA and fifteen minute stroll from the Yumbo. The gardens mean you can have a quite area away from the pool if that’s what you want and they are so well kept it’s a pleasure just to walk around them. We have stayed at many very good hotels and places and this is the only one when we have come home we have said, we need to book again as in our opinion it really is – simply the best.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at hotel to find my room booking had been cancelled by my booking agent, the hotel reception staff were fantastic and sorted a room never the less with no fuss or hassle. The rooms are large very clean and tidy. Breakfast is great, so much choice, fresh and if some what unusual ( fish balls!). I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Gran Canaria.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and thanks for your great comment. We are sorry about your booking and we are very glad you had enjoyed your stay as booked and our Reception Staff could make it...
We wish to welcome you again to the IFA Catarina for comming season and don't forget to mention your favourite room once booked.
With best regards and hasta pronto...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Where to start, the rooms are spacious, loads of cupboard space and coat hangers. Slightly dated but you don't spend your holiday in a room. The hair dryer did not work well. But saying all that it was a very large a comfortable room. The reception people were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you, I lost my card to get into the room and restaurant, and it was no problem they gave me a new one - no charge. The pool was always clean and there was always sun beds through out the day available. The entertainment staff were always friendly and gave us loads to laugh about, they were very good, entertainment was very good for a family hotel. The drinks were good whether alcoholic or not, and they did a wicked hot chocolate.
The food was sooo good, best food I think I have had in a hotel abroad.
Breakfast was all kinds of eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, rolls, bread , jams,cereals, cold meat, cheese, porridge , fresh fruit smoothes, they even had churros and hot chocolate..yummy.
Lunch was always good lots of cold salads sect, hot meats, pasta, chip always a good selection.
Dinner loads of different meats, carvery of one day lamb another day pork another day roast beef, all help yourself to how much you wanted. Chicken and fish dishes, chips, pasta, rice, vegetables. There was so much to choose from and they never ran out, lots of sweet dishes, different flavoured ice creams, custard, fruit.
There was an electric board in the hotel lobby that gave you loads of information of shops, where to eat outside, and things that where happening every day, we went to a great market, it was near a large shopping centre, a long way to walk but about 4 euros in cab fare.
The sea was quite a long walk but the dunes were beautiful, it was also not crowded,
All in all we had a really good holiday, thank you Hotel Catarina

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Many thanks for sharing your experience at the IFA Catarina and thanks for your great comment. It is motivating and we forwarded to all head of department.
We are very happy you had enjoyed your stay specially our food as well as our hard working animation team.
We hope to welcome you soon again comming season and remain
with best "sunny" regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This was our first visit to Grand Canaria and we we not disappointed. if I had to pick one thing that we loved about this nice hotel it would be the friendliness of the staff. The dining arrangements were comparable to a cruise. One could eat for most of the day if you were so inclined. The entertainments staff were great as were the evening shows. We will certainly stay at this location and hotel again. We selected this hotel from this web site so I hope this review will assist you in having a great holiday.

Room Tip: Take the all inclusive deal if you like a drink. It is really good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We are very pleased you had a wonderful vacation at your first time in Gran Canaria and we thanks for your review.
We hope to welcome you again and we wish you a nice time.
With best & sunny regards and hasta la vista...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Just returned today from this hotel, have to say it has a good entertainment team but apart from that we were sorely disappointed . As others have said the beds are rock hard and the pillows are like slices of foam, so uncomfortable..... Reception staff were friendly, bar staff some good some not, worse member of staff that we came across was the young girl with glasses in the ice cream / coffee room!! She blanked me totally when I said ola to her ,and then looked to the lady behind me and asked if she wanted an icecream, even though I was first before this lady in the queue, I don't know what I'd done but she really didn't want to serve me, so I left as I couldn't be bothered to beg to be served. The all inclusive is a joke, and a money spinner for them, we arrived after 11pm and so if we wanted a drink be it tea coffee or alcohol ,we had to pay!! Again!! There a.i runs from 11am to 11pm, so if you have breakfast early,say 8am you can't then have a drink using your a.i until 3 hours later, disgusting when you have paid all that money up front.... Meals are very repetitive, bolognese most nights, and just the same old stuff all the time, carrots with peppers for breakfast, boiled sausages and lots of flies in and around the food. Very limited drinks on the a.i and although reading this you might not think so ,but we are easily pleased. Cakes are the same selection day in and day out, and if you go in the icecream room the nicer cakes on display are chargeable, so yet again the a.i. Is a waste of time, pool is a nice area and plenty of sun beds for all. But when they do the entertainment there at night unless your early there's not a chair to be had, and if you do get a chair be ready to passive smoke for as long as you sit there. The air conditioning was useless and didn't do anything, and on our last morning when you return your key card they take the a.i. Band off your wrist and so yet again you are forced to pay even more money for food and drinks from noon until you leave (we left at 8.30 that night) so that we felt was very unfair. We had two cockroaches over the course of the week, but the cleaning lady worked very hard, and I guess you can't always stop them getting in. Sorry seems a harsh review but we paid a lot of money for our holiday, and for a 4 star hotel it really is lacking is the things that make a holiday special.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thanks for taking your time to write your review and we are very sorry you did not have your exected holiday.
We try to fulfill most of our guest wishes and as you can observe other reviews we can fulfill most of the wishes.
It is important to read all information you have at booking of your travel agancy as well of our web page. Our All.In service starts at 1.00 am finishing at 11.00 pm. Your check out time is 12 noon according the contacting terms. For additional information we recommend to contact your agency.
We wish you a nice time and remain,
with best regards,
Enrique Giersberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very clean and well presented hotel. The staff are friendly and hardworking. Lots of choice for food but may get repetitive if staying longer than a week. The rooms are spotless and cleaned everyday. Lots of activities to do during the day and the animation team work VERY hard and are fantastic with the children. Always enthusiastic and friendly with everyone. The entertainment is fairly good in the evenings but need to get there early to ensure you get a table. Table service for drinks in the evening is great too. Hotel in good location, couple of minutes walk to beach and 10 minute walk to yumbo centre. Overall a really nice holiday, would probably not return as I don't usually return to same hotels/holidays but would recommend this hotel for everyone with children or without!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
egiersbergICA, Manager at IFA Catarina, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience and thanks for taking the time for your review. We are happy you had a wonderful holidays we thanks also for recommending the place for families with or without children.
We woul be glad to welcome you again at the IFA Catarina and wish you a nice time.
With best regards and hasta pronto...
Enrique Giersberg
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to IFA Catarina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IFA Catarina

Address: Avenida de Tirajana 1, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#18 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — IFA Catarina 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your IFA Catarina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ifa Catarina Hotel Playa Del Ingles
IFA Catarina Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IFA Catarina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.