We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING APARTMENTS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Ficus

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Los Ficus to your Saves list
Los Ficus
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Italia 17, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING APARTMENTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed at los Ficus early part of December 2013. Booking through "On the Beach" Online holiday company. I was EXTREMELY apprehensive and worried about booking our package separately and not having a tour operator to look after us if things went wrong. However from all my doubts I was actually very surprised that everything was perfect. We booked a Twin 1 bedroom apartment. When we arrived at Playa Del ingles with our excursion, we was the first to be dropped off, Los Ficus was right by the beach, which was a few metres away, lovely! We was welcomed by friendly reception staff upon arrival. When we arrived at our apartment, It was HUGE. with 2 twin separate rooms, a separate bathroom and VERY modern Kitchen with so much modern equipment we could ever wish for, also including a Breakfast bar. Living space with huge couch, TV and balcony. The apartment would of happily accommodated 6 people easily. It was bigger than my friends apartments I have seen back home, bonus considering we only booked 1 bedroom apartment, The staff were more than happy to help throughout our stay, Engaging in conversation, organising trips and car rental etc. The complex was very quiet, no noise or trouble at all, Very peaceful even though it was packed with guests. Weather was a bit touch and go the first two days, But was very hot the last five days, reaching up to 26-27 Degrees most days, Nice sun Kissed tan. As we booked separately I had to use Trip advisor to research some of the accommodation, and this was the best hotel that OTB was offering for our price range compared to the others. I would 100% go back to Los Ficus on my 4th trip to Gran Canaria, Very impressed. and I don't usually leave reviews on my trips anywhere, but I just had to, They deserve it!!! YOU MUST STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    24
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
25
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We stayed here for a week. The apartments themselves are basic but clean and well equipped. The staff are friendly and helpful and the location is great as it's a 10 minute walk from the beach and a stones throw from numerous bars and restaurants.

The pool is very poor and not a place you would be enticed to relax. The tv (which is nice to watch a movie on a quiet night or if you have kids) has no English channels but a simple offering of a DVD player would solve this issue.

There is a safe facility available for €14 a week with a €15 deposit which is the norm. Wifi is €20 for the week but is very poor reception so you have to keep reconnecting your device and can't stream etc so if you don't need it do without it!

All in all you get what you pay for and it's relatively good value.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed here for 2 weeks in August 2013 with my young family, these apartments are great, very clean ,modern and a good space. Excellent location close to beach, shops etc, staff were very helpful. Overall we had a great holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with friends for a week in may. The grounds are well kept rooms are in good condition & cleaners were in daily. Staff were friendly & helpful. We were lucky enough to be here when it was quiet so we had the pool to ourselves. Would highly recommend these apartments

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends 25th May to 1 June 2013. The apartments are perfect location wise and for what we paid, ideal.

The grounds are immaculate as are the apartments.

The only complaint I would have was that the sunloungers are very uncomfortable and could do with a good clean. It was the beginning of the season when we were there and it wasnt too busy so we had the run of the place. The reception staff are fine, perfectly pleasant.

The kitchens have lots of equipment for self catering and there are lots of supermarkets nearby.

I would recommend this apartment. If you are expecting 4/5 star pay a bit more! You wont be disappointed, you get what you pay for and more at Los Ficus.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we stayed here for 9 days during the xmas period ,only coz we couldnt get in anywhere else !the living area was very small as was the balcony ,nice views of the mountains just a shame it was windy and couldnt really sit out on it (great to get ya washin dry)its always windy in the canaries but usually the balconies are posisioned so you are not in the wind!the room was well equiped with good kitchen utensils !the pool are was not brill didnt use it neither did i see anyone else ,!the room was clean ,the staff in reception were fine ,no english channels on tv !they seem to have a problem all over the canaries with internet connection and english tv!i know we dont go on hols for to watch tv but we were there for a month so a little bit of tv would of been good although so glad we didnt stay here for the whole time!it was a bit like a residential home for the elderly!there was no bar and no cafe would not stay here again!i dont know what it was but this place was the most unatmospheric place ive EVER stayed in!

Room Tip: stay on ground floor if u must stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed in November for three weeks, and loved the place.It was nice and clean with a well equipped Kitchen which had a massive Fridge/Freezer.Definitely going back because the location is good for shopping centre Kasbah,and Yumbo.Five mins to beach,but main beach 10-15 min Stroll and maspalomas beach about 25mins if you go past yumbo centre towards Riu palace hotel.Eating out we found best was Red Onion just over road next to Hiper Dino supermarket.Massive portions,good service and choice of fish,meat and local tapas.The reception is run by a Swiss lady and her husband who speak fluent english and german and were really nice and friendly.Can book direct,but because of exchange rates not much saving unless you get 2 bed apartment and go with friends/family.Definitely reccomended!!

Room Tip: ask for 3rd or 4th floor as ground floor 1 bed go straight onto pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Los Ficus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Ficus

Address: Avenida Italia 17, 35100 Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 137 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Los Ficus 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Los Ficus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Ficus Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Los Ficus Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Ficus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.