We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but not relaxing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa to your Saves list
Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa
Avda de Gran Canaria 48, Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 139 Hotels in Playa del Ingles
Jessheim, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but not relaxing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The first impression of the hotel is very good, but if you are looking for a relaxing holiday pay attention to this:
The beds are extremely hard and not ment for a comfortable sleep. Ask for an extra soft top- mattress, that will help a lot.
The cleaning staff starts to clean (read: rebuild) the rooms at approx 8.00 am every day = no more time to sleep due to extremely much noise from the cleaning staff.
Remember that old concrete blocks do not insulate sound, so be prepared on a lot of sounds from the nearby rooms. It also feels like the doors are made of card board.
The Hotel offer all inclusive !! Which means that a lot of guests will take the advantage of an open bar, and therefore expect a lot of noisy persons in the evenings – especially from outside evening smokers.
No kids present at the hotel, but remember adults can also be annoying.

The positive:
Very clean rooms and area. Highly service minded staff and a very good restaurant. The food was excellent.
Nice location, not too close to the highway and main city street.
Very nice pool area, and almost always sun beds available.

Room Tip: Make sure you do NOT get a room close to the elevator. The elevator has a bell which ring every tim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    176
    41
    7
    2
See reviews for
32
291
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

What can I say – 1st Class Hotel from the moment we walked through the doors!

Quick hassle free check in – arrived in the middle of the night to be shown to our room. Plated meal in the fridge which could have been heated in the microwave. Only downside – a bottle of water would have been nice to have had a coffee or even a glass of water! Because of the liquid restrictions at Airports, none of us had water or anything in our bags! Room spotless/well equipped. There were three of us so we had a bedroom and a double sofa bed. (Although there were mattress toppers in the beds in the bedroom – sofa bed by far the most comfortable – very good quality, sturdy and easy to put in and out.) Bathrobes and slippers also sitting on each bed (nice touch) Fabulous double shower! Air Conditioned rooms – excellent – but you need to keep a card in the electric slot during the day (any card works) and patio doors must be shut tight or it turns off!

Food – excellent!

Breakfast – extensive range of juices/cereal/cold cuts/cheese/yogurt/eggs (scrambled, fried or poached)/bacon/beans/piped potato/tomato/frankfurters etc etc. It was also possible to ask for a freshly made omelette of your choice. Tea/coffee served to the table. Range of breads from croissants to multigrain.

Lunch – again, a great selection – fish/pasta dishes/pizza (to die for!!!) / chips / chicken /chops etc and also a wide choice of salad / cold cuts / cheese / fruit / dessert.

Dinner – a more extensive range of the Lunch menu. Examples – Sirloin Steak on Sundays with peppered sauce/baked potato and onion rings – best we ever tasted!!! Always a great selection (including a roast of meat / pasta / maybe 2 types of fish / paella / chicken/ rice dishes / various potato dishes) I could go on and on and on………

All needs catered for – anyone who would complain about the food could not be pleased anywhere. Breakfast finished at 10.30am – on morning I arrived at 10.20am to find they were still replenishing the cooked selection.

Anyone who could be hungry after all that could go to the shop by the pool and get freshly made baguettes, sandwiches and salads free of charge (for all inclusive guests) If you were going out for the day a packed lunch was available and it was amazing!

All drinks during the day were also obtained from the shop – beer/soft drinks and tea/coffee self service, and wines and other alcoholic drinks were served by the
staff………..

The main bar opened at 5.30pm and closed at 11.30pm for all inclusive guests (although drinks could be purchased until 1am)

A very special mention for Toni in the bar – he was an absolute treasure! His cocktails were superb. My favourite (after sampling quite a few…) was the Cosmopolitan although the Strawberry Daiquiri’s were very good too. Nights Toni was off were not the same in the Bar!!! Entertainment was adequate – apparently restrictions are in place due to residential accommodation nearby. Usually just a singer, sometimes a 2 piece (a few nights an Irish guy played and he was excellent) Bar could get very warm at night but we were in a heatwave – one morning it was 47 degrees at the beach! (A small hand fan was a good investment) Plenty of entertainment at the close by Yumbo – if that’s your thing.

Every member of staff from the cleaners to management were lovely and only too keen to please. Towels and beds changed every day if that’s what you wanted – you choose! Maid Service excellent.

As this was an adult only hotel – the peace and quiet was bliss – especially at the pool – one pool was allocated for lilos and games for the “older children” LOL. If you’re looking for anything other than a quiet relaxing holiday then this is not the place for you (and if relaxation is your thing – look no further)

A great mix of nationalities – Irish/British/German/Dutch/Spanish, all very friendly – we made some great friends during our 2 week stay.

Will return here for sure – pricing for next year already!

Room Tip: Ground floor - pool view was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangefni, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

waw what a lovely hotel!!!! me and my fiance booked this hotel as its a adult only hotel wich was GREAT!!! noo screaming babys! heaven!! ... stayed here september 3rd untill the 14th! weather very hot! :) 28degrees maby more every day! 4 pools the best 1 was the coral beach 1 lovely ur own beach at the hotel!!!! we went all inclusive and the food was lovely plenty of choices fresh salads fresh fruits u named it it was their! even the meat was nice and im not keen on the meats abroad and it was lovely! worth going all inclusive! hotel was very clean rooms were cleaned every day clean towels given daily! only down side of the hotel is the enterteinment as im 21 and my fiance is 25 it was a bit boring a man in his 40s maby older on the guitar every night since we were their singing the same songs -.- ... But saying that we still had a fab time sitting at the bar wich was very posh! (lounge bar) ffantastic!!! the staff are friendly havnt stayed in a hotel were the staff are so kind to you and very helpfull!!! tomi the spanish bar man!! hillerious!!! had such fun with him!! ... Strawberry daiquri (not sure if that how u spell it) Lovely!! must try it!! ... beach is about 25mins walk from the hotel ,, free card to get from the reception for the bus to take you to the beach the bus picks you up out side the hotel! ,,, lovely beach noo rocks! :D kasbah is about 15mins walk from the hotel but we got the taxi 3euros :) not bad! kasbah is a bit rough but we enjoyed the irish bar murphys bar !! :) all in all sunprime was ffantastic enjoyed every minute of stayin their!and i seriously cant wait to return back september 2013 :D :D best holiday yet!! :D

Room Tip: we had the room 232 was ffantastic studio room big clean and lovely views massiv balcony! overlookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent our honeymoon at this hotel in May 2012 for 11 nights. Can't fault it. The place was kept spotless, staff were so helpful and friendly and food was great. There were always taxis waiting outside to take you wherever you wanted to go and were so cheap. We would definitely recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just returned from a week break which was fab!
Firstly if your looking for a week away time to relax with nice weather and relaxing atmosphere then this is the ideal place but if you are looking for a party week this is not the place. We went all inclusive which was fine there is a lot of choice everyday had fresh salad fresh fruit all very clean and the staff was friendly.
The rooms were very clean and cleaned everyday and the beds made daily and clean towels.
The hotel is about 20 min drive from airport and we got a private taxi. There is a bus to the beach daily which is free it takes about 5-10mins to the beach which is lovely with lots of places to eat and drink.
In the evening the entertainment can be bait boring x but there is a tv and pool table and of course loads of cocktails which are fab.
Overall would I go back defo x nice a relaxing clean and friendly staff and nice food.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

First holiday and i think your always worried when youve not been anywhere but i knew we had made the right choice from the second i saw the place. Clean, imaculate and modern. The staff were friendly, spoke fluent english and german and answered any question you asked with a smile. The pool side areas are great and there are enough loungers for everyone, no need to rush in the morning to put your towels out. We went all inclusive and i was a bit scepticle about what the food would be like. Althought its not a buffet for fussy food eaters, the food quality was really good and well prepared. The only downside to choosing this hotel is that there is little in the way of entertainment (unless you enjoy someone who plays a keyboard or guitar everynight). However it is only a 10 minute walk to the main Yumbo centre. Do not let the lack of entertainment put you off! I would very much recommend this hotel to anyone old or young and will definetly be returning there again, all inclusive or self catering.

Room Tip: All rooms get the sun at some point during the day, the bottom floors are addapted for disabled gues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We our just back from an amazing week at the subprime.The hotel is what made our holiday such a great experience.Playa del ingles area is not in anyway"buzzing"it's a very quiet area and from what we where told a lot of clubs and bars had lost their licence.we got a taxi to the next resort maspalomas here was busy enough bars, places to eat and popular high street shops.maspalomas has a board walk you can stroll down and from the hotel it's around 5 euros. Hotel pools where kept very clean, rooms where Massive ,very clean and comfy.i visited the hotels spa and having my own salon back home I'd say it's pricy but worth it.We went all inclusive for the week it was £580 each but we took full advantage of drinks and food and I have never had nicer food we couldn't fault it.we done two boat trips the supercat which was a fantastic day best day of my whole holiday 49 euros each and drink as much as u want and they served a beautiful lunch the other trip wasn't as good we done a trip to the Morgan markets on the friday it's there Friday markets the boat to get us there was the worst experience such choppy waters on a tiny boat, neArly everyone on this tiny boat was very ill and the markets where crap nothing there at all except junk.in all a brilliant stay at sunprime very relaxing and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa

Address: Avda de Gran Canaria 48, Playa del Ingles, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Playa del Ingles
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Playa del Ingles
#9 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Ingles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 236
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunprime Atlantic View Suites And Spa
Sunprime Atlantic View Hotel Playa Del Ingles
Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa Playa Del Ingles, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunprime Atlantic View Suites & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.