We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Costa Canaria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Costa Canaria to your Saves list
Hotel Costa Canaria
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ Retamas 1, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about this hotel is perfect for me. Loved the sunbed reservation system, although there were plenty of beds around the pools and in the gardens it was good to know your preferred area was reserved for your whole stay. The spa was excellent, had a massage on the massage bed every day! Towels for pool, spa and sun beds readily available and changed as frequently as required. We emailed the hotel with a couple of requests beforehand and the requests were carried out.

All the public areas were immaculate. All the staff were polite and friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The evening entertainment was varied with resident organist and 'bought in' entertainers every night.

The drinks were all branded makes and the waiters served you, no queuing at the bar!!

The gym had state of the art equipment and although we didn't use it the rooftop solarium was beautiful.
Free wifi throughout the hotel.
The room was large with plenty of storage and cleaned to a high standard every day.

Although there were a group of SAGA holidaymakers there were also lots of younger couples.

Overall an excellent holiday, so good we have already booked a return trip!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
44
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel because it was Iberostar, it was adults only & it was right on the promenade. It is no longer Iberostar but it was still very good & in a quiet area, still adults only. The staff were friendly & polite & I must mention the Saga rep who was very helpful in getting our room safe to work even though we were not with Saga. Our room was very good, nice & quiet with seaview (room 701), the restaurant was large but spreadout with no problem getting a table for 2. The food was the only downside, the quality being only average & the choice of main course being quite restrictive. The pool area is excellent with 2 pools 1 of which was heated. The sun bed system is good although some people did move from one to another because there were plenty of spare ones, possibly due to average age of residents & this may not be the case in peak season. There is free wifi throughout & a solarium & spa although we didn't use those because the weather was so good. The promenade is at the bottom of the hotel gardens & stretch to Playa del Ingles, just right to walk off your breakfast. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel & we took a trip to Puerto Rico, about 45 mins along the coast. From there we walked round the headland to the next bay. Both were very pleasant, a possible destination for next year.

Room Tip: 701 was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I really nice hotel in an quiet upmarket area. The facilities are excellent. The pool is heated and shock free on entry! The gardens are large with beautiful flower beds. The dining room is spacious, food is generally good but as a lover of fish I was disappointed to find 'filleted' fish full of bones. The hotel rooms are newly refurnished and comfortable if quite simple
Staff are very, very helpful. Entertainment also very good, particularly the two gymnastic type performances that were organised for the week.The hotel is on the beach but this is rather uninviting with grey/black sand

There are possibly 'better' hotels in the Melonomas/Masaplomas area but this hotel was peaceful and demonstrated quality and care.

If you do book a holiday you MUST hire a car and drive into the green mountainous area, wild flowers, trees and beautiful views.(Californiaesque) . Also walk along the beach (With 1000 others !) from Playa Inglies to the lighthouse at Maspalomas .... lovely.

Avoid Playa Inglies if you can, rather ugly.

Room Tip: Beach/pool view, higher the better. These are south facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A great stay at Costa Canaria. Cannot find anything to complain about. very clean and quiet with no kids!! Bucks Fizz for brekky and great branded drinks in the bar. Very good measures too. Staff are great, not in your face like some places with macho waiters swanning about hoping for tips.
The sunbed system is the best we've experienced where you can choose your own sunbed for the whole stay. Not a german towel in sight!
The entertainment is on every night with a good mix of music, and by gum can those oldies move it. The place comes alive until 11.00pm.
At meal times we liked the idea that there are only two places set at each table so you are not forced to sit and eat with strangers, brilliant.
Gardens and pool are lovely.
Will definitely be going back. By the way we are in our sixties and have seen more get up and go at this hotel than we have seen at hotels with much younger clientele who sit clutching their drinks all night and deserted dance floors.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

This hotel is for the ELDERLY. It says adults only but what it really means is retirement home. All the amenities in the hotel close early to adapt to its average guests (grandmas and grandpa schedule). The facilities are nice (the pool, spa, and tanning deck) and the rooms are nice, however the food is INEDIBLE. There are two places to eat the restaurant and a pool cabana, however it is the exact same food. The food sits out for hours at a time, and within in two meals we found hair and a bug in our food on different nights. The hotel is also very open to nudity if thats your thing, however everyone gets nude no matter the age. If you are elderly and looking for a good time this place is for you! (but do nottttttt plan on eating here and defiantly do not get the meal plans like we did). If you are under the age of 65 go somewhere else!!

Room Tip: ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

We first stayed at the Costa Canaria 15 years ago when it was privately owned. Then it was so good we went for seven years in a row. The last couple of years it was run by Iberostar and was still good. The resort is good nice and quiet. Clean and easy to get about.
Now the Costa Canaria has been taken over by Bull Hotels whoa say they are refurbishing it. Although the hotel does need refurbishing there is little evidence of it. the real problem so far as we were concerned was that the quality of the food at dinner was frankly poor. The food was where the hotel, under its previous owners, scored highly.

Room Tip: Some rooms have been refurbished apparently so insist on one of these though I guess they are few a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed at this hotel two years running about four years ago. It was good then but now it is even better. Free high speed wifi throughout the hotel, a lovely roof top area with Jacuzzi and sun loungers and a free high spec spa are all improvements and the food is extremely good and very varied. Bull hotels really seem to have put a lot of effort into improvement. The room was exceptional with a fantastic panoramic sea view and large balcony. There is a free gym as well but we didn't have a chance to try that. The evening entertainment was not really to our taste but lots seemed to enjoy it. The public areas are truly beautiful. All this made for an excellent holiday but the jewel in the crown is the staff! They are without exception pleasant, cheerful and courteous and extremely hard working. A lovely hotel - we shall be back!

Room Tip: Higher floor sea view rooms are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Costa Canaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa Canaria

Address: C/ Retamas 1, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Costa Canaria 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Costa Canaria is located right on the seafront in San Agustin, Gran Canaria. It is an ideal hotel for couples in search ofa peaceful holiday at a hotel for adults only which, at the same time, offers every kind of leisure actitivity and entertainment. It's a four-star all inclusive hotel which is unique on the island, making it the favourite destination for many tourists summer after summer. Totally refurbished in 2014, it boasts a wide range of services and activities providing a friendly and personalised service that will make your stay at the Hotel & Spa Costa Canaria a frequent destination for your holidays on Gran Canaria. The magnificent rooms offer the very best views of San Agustin beach. You will enjoy stunning sunsets, clear transparent waters and golden sandy beaches. Your holidays on Gran Canaria at the Hotel Costa Canaria! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Costa Canaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Costa Canaria Hotel San Agustin
Iberostar San Agustin
Iberostar Hotel Costa Canaria
Hotel Costa Canaria San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Costa Canaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.