We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel and super staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Tamarindos

Save Saved
You added Melia Tamarindos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Tamarindos
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de las Retamas 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 hotels in San Agustin
Suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel and super staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Cannot recommend this hotel high enough. My wife had an accident exiting the ladies toilet cubicle in the hotel and they were oh so helpful.
The only problem was when we tried to claim some form of compensation the outfit we booked through, OnTheBeach.com, , denied any responsibility and blamed the agent they used to book the holiday for us. It made us realise if you are travelling abroad then you should always book through a reputable company like Thompsons or Thomas Cook as they will look after you from start to finish. Do not fall for cheaper internet operators as they are only interested in your money and it really is not worth it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    211
    106
    34
    19
See reviews for
132
270
24
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2010

My boyfriend and I spent a week at Melia Tamarindos and had a lovely time. The room was clean the decor was fine. The hotel meal in the evening was quite expensive, and it was cheaper to eat at the nearby restaurants - which are a 5 minute walk away. The included breakfast however was amazing! Huge selection of really good quality food, I went back for several helpings! The grounds of the hotel are large and very well tended. There were always plenty of sunbeds available and the pool was never busy, there is a separate smaller pool for kids. The information sent to us said there was an indoor swimming pool, there wasn't as far as we could see, but it wasn't a problem as the outdoor pool was great. The beach is right next to the hotel but the black sand does make it quite unattractive. The massive sand dunes at maspalmos are about an hour's walk away, but it's an easy flat walk by the sea. Twice in the week annoying staff members tried to lead a loud water aerobics session in the pool, with limited uptake, but it only lasted half an hour, at all other times it was very peacful and quiet. Not much of night life, which was fine for us as we wanted a quiet holiday. The hotel has a bar with live lounge music each night. The hotel was a 20 minute taxi ride from the airport and cost about 30 euros. The water park is a short, 6 euro taxi ride away and was worth a visit - take your own towel and wear shoes you can get wet as the paths get so hot under the sun that you won't want to walk around bear foot. The hotel pool closes at 6pm which we found a little limiting as it was still very warm at that time in June.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

A perfect hotel for adults to relax and have fun. Good food. Exelent service. Quiet.
The park and the pools is great. And it's a lot to do for adults and teens.
Spa, tennis, gym, casino, different bars and restaurants all of good quality.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

Needs a refurb. Rooms small, some areas wallpaper peeling and threadbare carpets.
Outdoors much kinder on the eye but desperately short staffed.
Very overpriced, probably compares to a good 3* standard like Ifa Beach though there standard rooms are much bigger, most have a sea view and friendy staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meath, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

This hotel is first class and deserves its 5 Star rating.. The well trained staff are polite and efficient. Hotel is spotless, with first class Pool area and access directly to beach at San Agustin and boardwalk that runs down to Playa Del Ingles/Maspalomas.

We paid extra for sea & pool view and were lucky enough to be upgraded to a junior suite. This hotel has real "old world" star quality with live piano accompaniment at dinner and harpist a breakfast. Entertainment each night in bar and a lot of affluent guests who dress up for dinner. Buffet dinner style or eat in Casino restaurant.

I could not find a single fault it was worth the extra money!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2010

have just returned from a fab week, we are 2 couples who always go together. Having stayed in lots of 5 stars all over we could not have had a better week. I had booked all inclusive as the deal was to good to miss,so even if it was not up to standard it would not have mattered. We arrived to a lovely welcome, straight to our rooms, they faced the back of the hotel but we dont spend any time in them just to sleep? Quick change then to the bar for our first drink. Gin and tonics all round and to our surprise Gordons. Then to dinner a lovely area we sat outside on the terrace, and had a super meal buffet style.
In the bar there was allways some music playing, which is just fine. Coffee and amarettos all round.Pool was great, towels sunbeds plenty of nice areas to sit and out to a nice walk all along the beach front. I cant understand people who moan about the area ,as the beach is not good but you are not in the bahamas are you! but it was clean and tidy all over. You can have a nice walk along to Playa del ingles, but that area is not for us to built up, and be very aware of pick pockets,a lady in our hotel went there and had all her valuables stolen from her.So if you want a great break, do try this hotel get a deal for All inclusive, and you will not be dissapointed. Not the place for kids, not enough for them. As for the internet there is a club in the garden, you get an hour 4 euros how cheap is that. Fab buffett by the pool including drinks, the wine was great not the rubbish you get,and it comes in an ice bucket , this was also a great lunch for the price. Of course food does repeat itself, but the chef always cooked fresh meat and fish daily for you to choose. To get the best from your waiters we allways give the a good tip when we arrive so they look after you all week. Bed linen changed 3 times in our week and fresh towels when you wanted, also pillow menu. I know some people have said it is not 5 star I would agree in some ways, as it does not have the added luxary of some of the more newer modern hotels we stay in, but I could not fault it for what we paid and that is what matters.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Hotel is situated at a very ugly beach. Neighbourhood is outdated, dirty and not maintained properly. Neighbourhood of Faro is so much nicer (modern and maintained properly)!
Cleanliness of the hotel was superb and very friendly and helpfull staff.
Food was ok, but not enough variation. Meat was very low quality.
Use of internet: very expensive and only available in the lobby of the hotel. (no connection in the rooms.)Use of jacuzzi was too expensive.
Room and bathroom were rather small, but we had a nice seaview.
Animation was not good at all.
Fitness Center was a laugh!
Very very very expensive "Spa". During our stay the "Spa" was empty all the time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Melia Tamarindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tamarindos

Address: Calle de las Retamas 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Family Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tamarindos 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Melia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Melia Tamarindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tamarindos Hotel San Agustin
Melia San Agustin
Melia Hotel Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Tamarindos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.