We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Tamarindos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Melia Tamarindos to your Saves list
Melia Tamarindos
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de las Retamas 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
edinburgh, scotland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Stayed here for a week in June 2013. Hotel staff are excellent, nothing too much trouble. Loved the pool and never had any difficulty in getting a sunbed, although to be fair the hotel was fairly quiet when we stayed. Wonderful selection of food, always fresh and many choices cooked to order. Pool bar staff who also worked in the bar in evenings were professional and courteous. Evening entertainment not that great, on par with other hotels we have stayed in. Not much in the immediate area, very quiet, but would go again.

Room Tip: do get a sea view. it is worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor and for the high valuation you have given to us. We are very pleased to read you spent a very relaxing and peaceful holiday among us in June and also that you enjoyed the selections of our buffets. Our Pool Bar staff will be very proud to read your nice comment about their friendliness and service; this positive feedback is the strongest motivation for all of us! We are making some changes in our evening programme, which we hope you will like upon your next visit. We send you warmest regards from Gran Canaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    205
    112
    37
    20
See reviews for
159
295
27
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Longford, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We arrived late at night but ther was no delay in booking us in and showing us to our room.we were delighted to receive a welcome basket of fruit and a bottle of wine,just what we needed after a long trip.The swimming pools are wonderful with access on to the beach.The breakfast was Buffett with every type of food you could wish for.we had lunch in the pool restaurant which was just perfect and dinner again was Buffett which was so relaxing.

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are perfect you can watch the ships out at sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

We would like to thank you for your kind opinion written on Tripadvisor after your stay in our hotel. We are very glad to read you had a very pleasant stay among us thanks to our pool area and our location on the sea-front. We are pleased our breakfast buffet was to your full satisfaction as well as our dinner buffet. The whole Meliá Tamarindos staff looks forward to welcoming you at our hotel for your next “sun break”!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This was our 10th visit, which was just as enjoyable as the 1st.

We would like to thank all the staff, from the porters to the management (with special mention to Lorena) for ensuring all our needs were met and stay enjoyable.

We would highly recommend to anyone.


Mr & Mrs Owens

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Owens:

Thank you very much for taking your precious time to write your opinion on Tripadvisor and for the high valuation you have given to us. We highly appreciate your praise towards our service and we all look forward to welcoming you the soonest possible. We send you warmest regards from the seashore of San Agustín!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Melia Tamerindos - what can I say. I stayed for 5 nights with my boyfriend, bed and breakfast. We arrived at the airport and got Bus 66 from right outside the airport straight to Melia Tamerindos Hotel costing €3.50 as opposed to €50 for a cab, it takes about 20 minutes and is so much cheaper and bus comes every 20 minutes...we knew this thanks to my friend whos been 5 times who told us to do this. The lobby was cool and spacious and the staff very friendly.

Rooms were nice but I see what others mean when they say its a bit dated, as in, there could have more fashionable curtains/duvet covers but thats it. Loved the dressing gowns and slippers provided - how cool lol! Breakfast - omg I am missing that right now it was Superb - I loved it - no complaints - had my omelette made for me every morning - great selection of food. 1st class breakfast.

The pools - i didnt notice any chair "hogging" or people waking up at 6am to secure a chair to sunbathe on - none of that classless behaviour here - oh no! There were more than enough chairs for everybody. I mainly swam in the big pool, which was great and was heated up in the evening which was nice. I used the gym for about 5 mins lol my boyfriend loved it - was there every morning.

The spa was 5* - gorgeous. I used the jacuzzi which was €3 for half an hour and i used the sauna which was €5 for half an hour. Extra towels provided. They have a great range of massages ranging from €30 to €99 - staff in spa are very friendly and helpful too. I felt so pampered after leaving - call me Beyonce! Because thats how good I felt after being pampered there lol.

We went to Aqualand which kids would love. We printed our tickets out at the computers downstairs which was €2 for 8mins(printing is free) so we didnt have to queue when we got to Aqualand. Cab there was €6 and back was €6.

Access to the beach was easy, walk right down past the pool and bar through the door which leads you to San Agustin beach - if you walk along the path, 10 mins walk will bring you to Playa Des Ingles beach - and so on. Its one long pathway but you can keep walking all the way to maspalomas beach and even further. We got as far as Maspalomas then stopped there for something to eat.
All in all I would definately stay here again - I loved it and as soon as we got back my boyfriend told me to check the prices for next year. Cant Wait!

x thanks Melia Tamerindos x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

We would like to thank you for your nice comment posted on Tripadvisor and for your high valuation. It is a great pleasure for us to read that you fully enjoyed your summer holidays with us and that you are planning to come back next year. Thank you for your comments regarding our buffets and the amenities in the room. We agree with you that our pool area is very relaxing and that the easy access to the beach is one of our special features. We are also very glad to read you liked our Spa; please, take it as a reason to come back! We will pamper you once more. Warmest regards from Gran Canaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for only two nights while we waited to move into our timeshare.Very friendly and efficient staff,wonderful hotel and pool areas,5 mins from beach. Will definitely be staying here again next year,possibly before then!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view if any available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:


Thank you very much for posting a review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted to read that your recent stay among us was to your full satisfaction and specially relished our pool areas and the friendliness of our staff. We will be looking forward to welcome you the soonest possible! Sunny regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponta Delgada, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 8 days and I can only describe it as perfect if you want to relax, enjoy the sun and do absolutely nothing but tan! The hardest choices to be done are "what to eat?" and "which side do I need to tan now?"
The staff is one of the friendliest I've ever experienced and, although the look is a bit dated, the cleanliness and comfort are 5 stars (the beds are amazing!!).
I advise you to alternate between the beach and the pool. Really nice and quiet beach with very clean water. You should also try the Spa: great relaxation massages and reflexology.
Thank you all at Melia Tamarindos!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest,


Thank you for your comments and for trusting Meliá Tamarindos to enjoy your holidays in Gran Canaria. We highly appreciate your positive comments regarding the friendliness of our staff, the cleanliness of the room and the relaxing experience at our SPA. Your feedback is of great importance to us and therefore, both the Management and the whole Meliá Tamarindos team thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you soon and hope to have the possibility to thoroughly spoil you once more. Sunny regards from Gran Canaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed here from the 3rd to the 14th July this year, our party was 4 adults and 3 children. We went all inclusive and had 2 Royal Suites which consisted of bedroom, living area with a mini bar and bathroom with 2 sinks and separate toilet. The safe was free. There was plenty of wardrobe space and 2 TV's. The balcony faced the sea which was lovely, this was in the shade in the afternoon which we preferred.

This was our first time all inclusive and it was very convenient not having to think about food / drinks.

We booked the hotel direct, and flights separately. Found a taxi at the airport for 45 euros for 7 of us, it was slightly more on the way back but we did leave the hotel at 4am! Taxi journey was about 30 minutes.

Location was excellent for us, in a very quiet area of Gran Canaria, situated right on the beach but with good security. Also plenty of buses if you wanted to explore more of the island (and shops!).

Reception area was lovely, check in took a while but there were 7 of us and the staff always pleasant and polite.

Rooms a little dated, cleaning was good however I had to ask for shampoo and conditioner and the bottle opener disappeared the day before we left (I know I left it on the balcony).

Food was very good overall, and the restaurant never appeared overly busy even though the hotel was full. However, I have never been in a 5 star hotel that didn't have a 'greeter' every night. One of the waiters took a liking to us and set up our table every night with highchair and drinks all ready. On the nights he wasn't there we had to get a highchair ourselves. Breakfast was very good, lunch okay, had to ask for butter some days (who wants margarine on holidays), and the choice at evening meal was okay but limited.

The pool area was well laid out, but the little white tables and the tables attached to the parasols were never cleaned, i wiped them down myself every day and some rubbish was evident. Also the floor tiles round the pool were lethal when wet. Pool towels were provided but you could only change them once a day. As we were in Royal Suites, I expected to be able to change them whenever i wanted. The staff at the pool bar kept you waiting, they didn't seem keen on serving all inclusive clients and they never made clear what snacks were available. The Royal Service area was okay, but nothing special and we didn't use it as children were not allowed.

The children's play area was rather run down, but the mini club was good and the children's entertainers excellent. It was my granddaughters first birthday while we were there and the hotel sent champagne to the room....

Evening entertainment was outside by the pool bar, we went a couple of times but it wasn't what we came here for.

We took a trip to Palmito Park which was very expensive and the bus journey rather scary!

All in all, we would go back, however at the price we paid we would be tempted to look at other 5 stars.

Room Tip: Royal Suites have a beautiful view sea but are in the shade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:

We wish to thank you for taking your precious time to write a complete description of your family holiday with us on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read you liked our location in front of the beach, our buffets as well as the children animation programme. We take your important comments into consideration and most of them are being already discussed in our weekly meetings. Thank you very much again for all your comments and we do hope to welcome you back on a future occasion. Warm regards from Gran Canaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Tamarindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tamarindos

Address: Calle de las Retamas 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#6 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tamarindos 5*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Melia, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Melia Tamarindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tamarindos Hotel San Agustin
Melia San Agustin
Melia Hotel Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Tamarindos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.