We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter sun break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Tamarindos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Tamarindos to your Saves list
Melia Tamarindos
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle de las Retamas 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Winter sun break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Have enjoyed winter sun breaks at this hotel for over 30 years, it is in somewhat of a time wharp, however, being in our early 60's and a little stuck in our ways, this hotel is absolutely perfect. The staff recognise and welcome us and as we are familiar with the hotels facilities and standards we slip straight into our holiday as soon as we arrive. Now that the all inclusive tariff has been removed the hotel standards have improved and whilst the bedrooms could be more luxurious the friendly atmosphere throughout the hotel makes up for it. We love it and will continue to return as long as we are able.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra providing beautiful relaxing views to the gardens, pool and sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, April 15, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Many thanks for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor.
It is a great pleasure to hear that you spent overall wonderful holidays with us for such a long time! Furthermore, we are delighted to know that our staff recognizes and brings you a warm welcome every time you come.
We already look forward to welcoming you at our hotel for your next “winter sun break”.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    222
    117
    37
    21
See reviews for
168
315
29
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I didn't even know that this hotel was supposed to be a 5 star hotel before I read the reviews here and I couldn't agree more. This is not a 5 star hotel, indeed! But as opposed to many other reviewers I kind of like the location. It's quiet and has a nice beach, all you need is close by, like supermarkets and restaurants and the busy Playa Ingles is just a 5 minute taxi ride away. Plus for this hotel is the pool area and the breakfast and closeness to the beach and the beach walk which is ideal for long walks and running. On the downside do not expect friendly staff or welcoming service, except for with the housekeeping, they are always smiling and greeting you even though most of them doesn't speak a word of english. Rooms are outdated and small, some with separate toilet from the bathroom. Plus for minibar, but no pay tv. Wifi coverage good in most rooms. Be sure to get a room on the seaside otherwise you'll have traffic (and hill) view. Unfortunately the afternoon sun is on the traffic side, but waking up to sea view is more important to me personally. Casino in the basement and a lobby bar with extremely loud entertainment until late on weekends.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room if afternoon sun is not the most important for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you very much for taking your time to write a comment regarding your stay at Meliá Tamarindos. We are very sorry that your stay did not completely fulfil your expectations. Concerning the friendliness of our staff, we would like to express our surprise for this comment as it usually is the most valued item by our customers. We do apologize if you did experience any uncomfortable situation during your stay regarding this matter. We are glad you liked the pool area and breakfast, and we take your comments into consideration. We do hope to welcome you again in a near future, warm regards from Gran Canaria!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I found this hotel quite elegant at first sight. Then we checked in and I asked if we could have a room with a sea view. "That is 12 euro per person, madam" - was the answer. Is that 5* elegance.. I wonder.
Anyway, the garden is very nice, we enjoyed that very much. There is a yoga/pilates etc class every day not too early in the morning, and it was fun to work out a bit outside listening to the birds.
The beach is very close if you want to go into the ocean, but that was too cold for us.
The waiters at the pool bar are very fast.
The saunas are very small - those are small cabins for 1-2 persons, but they are heated well.
We enjoyed the entertainment, esp the flamenco programme.
The room was clean and the bed comfy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you very much for the time taken to describe your experience at our hotel, Meliá Tamarindos. We have taken good note of your first comment and we are very happy to know that the rest of your experience among us was delightful and relaxing. We do hope to welcome you again on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012 via mobile

I am writing this during our week long stay, currently on Day 3. We always use Melia hotel group, as we enjoy the normally luxurious brand,and on booking, were promised that 5* luxury is guaranteed throughout the canaries, so it is a huge shock to find this hotel in our opinion is at best a 3*. It is tired and in urgent need of upgrading. Our suites are actually very spacious and very clean, that is one positive to which we are grateful. However the adult only area which is known as the royal service is frankly in a poor state. The grounds are poorly maintained in this area, the glass walls are smashed and the 'free' drinks and snacks are pitiful, I.e. one bottle of cava which mysteriously is always empty no matter what time of day you check,and then never replaced. Don't get me wrong I don't care about wine being available and I don't even want any during the day, but when guests are paying for these extras you would at least expect the hotel to maintain their
side of the deal! The steps are falling apart into the adult area and are potentially dangerous for those who are not sure footed. You also do not get any waiter service in this area, although, bizarrely if you sit in the main pool area with everyone else - you do! We found reception staff to be OK but nothing outstanding in terms of customer service. The restaurant we only used for breakfast once and was poor and the waiters avoid your
attempts to order coffee. The evening entertainment is terrible, worse than a holiday camp and that's saying something. We are making the most of our holiday but really are very disappointed and I could have cried when I saw some of the other 5 star hotels in Maspolomas which are far far superior. Having previously stayed at the Melia Palace De Isora in Tenerife where everything is over and above 5 *, it in comparison is a royal palace, whereas sadly the Tamarindos reminds me of the formerly grand hotels you find on the coastal resorts of the UK. The only plus are the girls at the towel hut by the pool, they are friendly, helpful and lively..shame the rest of the staff don't take note. I will update this review on my return home if anything notable occurs!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
First of all, we would like to thank you for writing a review regarding your stay among us. We are aware that our hotel is in need of a refreshing, but has nevertheless been kept in good conditions by our Housekeeping and Technical Staff. We believe you know that Gran Meliá Palacio de Isora is a new hotel and has a higher categorization than ours. We agree with you, it is a great hotel.
Regarding our Royal Service, we would like to thank you for your observations which have been immediately taken into account. As well, we constantly put efforts in education of our staff, trying to minimise misunderstandings and to increase communication with our clients. We are sorry you've visited our breakfast only once and did not find it up to your satisfaction. Most of our guests are very satisfied with the quality and variety of the buffet, both breakfast and dinner.
Every evening we have live music in the Bar and shows several times a week. We are thinking about doing some changes into the programme and maybe moving it to the pool area. Once again, thank you very much for all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

We were disappointed to see how this hotel has deteriorated since our last visit a few years ago. We had a standard, sea-view room which was adequate although rather too small to earn a 5-star rating. the bedroom and bathroom were a little shabby and, obviously, there has been not upgrading of the rooms for years.
There used to be a pleasant little dispense bar in the lounge area which was ideal for pre-dinner aperitifs. The fixture is still there but no longer manned so the only indoor bar is in the cabaret room which is not very welcoming in the early evening.
Our main basis of complaint concerns the buffet service in the dining room. This used to be superb but is now at the level of a second-rate holiday camp. The English type (supposedly hot) breakfast dishes were invariably cold and often under-cooked and the bacon was sometimes almost raw!
There was an omelette chef on duty each morning (not always the same one) and most of them had little concept of how to cook an omelette. There was always a queue for them as it offered the only really cooked food but even the omelettes were often tipped onto your plate only partially cooked.
The waiters are skilled in avoiding any eye-contact with the guests and would march between the tables looking straight ahead and ignoring attempts to attract their attention. After a while the diners would get up and fetch coffee, cutlery, china or whatever they needed which may be exactly what the waiters were trying to achieve.
We only had one evening meal in the dining room and that was enough to put us off for the rest of our stay. The food selection was appalling, apart from desserts which were extremely good. Fortunately there are a number of first-class restaurants nearby so there is a variety of alternative options.
The problems all arise from a lack of adequate and effective supervision in the dining room. The catering staff are all left to their own devices and this simply does not work in a large hotel. A young "supervisor" was sometimes in attendance but she never once addressed a problem or caused a remedy to be effected.

THE GOOD NEWS
The gardens, pool areas and outside bars and restaurant are quite delightful and the outside staff were always cheerful, helpful and obliging. So are the reception staff, porters and chambermaids.
Also, and this is why we will return, the location is certainly the best in San Agustin and probably the best in southern Gran Canaria.
One cannot escape feeling, however, that San Agustin has peaked and is now in decline. There was not much there to begin with, not even a bank, buy we noticed a number of empty cafes, bars and shops and at least one hotel that were busy and thriving a few years ago. I hope that the massive roadworks that are taking place outside Tamarindos are to bring the visitors in rather than to sweep them through to the livelier places further along the coast.

Room Tip: The view is obviously better from the higher floors. The fourth is probably ideal. With a sea-view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us on TripAdvisor. We are aware that our hotel is in need of a refreshing, but has nevertheless been kept in good condition by our Housekeeping and Technical Staff. Little changes are being done like the smart Snack-Bar “Tara” overlooking the pool and the sea. Other changes are being kept in mind and will surely be done in a near future.
Regarding our Buffet, we are very sorry you were not satisfied with the offer. We have taken very good note of your comments about it. Concerning our waiter service, we would like to express our surprise for this comment as it is usually the most valued item by our customers. We do apologize if you did experience any uncomfortable situation during your stay regarding this matter. All our staff is proud to know that you recognize their efforts, which is a high motivation for all of us. We are glad you liked the pool area and gardens, and we do hope to welcome you again in a near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We have just come back from a week in Melia Tamarinos there is no way this is a 5 star its just about a 4 star. We went half board , the breakfast was very good the evening meal is a buffet it was ok but felt like a glorified canteen . The staff were very helpful , we had a sea view which was clean but a little small the bathroom was looking very tired.
The resort of San Agustin is awful there is NOTHING THERE . I will not go back.

Pat from London

Room Tip: If you do go to this hotel get a sea view other wise you look out onto the road which they are diggi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorena_MeliaT, E-Guest Experience at Melia Tamarindos, responded to this review, March 17, 2012
Dear Meliá Tamarindos guest:
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Meliá Tamarindos on TripAdvisor. We are awfully sorry to know that you haven't fully enjoyed your holiday among us. Your comments have already been taken into consideration within our future investment plan. We agree with you that San Agustin is a very relaxing area, much quieter than Playa del Inglés and Maspalomas. Actually, most of our regular and also new guests are thrilled with the hotel location. We understand that Playa del Inglés is more vibrant. We would like to thank you once again for all your comments. Warm regards from Gran Canaria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

Having booked the day before with Last Minute.com using their SECRET ROOM's facility (interpret as cheapest rooms available) we arrived around 6pm and had no difficulty finding the Melia, there is very little in San Augustin except large hotels and it can easily be seen on the main approach road. Somewhat shocked by the huge roadworks directly outside which are on a motorway scale and will devestate the area until June, we checked in. The process was efficient and pleasant however we found you get what you pay for or NOT as the case may be. Having asked for a high room, non smoking a 2nd floor room in which someone had been smoking was provided. It's not the fault of the hotel that selfish customer smoke in rooms but its my view the hotel should penalise them for doing so, perhaps by adding a cleaning surcharge or similar. Anyway the room was small, old fashioned and overlooked the roadworks directly, not a pretty sight although they were surprisingly not particularly noisy. The rooms were not what I expected from a five star for a start the airconditioning was not working, the mini bar appeared to be on its last legs and the toilet shower arrangements were incredibly cramped and worn. There were no dressing gowns as you would expect of a five star but there were some handy slippers. The outside balcony furniture was cheap but functional but again not high quality as with most things in the hotel. 5 Stars means a high price for lots of top quality facilities, it did not mean though in the Melia the spa was included, so no Jacquzi or steam room facilities were provided for free. You had to pay an extra I think 18 euro for this priviledge which I think is a con. We complained about the room and were told it was definitely what you get for 5 star on the island but if we wait for the manager he would listen to our issues. The problem being we only had 4 nights and the manager was not due until the next day so we had spent half our holiday before we could raise our concerns. The manager was efficient and duly called our room early the next morning, he was extremely pleasant and changed us to a better room on a higher floor, this time with a sea view. Despite this I still felt he was dealing with both his hands tied because the hotel is definitely not of the quality marketed and its about time the rating agencies put this where it belongs as either 3 or 4 star accomodation. Also don't bother with San Augustin, there is simply nothing there, your money would be much better spent going to the very pretty Puerto Mogan which actually has some life and focus.

Room Tip: Don't go for mountain view these overlook roadworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Tamarindos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Tamarindos

Address: Calle de las Retamas 3 | Playa de San Agustin, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#5 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#6 Family Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Tamarindos 5*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Melia, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Melia Tamarindos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Tamarindos Hotel San Agustin
Melia San Agustin
Melia Hotel Tamarindos
Melia Tamarindos San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Tamarindos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.