We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is absolutely fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in San Agustin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“This hotel is absolutely fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 15-29 August 2013,myself and my husband and our 2 children 9 and 4. We had a fantastic time. The kids really enjoyed it. The food,well lets just say I came home a stone heavier...the variety was outstanding it was just rude not to try more than one thing. The salad and fruit bars were to die for,maybe I should have gone there more,haha. The service in all areas was excellent,all the staff,even the cleaners were very friendly. Rooms were cleaned every day,fresh linen and towels daily.some days the maids would leave nice little touches like 'fanned my nightie on the bed' and leave a little flower on pillow with chocs,nice touch I thought. The pools were ace,we tended to stay at bottom one as less busy, this was the deeper of the 3. The top one was bigger so more busier but not a problem, still a very nice pool and that one had a pool bar. The entertainment was ok,what they called light entertainment was this man and woman,again they were ok but sang the same songs every night so got a bit repetitive. The evening entertainment started at 9.45pm,this wasn't too bad,it gave the kids summat to watch for an hour or so....there was like magic,animal shows,acts like that,again ok. Just one bug bear about this hotel which I guess not there fault was the smoking.... It got quite annoying. Pool/subbed area,bar/snack area,smokers everywhere,no matter where you sat there would be someone lighting up, couldn't even get away from it on our balcony as we had smokers either side. My husband was constantly using his inhaler which he hardly uses at home. Despite that we had a brill time and would deffo recommend and we will return one day. Well done Gloria palace. Oh and weather was also fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    640
    395
    130
    51
    29
See reviews for
380
535
36
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Have just returned from the Gloria Palace after a 10 day holiday. The weather was fantastic. San Agustin was a little bit out of the way for our normal holiday so if you like quiet its fab. There is a free bus to Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas. Rooms are luxurious and kept clean. The food was good with lots of choice. The entertainment was much better than previous reviews say. If i had to say anything negative there is only one bar in the evening and though all staff were very hard working it was very slow. Due to senior waiters using hand held's to take orders.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I took our two young daughters for 11 nights all inclusive on the 29th August. We had read all the reviews and said that we would give a totally honest review for a family like us that want to know where they are going!

Overall we were happy with most things. The family room for instance is great. So clean and tidy, and two huge bedrooms with loads of storage space. Only downside is that the cleaners came so early! A few times they would open the door and we would still be in bed!

The food was mostly good. I liked the way there was something different every night, and they always did freshly cooked pizzas and these are great for the kids and were especially a favourite for our children. There is a huge choice for breakfast, this was great. The only downside to the restaurant that often at dinner we would go and it was difficult to find a table for the four of us which was made up and also waiting to get a drink could take a while. I totally understand that it is an incredibly busy restaurant and the staff couldn’t be everywhere, but some evenings it was frustrating waiting for table and then waiting for a drink. I would recommend having a lovely lunch in the restaurant. It was so quiet and peaceful and staff were great. There is also snacks throughout the day, burgers, hotdogs, salad etc – nice if you don’t want a formal lunch.

The evening entertainment was good on occasions. We didn’t expect to enjoy it every night and I am sure everyone’s tastes are different so we can’t comment on this really. The outside area is nice (apart from the pooing pigeons!). Again waiting for a waiter to order your drinks can take a long time when it is busy – but we found going to the bar easier at times and never minded doing this.

The drink selection is great. The wine was lovely and you can order a bottle to your table, always chilled in an ice bucket. There was non alcoholic cocktails for the children too which they loved – and chocolate milk! I can’t fault the drinks at all. Also lovely to ask for water all day and get cold bottles given to you.

The swimming pool was lovely, but not geared up for children at all. We found it really frustrating that they weren’t allowed to even play with a ball in the water. I can understand lilos as they take up so much room, but we had a tiny Disney ball which we were throwing to the girls and got told not to – even though twice a day they play water polo and take up a third of the pool! The kids did get a bit fed up with the pool because of this, so not much playing in the pool unfortunately.

The kids club was quite good – the children could come and go as they please and they did some lovely things with them, like facepainting and bouncy castle. I would say we went right at the end of the summer so it was fairly quiet with children, and I think it could get a bit manic with lots of children as only a small area – but they worked very hard.

The beach is quite a walk, but very lovely when you are there.

There is not much to do in San Agustin, but we were happy with that as we were all inclusive, I don’t think we would have been had we not have been.

Overall we did have a lovely holiday. 11 nights was plenty and if I am honest this hotel is probably better for couples. Quite peaceful and a lovely place to have a break. We personally wouldn’t return as I feel there are places where the children would probably be more the focus. I would say overall a good hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher family room, rather than right at the bottom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Fantastic hotel.
Ignore all the poor reviews. There are some people who just love to complain.
We spent 10 days at the Gloria Palace in August, on our honeymoon.
The best bits:
Staff - everyone very friendly and helpful. They actually looked as if they were happy to be working, and nothing was too much trouble.
Food - excellent. The best choice and quality of food I have ever seen at an all-inclusive.
Drinks - excellent choice; very clear what was included with all-inclusive and what wasn't, so no nasty surprises with the bill on check-out. Waiter service at the bars - most of the time very prompt.
Location - beautiful hotel and grounds set back (about a 5 minute walk) from the beach, but they do put free buses on to both Playa del Ingles and Maspalomas every day, so it was no problem. A taxi to Maspalomas was about 5 Euros, so that hardly broke the bank either.
Everywhere was clean and fresh.
We arrived late - too late for a meal - but they had set tables and put a cold buffet out for late arrivals. It made us feel welcome, rather than an inconvenience, right from the start.
We had a late flight home, and had read that the all-inclusive ended at midday. When we checked out we were given a voucher for lunch that day, so no problem there either.
The worst bits:
The attitude and behaviour of a few of the guests. The ones who just do not know how to behave.
All in all, this hotel delivered everything we had hoped for. We will definitely return. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher up the building, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Have just returned from a great holiday at Gloria Palace San Agustin from reception to the cleaners, to all the staff wonderful. The food was amazing that's me tramping the streets off Newcastle to loose this excess weight. Shows at night were very good gteat company and very good friends. WELL DONE GLORIA PALACE.

Room Tip: We were in room 711 was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Building, rooms:
the hotel seems to be around 30 years old, but it ages well. Common areas are tastefully retro, and the rooms are particularly nice, with solid earth colors and furniture. The room I stayed at had an LCD tv with USB connectivity, central air conditioning, a terrace, two sinks in the bathroom, and so on. What they don't stress enough: the WiFi is FREE, and ALSO IN THE ROOMS. But you have to aquire your password at the reception desk by swiping your keycard (they don't tell you this). Art on the walls is ludicrous, but that matters the least. The bathroom is quite nice, shower liquids originally come in small packets, but if they see you using them, they supply small bottles as well. And a BIG PLUS: the hotel was built in a way, that from the 3rd floor up, every room has an ocean view, only the corridor faces the mountain.

Service:
staff is nice, usully cheerful, polite. Cleaning service is quite good, but it matters who you get. Fore example, we had two rooms, I always vacated mine for the first round of cleaning, and it always looked nice. We were in the other room, so that got cleaned during the second round, and that was a bit worse. And the hotel provided bath products don't include conditioner, so you should take that with you. But they give you a comb, which is pretty unusual.

Facilities:
we didn't use them much, but they have pretty much everything a big hotel has to have: gym, tennis court, spa, conference rooms, disco, etc.

Hotel food:
many reviews say, that the variety is low, and they are right (we only had breakfast at the hotel though). But the selection is quite wide, so you can juggle your daily menus around within the fix selection.

Pool, entertainment:
well, it depends on what kind of a hotel guest you are, really. If you prefer lying on the poolside all day, it might get a little boring. There's a pool bar, there's animation, water games, etc, but I personally always hated these things. Entertainment at night is quite very bad, low quality, and infantile. But this also depends on your taste.

Beach access:
it's a 10 minute walk from the main entrance, about the same distance as the small shopping court, where you have a SPAR with all the basics.

Noise:
the tennis court at the back can be heard at nights (maybe up untill 11 PM), and the main stage entertainment can be heard until midnight. But after that, it's pretty quiet. I slept with the balcony door wide open, without disturbances. I only had to close it the last night, when I got new neighbors who smoked. "-.- Weird thing though: balcony lights are central, and are usually up until 11 PM.

Room Tip: Choose a room from around the third floor or up, to get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

For the person called greg you really shudnt call people marons with a name like gregory .everyone is entitiled to an opinion and you trying to be a smart doesnt help keyboard warrior and ice cream is stored in a freezer not a fridge so it shudnt b melted before you put in your bowl you clown.
Now for the hotel very clean decent rooms food average service average entertainment poor and slow service. Anyone who has travelled will not be inpressed that much with it . To many add ons involved i would honestly rate this a three star and for a young couple to go here defo not unless you are really boring and never had a life so go get 1 gregory

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/ Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#2 Family Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000m2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.