We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean view for everyone” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 19 hotels in San Agustin
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ocean view for everyone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Building, rooms:
the hotel seems to be around 30 years old, but it ages well. Common areas are tastefully retro, and the rooms are particularly nice, with solid earth colors and furniture. The room I stayed at had an LCD tv with USB connectivity, central air conditioning, a terrace, two sinks in the bathroom, and so on. What they don't stress enough: the WiFi is FREE, and ALSO IN THE ROOMS. But you have to aquire your password at the reception desk by swiping your keycard (they don't tell you this). Art on the walls is ludicrous, but that matters the least. The bathroom is quite nice, shower liquids originally come in small packets, but if they see you using them, they supply small bottles as well. And a BIG PLUS: the hotel was built in a way, that from the 3rd floor up, every room has an ocean view, only the corridor faces the mountain.

Service:
staff is nice, usully cheerful, polite. Cleaning service is quite good, but it matters who you get. Fore example, we had two rooms, I always vacated mine for the first round of cleaning, and it always looked nice. We were in the other room, so that got cleaned during the second round, and that was a bit worse. And the hotel provided bath products don't include conditioner, so you should take that with you. But they give you a comb, which is pretty unusual.

Facilities:
we didn't use them much, but they have pretty much everything a big hotel has to have: gym, tennis court, spa, conference rooms, disco, etc.

Hotel food:
many reviews say, that the variety is low, and they are right (we only had breakfast at the hotel though). But the selection is quite wide, so you can juggle your daily menus around within the fix selection.

Pool, entertainment:
well, it depends on what kind of a hotel guest you are, really. If you prefer lying on the poolside all day, it might get a little boring. There's a pool bar, there's animation, water games, etc, but I personally always hated these things. Entertainment at night is quite very bad, low quality, and infantile. But this also depends on your taste.

Beach access:
it's a 10 minute walk from the main entrance, about the same distance as the small shopping court, where you have a SPAR with all the basics.

Noise:
the tennis court at the back can be heard at nights (maybe up untill 11 PM), and the main stage entertainment can be heard until midnight. But after that, it's pretty quiet. I slept with the balcony door wide open, without disturbances. I only had to close it the last night, when I got new neighbors who smoked. "-.- Weird thing though: balcony lights are central, and are usually up until 11 PM.

Room Tip: Choose a room from around the third floor or up, to get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    611
    397
    121
    47
    27
See reviews for
329
503
36
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

For the person called greg you really shudnt call people marons with a name like gregory .everyone is entitiled to an opinion and you trying to be a smart doesnt help keyboard warrior and ice cream is stored in a freezer not a fridge so it shudnt b melted before you put in your bowl you clown.
Now for the hotel very clean decent rooms food average service average entertainment poor and slow service. Anyone who has travelled will not be inpressed that much with it . To many add ons involved i would honestly rate this a three star and for a young couple to go here defo not unless you are really boring and never had a life so go get 1 gregory

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Well one thing I can say about the 3 comments below (morons) of course ice cream is going to melt its why its called ICE cream if you all ways got to dinner late then that's going to happen, another comment to many smokers around the pool, well this made me laugh go round and ask them all to stop then, nothing to do with the hotel, last comment ill talk about, the hill was steep, REALLY if you can call that a hill don't know we're you walked to but we had a little slope to get to the beach and if your that lazy get the free bus and stop morning about it.

Now for my review, hotel was spotless so clean and tidy the hotel room was cleaned every day and the cleaners were very nice and polite, air conditioning was nice (for the comment below, you need to shut the balcony door for it to work deary) the entertainment was great some nights but okish other nights lets face it the entertainment is not going to please every one, but the animation team were great with the kids quite funny at times to, the food was excellent great choice of food "if you actionaly looked" ;) they had theme nights but the one I liked was Chinese but then I do love a good Chinese, we were waited on hand and foot they could not do enough to please you, at times you do have to wait for the waiter to come order your drink but if you decided not to be lazy like some people who moan you can actionaly get up amazingly off your bottom and go to the bar your self, there were a lot of people around the entertainment but the waiters were very polite and kind and all ways tried to have a laugh and a joke, the spa Mmm ok I felt it should have been free with an all inclusive holiday not all of it though like hot stones etc but the pool should have been free, how ever saying that wow for guests you get discount so for 41 euros for me and my girlfriend it was well worth the money says you get to stay in for 2 hours but we stayed in for 3 1/2 I can highly recommend any one to go try it out, with the jets and the salt water wow I came out feeling so relaxed,
For the guys wanting to go to the shopping centre or beach turn right onto the main road follow down a small slope till you get to the roundabout, cross over straight on and your in the shopping centre, carry on through and your on the beach, takes about 5 mins to get there from the hotel, it's true the shopping centre is a bit run down but the beach was nice and to be honest we went out away to different areas of the island to explore grand canaria, after all you don't go on holiday just to stay in one place, well we don't any way, finally I'd just like to say this hotel deserves its 4 stars were a young couple in our late 20s and we could not recommend it highly enough, the camel ride I think made us laugh a lot over all a great holiday and we will be looking to book again very soon for next year, see you next year we can't wait to come back :)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

i read all the reviews before i left and i must say i was really disappointed, this hotel is only for families, not for couples or singles, the hotel is practically in the middle of nowhere and you need to take a taxi or bus to anywhere you want to go including the beach. the rooms are clean but the air conditioner does not cool the room properly and when i complained the answer i got was that it is pick hour and everybody is using the air conditioner.
the staff is very polite and helpful but that's about it.
i will not come back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

This was my first hotel experience where I had to pay extra for the gym. We had to pay for the safe, I will never ever understand why we have to pay for keeping our valuables safe from the staff, it should be default and free. Extra was the spa, late checkout, the pool on the roof, most of the sport facilities, replacing the towel by the pool. Yes, for 11 days you get one towel and pay for replacement.

Overall it felt like I paid for a one star hotel and i had to pay for anything I wanted on top of that. And it is far away from the beach too. I stayed in a 5 star hotel+half board for less the money on the island that is why I was disappointed. Cleaning lady was very good in the beginning, but later neither the coffee nor the amenities were replaced, room was still clean though. We got one tiny soap for the two of us. Late entertainment is right under the rooms, the whole area can only sleep with closed windows, what a shame. The breakfast selection is fair, but no salad, greens for vegetarians, only tomato and cucumber. As for the free car park, never a free place. You have to park somewhere else and walk to the hotel.

The good points were the free wi-fi and the view, staff was helpful, they do remember your birthday too and give you a surprise, free hotel bus to the beach, a dozen kind of fruits at breakfast. Overall, the balance was still negative for me, mainly for the price we paid and the noise at nights.

Room Tip: The higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

This is as honest as i can be about this hotel from an ordinary hardworking british family. Booked this hotel as a last minute holiday. After reading all the good reviews I have been really disappointed by what I have found. The location of the hotel is not good their is really nothing around apart from a run down shopping complex. The hotel itself is clean but not well run at all very false the only day the seems to be a lot of staff milling around is a Tuesday when they are giving questionnaires out about the hotel. The food is very average yes theirs quite abit of choice but a lot of it is thrown together and alot of the time u noticed sum thing from lunch made into something else on an evening. Most of the waiters do nothing more than clear tables although 1 or 2 are quite good. I have asked for drinks on a couple of occasions to be ignored. The desserts are of a poor standard and ice cream is always melted.
The evening entertainment is very poor maybe had two decent shows in two weeks. The same singers are on twice every evening can really not sing very poor and boring. The waiter service here is terrible on an evening for a drink very slow.
We were in the family rooms and you can hear every movement made from upstairs. The cleaners are very loud and wake you up each morning shouting and talking, and all u get is 1 knock and the in your room in a second without waiting for you to open the door.
Worked very hard leading up to this holiday and was really looking forward to it and can safely say I would of been happy to go home after a week not the way you should feel on a family holiday can safely say I would never return here or any other Gloria palace to me this is not a well run hotel. My parents have stayed at another Gloria palace and had nothing but good things to say about it and that is the reason I booked this
one wish I didn't bother...... Another is the amount of smokers at the pool and at the evening entertainment is terrible not what you want for kids. This is a 3 star hotel at best and very spanish. WHERE IS THIS GREAT HOTEL everyone is else is reviewing cause its certainly not here
Dont no why my review isnt up yet its been days now

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Arrived about 9pm. Greeted by very helpful staff with a glass of champagne and orange juice for my girls. We had two rooms which asked to be close together. We had the rooms adjoining each other which was fantastic. Our rooms were cleaned to a very high standard every day. The reception staff were so helpful and polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. The food was excellent with lots of choices. The waiters were fantastic too. There were lots of sunbeds so no need to go down early with your towels. The pool and pool area was clean. Entertainment through the day was good and the evening entertainment was not too be missed,

The beach was a little way but I expected that as I did my research. You could walk, but the walk back was up a hill. There were free buses to two lovely beaches which ran about 3-4 times daily. The hotel was a definite thumbs up.

Room Tip: All rooms were excellent, we were offered an up-grade at a price but we were happy with the one we h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/ Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000m2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.