We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, clean hotel with fabulous hardworking staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean hotel with fabulous hardworking staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We arrived with a pleasant champagne drink given to us when booking in. We were taken to our room but was disappointed as the room we were given had not been refurbished & did not have a balcony even though we had paid for one. The beds were uncomfy though! We complained & was compensated with All inclusive instead of Half board so we were happy with that. The hotel was fully booked & the staff were hardworking although they need more staff. The rooms were cleaned everyday & the pool was lovely & clean. The food was fantastic & varied. There was a towel check at various times through the day & the towels removed if they had been reserved with no one sat on the sun beds.
Overall fantastic holiday in a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    423
    148
    56
    34
See reviews for
402
598
39
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at Gloria palace on 10th June for 10 days, quick and easy check in with a nice glass of bubbly on arrival.
Room and view were great, food excellent, never had a bad meal. Always a choice of a couple of different meats or fish, chips waffles or potatoes and plenty of pasta or pizza etc if you didn't like the theme that night. Also plenty of fruit, desserts and ice cream. Loved having a full fry up every morning at breakfast too!
Both pools (saltwater) were fab plenty big enough with more than enough sunbeds! Unsure of how anyone could say they couldn't get a bed there were free beds all through the day! Service was great never had to wait long for drinks. Maid service is good rooms were always cleaned properly and fresh towels left etc. animation team were fab, put so much effort in, very enthusiastic and kids always seemed to enjoy mini disco, I loved the mojito dance everyday, very catchy !

The location was perhaps a little out of the way for us being a young couple but only 5 euro taxi into maspalomas where we enjoyed a meal out and a look round the shops and had a couple of games of mini golf. A lovely quiet, relaxing area though if that is what you want.There is also a free bus to the beach I believe although we did not use this as we are pool people. The hotel is on a slope but not as bad as many people make out!

All staff were cheerful and friendly, alwaya smiling. We even found the people out of the hotel to be lovely, we had an incident where my boyfriend left his phone in the taxi and we didn't realise until he'd driven off, after a walk to the next taxi rank and search for the taxi then back to the taxi rank we came from the kind driver brought the phone back free off charge after the other drivers did nothing but help us to ring round the taxis and help track it down, very thankful for that!

Only things I could say was that the cocktails in the upstairs indoor bar seemed to taste a lot better than the downstairs outdoor bar (they were very often too strong and tasted different each time you ordered) and the showing of the room card everytime you ordered a drink or ate was a little annoying as never had to do this before, but you get used to it.

Will definatly return to this hotel in future, and recommend to anyone who asks. well done everyone at Gloria palace!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

On arrival, the hotel has a wonderful entrance, you are greeted by friendly faces and a glass of bubbly. Quick and painless check in and straight up to the spacious and clean rooms. We were located on the 5th floor - good elevators and a fab view of the sea. I woke at 0645hrs and looked out down to the pool and was horrified to see that there were people putting towels on beds. So morning routine was getting up at 0630hrs and bagging our beds for the day. The pool was always clean and plenty of room for us (parents and 3 kids) to play in all day. The pool was quieter around lunch and after 1800hrs. Snacks are available from about 1100hrs until 1830hrs - pizza, hot dogs, burgers and chips - self service. Meals were fantastic for the week, but I would imagine may become a little repetitive for more than this. The choice was superb and apart from Nachos, always well replenished. There is a theme every night, but the theme was sometimes questionable - if they ever laughed, the germans would have found their night amusing.... The bars during the day were excellent, great service and not shy with the measures. However, the biggest and single let down of the whole holiday was the drinks service/ availability during the evenings. Once the two "pub singers" had finished most of the hotel guests sat down for the evening entertainment (which was amazing each night, one of the best we have seen) 2 staff were responsible for taking the orders for approx 400 guests - it doesn't work and is very slow, if you ever get served. You could go and get your own, but this also took a long time. Animacion team - well done. Great stuff all day for kids and adults alike!!
In sum, great hotel, fabulous rooms, pool, staff, service, food, day and night time entertainment, pretty much everything we asked for as a family for a week's holiday - not sure how we would have felt if it was two weeks. Thank you!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here for a week on Half Board. Usually go SC but fancied a hotel this time as didn't know area and didn't know what dinner venue choices may be like.
San Agustin is s nice Spanish resort and must not be confused with the Brits abroad holiday destinations further along the coast. Lovely beaches and sea promenade. Commercial centre that has all you need for the holidays. Hotel is 4* but some elements were more 5*. Great public areas, great pool and sun terrace. Lovely room - they all face the pool and the sea beyond. Large flat screen tv - not that you go to watch tv on holidays, tea making, fridge, a/c. Full size bath in bathroom. Breakfast and dinner were superb with a staggering selection every day. I defy anyone to say they could not find something they liked - even the fussiest eaters.
Would definitely go back and definitely recommend.

Room Tip: the higher the better as the views are better- we were on the 5th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Family of 2 adults and 2 children aged 8 and 6. Booked a family room 2 bedrooms. Absolutely Excellent. However here are a few tips for families. if its a sea view you want then dont book a family room as they are in the annexe. You need to decide - sea view or good nights sleep in a proper bed! We thought it was worth paying for the extra bedroom as we regularly went up to the roof for the view. Also my other tip to families is that apart from the baby pool, the pools are quite deep.... 1.5metres I think is the shallowest. Luckily my children can swim so not a problem. Don't buy lilos or inflatable toys as these are not allowed in the main pool. As we went in main peak summer holidays sun lounger hogging was a major problem! Also my final bug bear was that all inclusive facility finishes at 12 noon on day of departure. So as our flight wasn't until 730pm we had to pay for afternoon drinks...... Just a point to bear in mind. Apart from these niggles, the holiday was fab. Hotel was clean. Food was great. Lots of things to do. Happy kids. Great holiday.

Room Tip: Family rooms are in the annexe. The sea views are for normal rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I was really disappointed with this hotel. We stayed for 2 weeks - the first week being before the kids broke up from school. In the second week it was clear that the hotel was full to capacity and it is my view that the hotel was not able to meet the demands of this. There was a lack of urgency despite there being times when food was running out and not being replenished. In addition to this, as it is waiter service you have to wait to order your drinks in the evening and although there are many waiters bringing drinks out. There is only one person taking the orders which means that this becomes a lengthy process when there are hundreds of people at the tables waiting to be served. You can go to the bar but there are long ques and we found this to be an equally long process.

In terms of the pool, if you don't get up by 7am you will not get a sun bed. I know that this generally happens whenever you go away, however previous reviews had suggested that this was not the case with this hotel and it was something I had been looking forward to.

On a positive note, the food was lovely and varied. It is also great that the hotel puts on a free bus service to various other beaches despite there being a beach in San Agustin, around 15 minutes away.

Overall, I would say that whilst the staff work very hard and are very friendly - the hotel itself is not able to meet the demands when it is full. It felt crowded and did not feel exclusive as the website and the previous reviews made it appear. I thought I had booked a lovely four star hotel, but lesson learnt - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Customer Service 10
Food 9.5
Facilities 10
Entertainment 9
Room 9
View 9
All inclusive Drink 10
Pool scene 10
Sunbeds 10
Gran Canaria 9.5

what more can i say.... worth every penny, puts other 4 star hotels to shame

Room Tip: Room 1313, what a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/ Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000m2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.