We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but beware the "all inclusive" deal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel but beware the "all inclusive" deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Firstly let me state that this is a very good hotel
The hotel is large (we were on the 7th floor) with good facilities. Our bedroom was big and spotlessly clean. The entire hotel is well maintained and also clean. Dining is buffet style and the food is of a very good quality with a large choice - you will find something to your taste. However, as the hotel is so large, the dining experience is not relaxed with so many people wandering around the buffet at the same time.
Overall we had a very nice stay.
Now on to the "all inclusive" deal. You need to be very careful as not everything is covered.
Wine - only wine by the glass is included. At most all inclusive hotels you can have wine by the bottle and having to ask waiters for another glass interrupts your meal. Wine by the bottle is available but only at a 50% discount.
Beer - only one beer is included, a local brew called Tropical. Other beers are at a 50% discount.
Cocktails - most cocktails are included but oddly Mojitos are not. You guessed it - you get a 50% discount.
Snacks - these are available throughout the day but are burgers, hot-dogs, pizza, etc served from a hot buffet in the outside bar. Snacks off the menu are not included and some are only offered with a 20% discount.
Bars - after 11.30pm drinks are no longer included and are charged for. When you consider that the main evening show doesn't start until 10.00pm this seems a bit stingy.
Minibar - not included at all. Everywhere else I have stayed on an all-inclusive basis included a stocked mini-bar. For instance Sandals resorts re-stock the bar every other day with wine, beer, spirits and soft drinks. What difference does it make if you want to drink in your room rather than the bar? I quote from the hotel's note that is eft in your room, "In order to improve our services, we have implemented a personalised mini-bar service NOT INCLUDED IN THE ALL INCLUSIVE REGIME". I quote using their use of capitals. How does this improve their services?
Room safe - an essential thing to use but it will cost you 2.50€ a day. This is just a rip-off.
Gym - we looked forward to using the gym facilities but they are only included in the all inclusive deal from 1.00pm to 2.00pm (lunchtime!!) or at a cost of 8.00€ each visit.
Soft drinks - "ordinary" orange juice is included but not fresh - the canaries certainly does not have a shortage of oranges so a rather bizarre rule.
Other point to note is that , as usual, there are no English language TV channels except for Sky News and a cartoon channel. Loads of German channels though. I can never understand why this is always the case - are there strict rules governing UK channels?
Overall a very nice hotel but they need to fully embrace the all-inclusive ethos.
Also be aware that the hotel is on a hill and so the walk back can be tiring on a hot day.

Room Tip: Get one with a sea view on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    697
    423
    148
    56
    34
See reviews for
402
599
39
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenbu
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Very nice and friendly place, great food and perfect service! Everything was just wonderful. Especially the breakfast buffé, the nice hotel staff and the nice weather made our stay a very good one. We look forward to go back some day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

An absolutely wonderful hotel. All the staff, without exception, were cheery and couldn,t do enough for you. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was brilliant. We have been on cruises and the choice and quality of food surpassed. The cleanliness and rooms were superb with wonderful views. We don,t know what else to say - it is just amazing and we will be back hopefully in November and we will stay longer than a week. This is truly a cosmopolitan hotel and this added rather than detracted from the experience.

Room Tip: Above level three for more spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIAPALACEF, Fidelización de Clientes at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are pleased that you are satisfied with your experience and you have had some unforgettable moments.

We appreciate your positive comments about the room with the ocean views and the good cleaning service. It’s also nice to hear that you liked the food.

Once again we would like to thank you for your comments and we hope to see you in November.

Best regards,

Cristian Díaz
Customer Loyalty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

A very good hotel in nearly every aspect - rooms, balconies, swimming pools, open areas and a very helpful staff. The only thing to put a finger on was a choice and quality of lunches and dinners (breakfasts were the best!). Unnecessary broad range of vegetables, cakes and icecreams - with rather standard choice of hot meat and fish. I hope the hotel's management will make some improvements, because I intend to visit the hotel again...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GLORIAPALACEF, Fidelización de Clientes at Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us through Tripadvisor.

It’s a pleasure to hear that you are satisfied with our hotel and you enjoyed your stay in Gloria Palace.

We are happy to know that you liked the swimming pools, rooms and other facilities. Also is nice to hear that our staff was helpful.

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback about the lunch and dinner which we appreciate and take into consideration.

Hoping you will return soon,

Kind regards,

Christian Díaz
Customer Loyalty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We don't usually stay in hotels but wanted a winter break and were delighted to find ourselves at the Gloria Palace. when we checked in the hotel was full and we were given a ground floor room (which was perfectly acceptable) but due to this "inconvenience" we were gifted 2 days free use of the thalassotherapy spa. That was a great experience that we enjoyed late one afternoon before we moved rooms to a higher floor with spectacular views. The staff were so friendly and the food was amazing. A really, really nice holiday experience with a free bus service to Maspalomas and Playa del Ingles too.

Room Tip: All the rooms face out to sea, even he 4th floor has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The major asset for this hotel is the Staff, always cheerful, always helpful. High quality in many aspects including entertaintment and standard of rooms. Excellent welocme on arrival and easy to get around the hotel. nudist area on roof very good faciltiy and the chillo ut lounge on the roof also very enjopyable. Well done to dining room staff excellent service.
Couple of comments in the spirit of helping glora palace acheive even higher scores. food not always ahot as it could be especailly breakfast. The thalassotherapy complex has a lovely pool offering water treatments however there is no instruction how to use it to the best effect. Notwithstanding that, we had a great holday in a very covenient and comfortable hotel. Oh one final commnet, oddly there were brussel sprouts for breakfast, is that normal!!!!!! This a very cosmopolitan hotel and has to cater for many tastes and i suppose some of them include odd breakfast choices! lol. see you soon gloria palace

Room Tip: All rooms are good, we had a family room and it was very quiet peaceful and confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed here last summer and enjoyed our week (all inclusive). We travelled with Thomas Cook and were greeted at reception with glasses of sparkling wine and given a room straight away. The room was clean and spacious with a sofa and balcony with a table and chairs. We had some hiccups with the air con, which seemed slightly temperamental, but other than that everything was great. Had a view over the pools and out to the sea. Was nice to be able to sit out on the balcony of an evening, when we couldn't find anywhere to sit downstairs. Fridge in the room which was a plus. Only downside of the room was that the were simply twin beds pushed together which had a tendency to move apart on the slippery floor in the middle of the night! Drinks were great - almost everything came under the all inclusive, and there were discounts for those that weren't - we had a bottle of good champagne one night and paid 40€ for it which we thought was very good value! The food was good - manic at breakfast, but a good selection of food. Lunch and dinner were quite similar, often a few meats and fish being freshly cooked with a large buffet selection - only downside was that it was quite repetitive. We enjoyed the theme nights, but felt that they could have made the food more themed, rather than simply adding one dish to fit the theme. Lunch was by far our favourite, as it was much calmer and we could sit anywhere. Dinner was done in two sittings and your sitting is assigned to you on arrival for the rest of the week. We chose the latter of the two, which meant that trying to find a seat in the bar/entertainment area in the evening was tricky and meant on two nights we had to resort to the balcony of our room. Only other downside was the pool area. Although a lovely area, many people put their towels on the beds early meaning that if we didn't get there before about 10.30am, we were lucky to find any sunbeds. On some occasions, the towels sat there all day and when we would leave at about 5pm, had still not been used. They say there is a 'no towel' policy and that they would be removed - they should enforce this!! Other than that, we thought it was a lovely hotel with good food, great drinks, and nice rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/ Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000m2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.