We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Holiday from beginning to end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel to your Saves list
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Warrington, Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Holiday from beginning to end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We went to this hotel for a week at the beginning of October.

We booked this holiday direct with the Gloria Palace website, and we booked the transfer from the airport via this site. Full instructions were emailed to us, and upon arrival at the airport, once we had collected our bags, a gentleman was waiting with our names on a board and we were promptly taken to his waiting car for the trip to the Gloria Palace. We were very impressed this this service and would definitely recommend using this, the cost was 35 Euros.

We realised that this hotel was an older design to the type I would normally pick, but don't let this put you off, because what is inside this hotel is absolutely fantastic.

Check in was very prompt, I requested a room on a high floor, and we were given a room on the 8th floor (which is the highest floor for accommodation). The room was very nice, it was spotlessly clean, and the view from the balcony was great. The bathroom products were plentiful and were topped up everyday. We hired a safe, I know people complain about having to pay for this facility, but we have paid in every hotel we have been in.

On our last day for some reason the safe wouldn't open, we called reception and within minutes the maintenance men came up and opened the safe.

The food was lovely, I am a fussy eater, but there was always something I liked, they have a section where they cook various meats fish, and there was a always a good variety of all types of food and desserts.

We went all inclusive, and you do have to pay for named wines and branded drinks, most of them at 50% of the cost, and you have to pay 50% for drinks at the rooftop bar.

The pool area was very nice, we didn't have to get up early to get sunbeds, it was starting to get busy as we were coming home, and I would imagine it would be hectic in the school holidays, as the hotel seemed to cater well for children. We didn't participate with the animation team, because we just wanted to relax, there was no pressure to join in, but for those that did it looked like they had a good programme of events.

In the evenings the entertainment was held indoors, we are led to believe that during the summer months it is held outside, where they have a stage set up. Most of the shows we saw were enjoyable.

There was a lovely roof top pool area, where you could pay to have a sun bed for the day, which included a towel and water. We didn't actually sunbathe up there, but we did go up and have a drink several times, it was lovely. As stated previously if you are all inclusive you do have to pay 50% for all drinks, it was a good idea to do this as kept this bar area quieter. There is a nudist area on the roof as well, we didnt use this and understand that you dont have to pay for this.

The staff and the service at this hotel were first class. There is a lovely lady called Candy - Public Relations - who has a desk in the reception area, she was so helpful and knowledgeable, and is a real asset to this hotel.

The pool bar staff were excellent too, never had to wait long for drinks, all the staff were great, especially the head barman and a young lad that was working there during our stay, they made it a pleasure to go to the bar.

Wi-fi is more or less everywhere in the hotel, this is a big plus for us as we like to keep in touch.

We went into the Thallasotherapy for a couple of hours one day just into the pool, having never been in one before it was great and a nice experience.

The hotel is set up a hill about a 10 minute walk from the beach and a local shopping centre, which does look a bit run down, but unless you like going out there is no reason to leave this hotel.

Well done to the Management at this hotel, all the staff everywhere in the hotel appeared as if they enjoyed working there and made dealing with them for the customer a pleasurable experience.

We would highly recommend a visit to the Gloria Palace at San Augustin and intend returning as soon as possible!

Room Tip: All the rooms have a sea facing view, it would just depend whether you like being high up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    695
    422
    148
    56
    34
See reviews for
402
597
39
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
clonmel
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a pleasant and relaxing fortnight in Gloria Palace San Augustine,which lies about 3o minutes from the airport.Despite arriving at 9 o'clock in the evening we were met by extremely helpful reception staff who ushered us into the dining room for our first evening meal.Food is varied, and there is always something for even the most picky eater, but after three or four days the same dishes started to appear.Having said that there were evenings when they produced quail, duckling,squid and fresh tuna. Breakfast was a treat, with the tastiest bacon rashers I have ever eaten, eggs scrambled,fried,boiled or as omelet, with the choice of fruits or continental. The outside pool area has loads of sunbeds, with some nice shady areas,and there is even a special invalid chair to allow access to the swimming pool if required. Daytime entertainment is the usual petanque, darts, tabletennis etc.,but the evening show was held in a very warm inside bar area, which we found a bit stifling. We would have preferred outside easy listening entertainment, but this area seemed to be used only by children (of whom there were many).The bedrooms are large,with a nice adjoining bathroom and a sunny balcony, but the bed was really hard, which may not suit everyone. It seems they can be changed if requested.The room also has a fridge,television and teamaking facilities, but one of my bugbears is to be charged for the use of the safe, which ended up at E35'00 for 14 nights. I keep saying that the safe is only to keep valuables out of the way of hotel staff, although our cleaning maid was magnificent, singing beautifully as she worked, and like all the hotel staff was really pleasant. One word of warning: The hotel sits on a VERY steep hill, which makes coming home on foot extremely difficult, but against this there is a free courtesy bus to and from the hotel, and a taxi only costs three euro. The shopping centre at the bottom of the hill is suffering from the recession,but still has some nice bars and restaurants, and the nearby cliff walk and beach are worth using.There is also a local bus service to Puerta Rica and Mogan. As a mature couple we were a bit surprised at the number of children at the hotel during school term, but families with children were delighted at the hotel being so child friendly

Room Tip: obviously the higher rooms are quieter, but overall we were pleased to be on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great first impression; beautiful entrance & pleasant welcome at reception(glass of Cava - nice touch)
Check in was professional & quick; shown to our room in no time.
Room very spacious, modern & clean with lovely bathroom, 2 x sinks & plenty of bath products which were topped up every day. Adequate wardrobe space & hangers.
Tea & coffee making facilities in the room but not topped up everyday. Soon remedied after a word with the cleaner.
Swimming pool area lovely; kept immaculate by pool attendants & service at pool bar very good. Nice spot for a relaxing "sun-downer".
Poolside entertainment going on throughout the day - fun to watch; but no pressure to to join in.
No problem with sunbeds - plenty for everyone & attendants always happy to help find & set up brollies.
Food buffet style - quite varied & tasty ;something for all tastes. One major concern though, was the complete absence of hand cleaning gel. Alarming, considering the hundreds of people handling the serving utensils!
Service in the dining area generally quick, friendly & professional.
Some very good evening entertainment, both children & adult. The team work very hard as do the bar staff.
Did not experience the spa area as we wanted to make the most of the sunshine but it looked gorgeous!
Gym was good but we thought the provision of 1 x hour only at lunchtime free of charge to all inclusive guests was a bit of a "token gesture"
All in all though, a very relaxing enjoyable holiday & would consider visiting again.

Room Tip: We had room 312 which was okay with a a sort of sea view but a higher floor room would be better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

recently returned from a very pleasant stay at gloria palace san agustin and having stayed in all the gloria palace hotels on the island we were not disappointed from the greeting as you arrived, the very pleasant and helpful staff, particulaly in the restaurant good choice of food something for all tastes plenty choice of sunbeds around pool area very clean has said before prefect r and r We had 10 nights and it flew my benchmark for a good holiday The resort itself a bit tired looking but the free bus into playa ingles and maspolomas was very handy for beach days Think this hotel chain takes some beating for the price wouldnt hesitate to stay in any of their hotels roll on 2012

Room Tip: myself I prefer upper rooms perhaps next time away from the outside stage as it was noisy but not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely holiday at the Gloria Palace and fail to understand a lot of the negative remarks - so some detail about each aspect of the hotel.
Firstly checkin: Excellent! Nice welcoming glass of cava or orange juice, very fast check in because they have lots of staff on, all very pleasant and helpful. They speak perfect English too. No complaints here at all and they organise your luggage up to the room for you
Next the rooms: Top marks here, they are exactly as you see in the hotel photos. Very roomy, with the extra space because of the bed/setee and coffee table. Large verandas with stunning views over the bay, you can see as far as the Maspalomas dunes. There is a kettle with tea and coffee (these don't always get replenished though - big downside, but if you ask at reception they will send some up). Large flatscreen tv which has sky news, but no other English channels. Plenty of wardrobe space and hangers and a safe if you want to pay 2.50 Euros per day. The bathrooms are adequately equipped, with 2 basins. Bath is a bit small but the shower (over bath) is fine. Shampoo, bath gel and soap supplied. The rooms are cleaned every day to a good standard.
Food: bit hit and miss but there is lots of variety so i would challenge anyone not to find something they can eat. Each night is themed, different country, and some were better than others but in the main more than edible. Deserts were a bit repetative and the usual Spanish cakes etc which all taste the same, but there was always fresh fruit and ice cream - 6 flavours! Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and fried eggs cooked freshly if you want them. There is a snack bar (called Snackbar!) where you can get snacks all day so you will never go hungry!
Pool: lovely pool areas and more than enough sun beds for everyone. Only a few selfish people put their towels out early and didn't re-appear until after lunch.
Drinks: we were all inclusive and this was probably the biggest let down of all. There were cocktails on the menu, but the quality was very poor. Don't bother with the margheritas or the daqueris - they taste the same and not very nice. Some of the fruity ones were OK but al the drinks were very weak, if you want normal strength you have to ask for a double. Only local spirits are included in AI, you have to pay half price for branded drinks. The menus make it very clear though what's included in AI and what's not. They also make it very clear in the information you're given on checkin that AI is only untill 11.30, so those people who get caught out have only themselves to blame. You have to use a room key everytime you order drinks even though you have a wristband on.
Spa: can't comment - we didn't use it
So in summary I would recommend this hotel for a holiday without reservation, I couldn't pick any big holes in anything and we certainly enjoyed it!

Room Tip: Go for a high floor - the views are stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

My Wife and I have just returned from a week at the Gloria Palace San Agustin celebrating our 5 year anniversary. This a truly lovely hotel and we were treated very well indeed. The hotel is in good condition and has a modern feel. We stayed on a half board basis and found the food to be very good and the drinks were reasonably priced also. Overall many more positives which I note have been already listed in previous reviews but some of our favourites included the amazing spa, rooftop terrace, the pools and bars in the resort. Some negatives which I will list here for the benefit of other travellers:
- air conditioning in room not great, also beds not the most comfortable although you can request a topper which we did and found then to be fine.
- safe in room; having to pay circa €14 and also a €5 deposit still baffles me, particularly as said safe is attached to a wall, but seems to be the norm in other hotels we have visited in the Canaries.
- the hotel seems to have in place a work placement programme where they employ a number of young people. We found it strange that these young people who may have been serving you food/drinks/guest relations during the day would often then be seen sun bathing at the pool, hanging out in the bars/other guest areas and generally swanning about the place in a most unprofessional manner at times, unlike any of the actual full time staff who were most professional and not seen socialising in the work environment when off duty.
Overall though a great hotel and a really nice week, comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Have just returned from the Gloria palace.....lovely hotel, friendly staff, excellent food, lots of choice, spotlessly clean. Perfect place for r and r...if your looking for lively this is not the place for you...tho not far from playa deal ingles...benidorm on speed!!!!!!! Had the perfect restful holiday and would definitely return !

Room Tip: Insist on main hotel...wonderful sea views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel

Address: C/ Las Margaritas, s/n, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Green Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Spa Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#1 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#2 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 448
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in San Agustin, Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel is a 4-star establishment built in 1989 and fully refurbished in 2007. The spacious hotel has sea views, top quality cuisine, facilities specially designed for families, a thalassotherapy centre and family-oriented, friendly service within an atmosphere of a family business. In 1998 the Talasoterapia Canarias centre was opened, in an emblematic building consisting of more than 6.000m2, to provide health and wellbeing services. A real oasis of comfort. A dream within your reach. You can be sure of fine food and exceptional service at the panoramic a la carte restaurant Gorbea, which specialises in Basque cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloria Palace San Agustin Hotel San Agustin
Gloria Palace Hotel San Agustin
San Agustin Gloria Palace
Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gloria Palace San Agustin Thalasso & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.