We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dunas Don Gregory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dunas Don Gregory to your Saves list
Dunas Don Gregory
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Las Dalias 11, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
west sussex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel, great location, fantastic food on the all inclusive, well worth upgrading to premium all inclusive for better standard of drinks.
Hotel is based around the more mature clientele (saga holidays).
Evening entertainment very limited.
Mini fridge in room but was not stocked as a mini bar, which would have been nice. Had to go out and buy large bottles of water.
Rooms very basic on the ground floor but cleaned every day.
No tea or coffee facilities in room.
Beach towels provided but a deposit of 10euros required.
Wifi is chargeable.
Hotel staff very pleasant.
Hard to get a sun lounger round the pool, so spent every day on the beach which is easily accessible from the hotel.
Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Atención al Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks a lot for your review. We take note of your comments in order to improve for the future. Much to our pleasure we acknowledge from your comment that you were fully satisfied with the facilities and services provided by the hotel team.

We will pass on all your congratulations to our hard - working staff.

We hope to see you in the Don Gregory Hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

José Gil
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    154
    51
    28
    17
See reviews for
120
234
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

We booked our honeymoon on the back of excellent reviews and were not disappointed. We stayed for a week from 27 January. Initially we were given a split level room which we did not find to our taste but were soon moved to a room on the 7th floor which was superb. The rooms are all sea facing and the beds are very comfortable. The standard of cleanliness is excellent, the staff never seem to stop working! We stayed 'all inclusive' and the selection of food was the best we have ever had at an All Inclusive stay. We found all the staff at the hotel to be polite and friendly and very hardworking. The location is fantastic being right on the beach with direct access via a private gate. We spent many hours walking along the beach and the promenade and one day walked all the way to Maspalomas Lighthouse!!! Needless to say we caught the bus back which stops virtually opposite the hotel! Our only criticisms were the close proximity to each other of the sunbeds and the evening entertainment. The magic show and flamenco evenings were excellent and the singer guitarist was very good, but the others were mediocre. However these are personal opinions but did not in any way spoil our honeymoon! We met some lovely people of various nationalities. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Atención al Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us. Your comments are appreciated and we will use them when reviewing our product and services in the future.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

José Gil.
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston-super-Mare, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous week! We (husband and I and our 15 year old son) have had the most relaxing and enjoyable escape from the British weather. Super food, and fabulous location! Meals in the upper part of the restaurant, overlooking the sea were a treat as were our walks/ runs along the walkway and our swims in the big Atlantic rollers. In fact so nice to be in such a calming place! Staff were charming, polite and respectful and yes, English is not the main 2nd language at the hotel but why should it be? Great to spend time around other nationalities and gracious, fun-loving older people! Came away uplifted! Thank you!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Atención al Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your stay with us on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you found the team to be so friendly and the facilities to be to your liking. I will ensure your positive comments are passed on to the team, and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay in the area.

Kind Regards,

José Gil
Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed for 3 weeks in January with SAGA. Our Saga Rep Martin was brilliant, nothing too much trouble. The hotel has a lovely beach location and we had a great room on the eight floor. Although a basic room it had 2 floors with the bedroom having two large fitted wardrobes. Facing south west the balcony had sun from mid-day till dusk. One of the best rooms we have stayed in. Cleaned every day and with regular changes of bed-linen and daily changes of towels it was ideal. The staff work incredible hard and are really friendly and polite. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, plenty of choice and the themed evenings added to the variety of freshly cooked dishes on offer. Entertainment nightly and varied. Martin also ran weekly movie screenings in the small cinema and quizzes which we thoroughly enjoyed. He also led local walks which added to the variety of day time activities. We went with him on a 2 hour walk along the shore to the lighthouse at Maspalomas - brilliant. Local buses leave from the main road across from the hotel - its a cheap and regular service to all parts of the Island. Las Palmas is under an hour away and cost under 3 Euros. We thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants some winter sun in a lovely location. Also many thanks to Martin and all the staff at the Dunas Don Gregory.

Room Tip: If you want a good view ask for a room on a higher floor when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Atención al Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you have had such a nice and relaxing holiday in our hotel. We will pass on your congratulations to our staff, because good feedback is the best motivation for us. Thank you for your nice comments on the hotel, we are very pleased if our customers are satisfied.

We hope to see you again soon at the Dunas Don Gregory.

Kind regards,
Jose Gil
Customer Support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We travelled as a family of four with Saga. Martin the rep was excellent. The hotel has much to commend it. The rooms are spacious, although drawer facility is limited. Everywhere was clean and the staff friendly but somewhat overworked. The activities were well organised and the evening entertainment was good. We were not happy with the rigid rows of recliners around the pool area, although within a limited space there is little that can be done about this. The biggest complaint we had was with the access to the buffet at dinner time, when incoming and outgoing residents were competing with the diners in a limited area. Surely this could be overcome, possibly by relocating the access door or moving the buffet area. There was ample food variety, although occasionally the quality suffered.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Atención al Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Of course, we are very interested in improving the hotel service.
We try to eliminate gaps quickly and therefore your criticism is very important and useful.
We hope we can welcome you and we can show our willingness to improve.

Kind regards,

Jose Gil
Customer service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Me and the mrs went here to celebrate our 1st yr wedding anniversary in August 2013.

Dumped in the least romantic air con broken flee invested room imaginable in 35 degree heat with twin beds, even after I emailed them in advance saying our first night of arrival was our anniversary. Ruined the whole holiday as did cramped outside space and unsuitability of hotel for couples.

Great food and nice weather.

We wre the only English people there which isn't a massive deal but its always nice to speak yo the odd person when your away so brush up on your German if you go.

Some staff nice others I guess don't speak English or are just rude.

Stink of sewage some mornings came through air con ( which did work noisily in our replacement room).

Go if you want but don't expect much.

Room Tip: Not on 8th floor I hope for your sake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Don Gregory Guest

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
With reference to your email we have received with room request unfortunately we could not give a room with double bed because they were all occupied. Please understand that we have a limited number of rooms with double bed and always we try to do our best to fulfill clients wishes but in case that were all occupied we could not give you this room on your arrival day. However you received a very nice room with a good sea view and the next day we have offered a change of room on the 6th floor with double bed.

We regret to know that you were not fully satisfied with our hotel. We appreciate your comments with its clarity and objectivity, which help us in the process of continuous improvement of our service.

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your staying with us.
We would be very pleased if we had a new chance in the future to convince you about the quality of our service.

Kind regards,
Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We chose the hotel for it's location next to the beach,and it was perfect. We then got a bonus in that the staff at the hotel were outstanding and made you feel just that little bit special. There is no doubt that we will try to make a return visit next year. However we will have to diet before we go,as the selection of very good food led to an extra notch on our belts!

Room Tip: Try for the upper levels if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest
We would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We were delighted to read your feedback following your recent stay at Dunas Don Gregory.
We are really pleased that you loved the location and most importantly the service you received by our staff. As always your kind words have been passed on to our team.

Thank you one more time and we look forward to welcoming you soon in Don Gregory.

Kind regards.
Antonio Cabrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunas Don Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Don Gregory

Address: Calle Las Dalias 11, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Family Hotel in San Agustin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunas Don Gregory 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, with its privileged location, is the closest establishment to a beach on Gran Canaria. It is located on the first line of the Las Burras and San Agustin beaches, with direct access to the beach from the hotel. All double rooms and suites have stunning views over the Atlantic Ocean. With unbeatable views and exquisite surroundings, this hotel is ideal for couples wishing to enjoy the sun and the breeze. Basic Wi-fi: free. Premium Wi-fi: at a charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dunas Don Gregory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Don Gregory Hotel San Agustin
Dunas Don Gregory Maspalomas
Dunas Don Gregory San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunas Don Gregory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.