We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter Hot Spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunas Don Gregory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dunas Don Gregory to your Saves list
Dunas Don Gregory
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Las Dalias 11, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in San Agustin
Shrewsbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Winter Hot Spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed for 3 weeks in January with SAGA. Our Saga Rep Martin was brilliant, nothing too much trouble. The hotel has a lovely beach location and we had a great room on the eight floor. Although a basic room it had 2 floors with the bedroom having two large fitted wardrobes. Facing south west the balcony had sun from mid-day till dusk. One of the best rooms we have stayed in. Cleaned every day and with regular changes of bed-linen and daily changes of towels it was ideal. The staff work incredible hard and are really friendly and polite. We thoroughly enjoyed the food, plenty of choice and the themed evenings added to the variety of freshly cooked dishes on offer. Entertainment nightly and varied. Martin also ran weekly movie screenings in the small cinema and quizzes which we thoroughly enjoyed. He also led local walks which added to the variety of day time activities. We went with him on a 2 hour walk along the shore to the lighthouse at Maspalomas - brilliant. Local buses leave from the main road across from the hotel - its a cheap and regular service to all parts of the Island. Las Palmas is under an hour away and cost under 3 Euros. We thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone who wants some winter sun in a lovely location. Also many thanks to Martin and all the staff at the Dunas Don Gregory.

Room Tip: If you want a good view ask for a room on a higher floor when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Atención al Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are glad to hear that you have had such a nice and relaxing holiday in our hotel. We will pass on your congratulations to our staff, because good feedback is the best motivation for us. Thank you for your nice comments on the hotel, we are very pleased if our customers are satisfied.

We hope to see you again soon at the Dunas Don Gregory.

Kind regards,
Jose Gil
Customer Support
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    153
    51
    28
    16
See reviews for
120
233
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

We travelled as a family of four with Saga. Martin the rep was excellent. The hotel has much to commend it. The rooms are spacious, although drawer facility is limited. Everywhere was clean and the staff friendly but somewhat overworked. The activities were well organised and the evening entertainment was good. We were not happy with the rigid rows of recliners around the pool area, although within a limited space there is little that can be done about this. The biggest complaint we had was with the access to the buffet at dinner time, when incoming and outgoing residents were competing with the diners in a limited area. Surely this could be overcome, possibly by relocating the access door or moving the buffet area. There was ample food variety, although occasionally the quality suffered.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Atención al Cliente at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Of course, we are very interested in improving the hotel service.
We try to eliminate gaps quickly and therefore your criticism is very important and useful.
We hope we can welcome you and we can show our willingness to improve.

Kind regards,

Jose Gil
Customer service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Me and the mrs went here to celebrate our 1st yr wedding anniversary in August 2013.

Dumped in the least romantic air con broken flee invested room imaginable in 35 degree heat with twin beds, even after I emailed them in advance saying our first night of arrival was our anniversary. Ruined the whole holiday as did cramped outside space and unsuitability of hotel for couples.

Great food and nice weather.

We wre the only English people there which isn't a massive deal but its always nice to speak yo the odd person when your away so brush up on your German if you go.

Some staff nice others I guess don't speak English or are just rude.

Stink of sewage some mornings came through air con ( which did work noisily in our replacement room).

Go if you want but don't expect much.

Room Tip: Not on 8th floor I hope for your sake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Don Gregory Guest

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor.
With reference to your email we have received with room request unfortunately we could not give a room with double bed because they were all occupied. Please understand that we have a limited number of rooms with double bed and always we try to do our best to fulfill clients wishes but in case that were all occupied we could not give you this room on your arrival day. However you received a very nice room with a good sea view and the next day we have offered a change of room on the 6th floor with double bed.

We regret to know that you were not fully satisfied with our hotel. We appreciate your comments with its clarity and objectivity, which help us in the process of continuous improvement of our service.

We would like to apologize for the inconveniences regarding your staying with us.
We would be very pleased if we had a new chance in the future to convince you about the quality of our service.

Kind regards,
Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We chose the hotel for it's location next to the beach,and it was perfect. We then got a bonus in that the staff at the hotel were outstanding and made you feel just that little bit special. There is no doubt that we will try to make a return visit next year. However we will have to diet before we go,as the selection of very good food led to an extra notch on our belts!

Room Tip: Try for the upper levels if you want a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear guest
We would like to thank you for evaluating our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We were delighted to read your feedback following your recent stay at Dunas Don Gregory.
We are really pleased that you loved the location and most importantly the service you received by our staff. As always your kind words have been passed on to our team.

Thank you one more time and we look forward to welcoming you soon in Don Gregory.

Kind regards.
Antonio Cabrera
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

This is a very nice hotel, in an excellent location, right beside the beach in San Agustin. All rooms have a sea view. It has a pool area and sun terrace with fabulous sea views There is a promenade between the hotel and the beach stretching for miles in both directions. It has very friendly staff who seem to enjoy looking after the guests. The food was also very good and varied each day with themes from different countries around the world, eg; Mexico, Italy etc. Its easy to visit other resorts from here, car hire is in the shopping centre across the road and there are frequent buses to all parts of the island. Negative points were the lack of sunbeds (booked at 6.30am!), and lack of English speaking TV channels. However Overall we would be happy to recommend this hotel to others. We intend to return.

Room Tip: Ask for upper floors for the best sea view and least noise from the evening entertainment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you very much for your comment and above all for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Is nice to know that you like our location, food and ocean view. We have also noted your comments about the booking sunbeds in the morning.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you soon

Kind Regards,
Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dornbirn, Austria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The hotel was awarded 4 stars, whilst in total I would give it barely 3 stars. What saves it is the fantastic terrace with a fabulous view over the ocean and a very good location.

We booked a suite in November 2013. To cut it short: they urgently need to be renovated. the carpet was dirty and dingy, the fridge more black than white inside and whilst the bathroom was clean, everything looks and feels very run-down. When we entered our room we had to call the cleaning lady since there were literally tiny moist sand-piles in our entrance area.

I had the chance to also have a close look to the normal rooms and they seem a lot better with tiles on the floor instead of a carpet and much better mountings in the bathroom.

The service was good and mostly friendly whilst especially the waiters seem rushed and overstrained during rush hour in the morning.

What I found most horrible is that it is common to towel-reserve a sun bed. Make sure you book your sun bed by 7:30 in the morning if you want to spend a lazy day near the pool and not on the beach directly. After that it is all taken.

With the gorgeous sound of the ocean so dominant and soothing, they could spare themselves the pool music....

The food was o.k. I would have wished more than juice made of powder in the morning though....We spent a lot of evenings outside the hotel whilst we had booked half-board. Unfortunately apart from Gazpacho, they did not over any typical food for the area....

We travelled with 2 small children. The staff was extremely friendly. Yet since mostly people 60+ are the target group of the hotel, not all of them really appreciate children during their vacation so there one needs to be cautious...

All in all: very relaxing vacation since we spent most of the day on the beach and on the terrace....

Room Tip: Before the suites are not renovated, don't take them....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunashotels, Director General at Dunas Don Gregory, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for your opinion about Dunas Don Gregory on Tripadvisor.
We appreciate your comments with its clarity and objectivity, which help us in the process of continuous improvement of our service.
We are sorry, that we could not satisfy you with our room. I would like to inform you that we are planning to renovate them in near future.
We are happy anyway that at least you enjoyed location of our hotel and ocean view from the room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,
Antonio Cabrera
Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

BEWARE! This hotel seems to have an overbooking policy. One day before you will be contacted and told you have to be moved to another hotel. This happened to us, plus several other people on the same day. Reading these reviews carefully, you'll see it's happened to others too. The Gregory hotel seems to be the trap, and then they bump you off to a much bigger and considerably worse hotel - whilst promising an upgrade of room and service.

As you can tell by other reviews on this hotel, it's a nice one - but the one we were moved to was not. We were given complementary 'all inclusive' and moved to Dunas Suites and Villas. For a couple, it's a hell hole - packed with kids, incredibly noisy restaurant, noisy room. We immediately complained, and had to wait 90 minutes to even speak to the manager because she was too busy. Eventually, tired, upset, hot, thirsty, and a whole day of holiday lost - we got our refund and we then moved to a different hotel. TERRIBLE customer service, and terrible attitude. AVOID ALL DUNAS HOTELS!

Room Tip: Avoid the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunas Don Gregory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunas Don Gregory

Address: Calle Las Dalias 11, 35100 San Agustin, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > San Agustin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Agustin
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Agustin
#4 On the Beach Hotel in San Agustin
#4 Family Hotel in San Agustin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunas Don Gregory 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel, with its privileged location, is the closest establishment to a beach on Gran Canaria. It is located on the first line of the Las Burras and San Agustin beaches, with direct access to the beach from the hotel. All double rooms and suites have stunning views over the Atlantic Ocean. With unbeatable views and exquisite surroundings, this hotel is ideal for couples wishing to enjoy the sun and the breeze. Basic Wi-fi: free. Premium Wi-fi: at a charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dunas Don Gregory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunas Don Gregory Hotel San Agustin
Dunas Don Gregory Maspalomas
Dunas Don Gregory San Agustin, Gran Canaria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunas Don Gregory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.