We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, not perfect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Faro Jandia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Faro Jandia to your Saves list
Hotel Faro Jandia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Saladar 17 | Playa del Matorral, 35626 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Morro del Jable
Newcastle, Staffordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good hotel, not perfect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We have stayed at the Faro on several previous occasions, if it is your first stay at this hotel you may think it's pretty much perfect, however, after many years it is still very good but we can see where the hotel is trying to make savings.
Good points: The hotel is well maintained and the housekeeping is excellent. Staff are helpful and friendly. The food choice at dinner is not as varied as in previous years, however, it is good and of a high standard. The rooms are spacious and all have good views over the pool or sea. We have found they will always try to allocate you your room of choice. The air conditioing in our room was very poor and on the second day it broke, however, Begonia who works on reception very quickly moved us to another superior room with a sea view and very efficient air conditioning. We should mention Begonia is one of the best hotel receptionist's we have met on holiday, any problems and she will go out of her way to help. The Pool area is kept clean and is lovely and quiet, great for a relaxing holiday. The spa and indoor pool are worth a visit, ideal if you visit during the winter months when there are cloudy days. Hotel is in an ideal location overlooking the beach and just a few hundred metres away from the local bars and restaurants, Olympic restaurant recommended. The bar service in the hotel is excellent and thanks to Jose we have fond memories of many Champagne cocktails and Kirsch Royale cocktails, the perfect end to a perfect day sitting on the terrace sipping cocktails, wonderful. We celebrated out 30th wedding anniversary during our holiday and the hotel, (again I think it was Begonia) who arranged for Champagne to be delivery to our room on our anniversary. Not too far from the old town of Morro Jable which is lovely walk along the beach and over the pathway with has lots of beautiful flowers either side of it. There are some lovely restaurants in the town of Morro Jable and also some that overlook the ocean, Morro Jable is now pedestrianised which is much better.
Bad points. Not too many. There are not enough staff, especially during the breakfast period, tables are left cluttered and we often had to wait for tables to be cleared. No fault of the waiters, there just are not enough of them. The air conditioning should be checked it is working before rooms are allocated. The entertainment appears to be provided by the in-house staff so it's not brilliant, we chose to go out most evenings, our choice. Many of the staff are new this year, some appear to be young and inexperienced and it shows, that said, they do work extremely hard and are always willing to help and offer good service when they can.
On refelection we would recommend this hotel due to it's location, good food and cleanliness, there are some niggles but overall it is a good hotel, along with the Riu Palace in Jandia it is probably one of the best hotels to stay in whilst visiting Jandia.

Room Tip: Book a superior seaview room, floor 4 or above, it has a very large balcony with sun loungers plus l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    116
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
67
230
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our third time to this hotel - its like home from home. They managed to get us the room we requested from our previous stays, all staff are excellent. Rooms very clean, nothing too much trouble. I asked for milk for the room one night - a housekeeper brought a silver tray with about 10 little pots on it.
We thought the entertainment was slightly down in our opinion, but perhaps as the island is in a recession this could be expected.
So many faces from previous holidays who acknowledge you, even though unable to speak our language.
We had covered most of the trips previously so our only trip was to go to the other end of island Corralejo. This was good for shops, the harbour, ferry trips to Lanzarote, and the wonderful sand dunes which had to be seen to be believed. The soft white sand is like sand from an egg timer. Although we had an enjoyable day, we would still prefer to go to the quieter end in the south.
Next to the hotel is an English pub -The Boot and Ball, all sports shown if you are interested, or quieter areas if you only want to drink. For us now this is like our local but abroad.
The only problem as we see it is that we have to wait until next year to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We are returning customers to this lovely hotel. On our first visit in May 2012 we booked flights only and walked in countless hotels in the Morro Jable and Jandia area, this one stood out as the best with a very nice relaxing ambience as soon as you enter the Hotel. The food is very good with the usual large hot/cold buffet style for breakfast and evening meal, plus chefs on hand cooking fresh to order.
The rooms are functional with comfortable beds, spacious bathroom and good air conditioning. The only downside is the glass fronted balcony so privacy is slightly compromised, although reception are happy to change rooms if you are not satisfied. The sea view rooms give a great view of the lighthouse and sea, as a returning customer you are upgraded for free!
Good pool area which does get a bit busy so we often opted to walk 5 mins to the beach. To the right the beach is nudist so a good chance to tan those white bits !!! If you fancy it....
The Spa is very well equipped with all the treatments and areas you find in a good UK Spa. The Gym is next to the Spa, includes a reasonable range plus free weights but space is limited.
To sum up a very good place to stay, my favourite on the Island.

Room Tip: Sea view room recommended, if your budget allows there are a few suites with hot tubs on the balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

Just got back from a really relaxing holiday . The hotel is in a good position for shops bars and beach . The pool is great and you can allways get a sunbed .rooms are very clean and bright but go for a higher floor as there are trees in front of the lower floor balconys and the garden view rooms are dark and dingy .the restaurant is well laid out and food is good . I will defiantly go back again as I loved the quiet relaxing pace of this hotel . My only moan is they could do with a few more bar and restaurant staff as sometimes there was to long a wait for a drink

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Chose this hotel from several in the Thomas Cook brochure....great choice! Excellent location, spotlessly clean, great pool & longers and lovely staff.
We had a lovely room but the air con packed up after a week. We reported it and they tried to sort the problem but couldn't. We were immediately offered another room (sea view) and moved straight away. Tea/coffee making in rooms is standard as are robes & slippers.
Only downside for me was the dinner menu.....not very hot and too much veal/sausage/fish. Breakfast was great though...and food was plentiful.
On departure day they will try their best to accommodate a late check out if required and do not charge for this, unlike other hotels. We will definitely go back

Room Tip: They all seem to be good.... the lower floors have a pool view & the higher rooms have a sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just returned back after a lovely weeks holiday,the hotel was ideally located for shops and beach,
and the pool area was very nice, plenty of sunbeds to choose from, the food was good for a buffet, and it was great to have a late breakfast uptill 11oclock, the rooms were nice and clean, and the cleaners left nice little finishing touches with the towls and bed covers, the staff were all pleasant and helpfull, the entertainment was better than most and noise was not a problem as it finished between 11 and 12 oclock and if your patio doors were shut you could not really here it, there were mostly german holiday makers All in all a very relaxing quite holiday, a few extras you had to pay for like water at table and some facilities, but really hard to find something to complain about, would go back again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Just returned from Faro Jandia. Arrived late night after a 2hr transfer (due to dropping off guests at other hotels - much quicker going back at just over an hour). Check in was very quick and the reception was very helpful ( as were all staff). They helpfully had kept the dining room open so we had a small meal when we got there. We were allocated one of the rooms near to reception which turned out to be very handy with pushchair and convenient for pool.We were initially a bit reluctant as we could hear the evening entertainment but it wasnt really a problem once in the room. You could still just about hear it but not a problem for us or kids and we are fairly sensitive to noisy rooms. Room was a good size and very clean. This room was in the shade which suited us perfectly after long hot walks to beach. Walkway to beach was more or less across the road and a five minute walk out across a raised walkway which was not a problem with pushchair. At the end then its a short drag of 50m or so across level sand to the sea with our toddler walking next to us. Beach was excellent one of the best we have been too on our travels - long white sandy stretch with lifeguard and very gentle slope ideal for kids to wonder in and out of ( with a bit of surf a bit further out which the kids loved). There is a useful shower and toilet by the walkway with a baby changing table. Very hot during the day with little shade(you can hire parasol) but from about 5.30 onwards ideal for the younger kids (although as we had chosen the earlier food sitting it was a dash back at 6 to eat before 8pm). Hotel food was good - certainly as good as most buffet selections we have had in Europe and Far East: you could be as healthy or unhealthy as you wanted. Only disappointment was being charged for water at our table in the evenings - they should just stick on a few euros at the start so you arent having to go through the motions of signing etc Drinks and lunchtime snacks are very reasonably priced compared to surrounding restaurants. Pool area was good and big enough for a proper swim. There was a small toddler pool to the side as well. Alway plenty of loungers and parasols so can relax in shade with kids .The hotel also had tennis and minigolf although there was a charge for these of a few euros per person ( perhaps not for all inclusive guests?)
Just enough in the parade of shops to spend an hour with the option of spending 4 euros to get to the older part of town. There was usual selection of arcades, bazaars and some upmarket shops and a super dino supermarket a minute away for water , beer, food etc
Overall a great holiday in a fairly quiet resort. Extra transfer time made up for by proximity to beach ,the beach itself and the hotel/pool. Great for families or someone wth with a big pile of books to read...

Room Tip: rooms near reception very good for pushchairs and pool. Dont have sea view but fairly private garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Faro Jandia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Faro Jandia

Address: Avenida de Saladar 17 | Playa del Matorral, 35626 Morro del Jable, Pajara, Fuerteventura, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Fuerteventura > Jandia Peninsula > Pajara > Morro del Jable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Morro del Jable
#1 Luxury Hotel in Morro del Jable
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Faro Jandia 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Faro Jandia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Faro Jandia Hotel
Faro Jandia Peninsula
Hotel Faro Jandia Fuerteventura/Morro Del Jable

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Faro Jandia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.