We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Globales Verdemar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Globales Verdemar to your Saves list
Globales Verdemar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/Ramon de Moncada 14, Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the verdermer from the 22nd to the 26th October 2012..
I could not have asked for anything better! The view was amazing! Location beautiful..
Quiet but still a lot to do. Was close to end of season.
Would definitely recommend to anybody who just wants a nice relaxing break..
Also it only cost 8 euro to get to magaluf beach which was also beautiful..
Boat trips pick you up right outside the hotel as its right on the sea front..
All in all a fantastic holiday and I will definitely be going back either in the summer or in October again :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    126
    66
    35
    56
See reviews for
126
143
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Lets start with the good points; the view is fantastic and our room was not robbed. Now the bad points; room was dirty when we checked in, smell of the room was disgusting, the glasses were disgusting, the window had a greasy mark of someones hand, the staff were hostile people (with exception of the bar staff). No entertainment except bingo and kids songs. Had to pay for sunbeds. Ordered a burger and chips and it was so yukky that after one bite I didn't let my daughter have any more. Terrible noise within the narrow corridors which made echos and we couldn't sleep. Need I say anymore?

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Verdemar, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for take time sharing with us the sensations obtained during your stay in our hotel.

However, we fell very sorry that all service received was not up to the standards you expected. That is something that concerns us, because we work very hard every day to make our guest happy.

We will pass on your comments to all staff, please be assured that we will take them all into consideration. This always help us to improve our serviced to know what we are doing wrong and therefore must be improved.

Once again thank you for your comments,

Wish you all the best,
Matías Melo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Apartment robbed on first night, brand new samsung S3 and a necklace of huge sentimental value stolen. We complained to the hotel staff who blamed us for losing them. Paid wifi for the room for 20 euro and it didn't work unless you went down the long corridor. Staff were so so so poor, food was poor and the air-con in the room could not be switched off unless the electricity card was taken out. Bloody hated the place so so much and we are a young couple in our mid-twenties and never will i set foot into the Verdemar apts again.

Room Tip: Don't go here full stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Verdemar, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all staff and management of Globales Apartamentos Verdemar we would like to thank you for your time spent on write a comment on TripAdvisor.

However, we are deeply regret that the service received was not up to your expectation and your stay was not satisfactory at all.

We apologize for all inconvenience you mentioned, but I would like to comment some items:

We have never had another case of theft, safety come first in our establishment.

Staff who are working at the hotel just do their jobs, we have no evidence of any theft in any of the hotels facilities. We do our best to try to offer a completely satisfactory stay to our guests.

We sincerely thank you for your comments. Please be assured that we will take them into consideration in order to improve our service, and keep focus on customer satisfaction to make Globales Verdemar a better choice for clients.

Yours sincerely,
Matías Melo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a family holiday at the verdemar apartments. My husband and I and our 2 year old son. It was A last minute find and it was a cheap and cheerful getaway. A little worried when we read some of the reviews but we had one of the best weeks abroad ever. We paid extra for a sea view room and it was worth every penny. We needed to spend some time indoors with our little one so it was perfect being able to sit on the balcony with an amazing view. We had a studio room which is 2 sofa beds and a pull out bed. they were more comfortable than i had expected we put the fold up one next to one of the sofa beds to make a double and little boy had the other one. It did us fine but would advise u get the 1 bedroom apartments if your children are bigger. The weather helped us have a good time too. 29/30 degrees in oct is quite unusual. We spent time either on the beach or by the pool. the beach is a short walk away either by road or beach front. The beach front is a bit tricky with a pram tho. The pool is smallish but nice and next to the sea front With direct access into the sea. You do need to pay for the sun beds but we didn't see this as a problem as it seemed to stop people hogging them and one day we had been out and got one after lunch and there was no one around to charge. The restaurant is ok but you are so close to lots of bars and restaurants that we ate out mainly unless we were having a pool day. We went on a boat trip along the coast and the pier for this is right near the front of the apartments. Nice sun set a little further down too which is worth seeing. These apartments are perfect for a cheap and cheerful stay with great views and location. Nothing fancy here but clean and nice. We would consider going back but look at getting a bigger room next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Verdemar, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Globales Verdemar Apartments for your so valuable holidays.

Thank you very much for your good comments and reviews about the hotel, products and services, opinions like yours are very important to keep working everyday to exceed the expectations of our customers and achieve ever greater improvement of our staff.

We will pass on your comments to all staff, because all reviews are checked in detail by them in order to improve our service.

Hoping that you do decide to visit us in the near future please accept our best regards,

Matías Melo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clare
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Myself and two friends recently stayed at the Verdemar apartments. We were checked in by a lovely girl and had booked a studio as we were informed at the time of booking this would be big enough for the 3 of us. We got to the room to see that the room was 2 couches and a pull out bed with very little space by the time there was 3 cases plus 3 people in the room. We went back to see if there was a chance we could pay to upgrade to an apartment she advised we had to ask the following morning which was fine. Went back the following morning and the receptionist wrote it in a book we wanted to move said she'd ring us if anything came up but never heard, asked again the following day and she wrote it in her book again!! We never got moved!!! I wouldnt have minded if she had just said there were none available!! Outside of that we did enjoy our stay, the pool is nice and it is in an excellent location - everything is within walking distance. Would def stay there again but would get a one bedroom apartment next time!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I am normally a 4/5 star girl when travelling. However I went on a girls budget 3 night break to this hotel and resort. The view from the hotel is amazing and the rooms are clean. If you are looking for a bit of comfort you won't really get it here. The cost of the rooms are very good but there is a catch. You pay 3.50 euros per day for sunbeds. You pay 7 euros per day for the safe and you even pay a 10 euro deposit for the TV remote control - which we found funny. so I am not sure what type of hotel this is in the height of the season!! We couldn't figure out how the air conditioning worked so I can only think you have to rent that remote control as well. So be aware there are some hidden costs when you get there. The one thing you can't beat is where the hotel is situated and the view in the mornings. The restaurant is reasonably priced but the food is average. The resort of Santa Ponsa is to commercialised for my liking and you do get street noise in the rooms - I wouldn't fancy being there in Jul/Aug. We found some very good fish and tapas restaurants off the main strip but you do have to sniff then out. In Summary a budget hotel, in a good location with amazing views but a typical british resort. I also stayed in Port Andrax this summer and that resort was so much better but its personal choice at the end of the day.

Room Tip: one the end and high up to avoid street noise and scrapping chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed here for 10 nights in September 2012.
The location is good for families and younger "party people" alike. The complex is situated about 300 yards away from the heart of the lively late-night bars if turn right out of the main entrance.
If you turn left, it's about 300 yards in the opposite direction to Santa Ponsa Square (head for the tall church tower), where nightly family entertainment is provided free of charge, however the surrounding bars aren't particularly cheap.
The pool area is clean and tidy with a bar and toilets. The three lifts are also clean although you could find yourself going in the wrong direction to collect other 'passengers' on the way, before going to your floor!
With such a wide variety of activities and restaurants around, we never actually tried the complex's own restaurant, although Las Olas next door, made one of best meals throughout the whole holiday!
You can get to the large sandy beach along the front if you stroll through the pool areas of the neighbouring hotels/apartment complexes, but this route does go over rough concrete and stone blocks, so not advisable for young children or the disabled.
Air-con is fitted to all apartments and is free, subject to a €10 deposit at reception for the remote control. The safe however was quite expensive at €27 per week, plus €11 per extra day, plus another €10 deposit for the key! My advice is to take a decent lock for your cases and lock valuables in them in the room. A bike lock could also lock your cases together to stop them being taken ;-)
We never actually paid for sun loungers next to the pool either. The signs had had the prices removed, so maybe they're realised this is not such a good idea after all?
The beds are made by removing the back cushions from the sofas, and although big enough, the bottom cushion/mattresses were not exactly comfy! My tip is to ask reception for some blankets and lay those on the mattress to stop the lumps digging in.
The bathroom was spacious with an over-bath shower.
The apartment provides a TV with 3 English channels (BBC1, ITV and Sky News), as well as some foreign channels, a toaster, kettle, fridge, 2 ring electric hob, cutlery, cups, etc.
There are three electrical sockets in the apartment - one either side of the studio room, plus one in the bathroom.
Please note, your room will NOT have a sea view unless you pay an extra €10 per day! We had a view of foliage and trees on the side of a large concrete wall, but at least it meant we didn't get dazzled by the sun!
All in all, a pleasant stay in a 'better than expected' well-situated apartment complex. The air-con is a very welcome feature that sealed the deal on us booking this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Verdemar, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all the staff and management of Globales Verdemar we thank you for your kind words dedicated to our hotel.

We love to hear that we did a really good job, this proves us that we are heading in the right direction. Our main compromise is to full fill all of our guest expectations and make them feel like home.

Thank you very much for your preference, we are looking forward to welcome you back again in any of the hotels of the Globales Group, we will be happy to help you on your next holidays.

Kind regards,
Matías Melo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Globales Verdemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Verdemar

Address: C/Ramon de Moncada 14, Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Globales Verdemar 3*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Apartaments Verdemar, with its privileged situation right on the edge of the sea and with marvelous views over the bay, has Apartaments and studios, all of which have been totally refurbished in 2014, most with sea view(Sea View Supplement required). All of the units have terrace, kitchenette, bathroom, safe (with extra chanrge), new furniture, smoke detector, telephone with direct dialing, television and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Globales Verdemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Verdemar Santa Ponsa
Apartamentos Verdemar Hotel Santa Ponsa
Globales Verdemar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Globales Verdemar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.