We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family hotel? Really?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia to your Saves list
Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   C/ Des Centre, 4 | Costa de la Calma, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family hotel? Really?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend in July 2013 (11th-18th) and arrived midday to be greeted by a nice receptionist. The studio apartment was spacious and had kettle, cooker, etc. The balcony was of a good size also with chairs and a table. We were hoping for a nice relaxing holiday yet this isn't really what we had! Santa Ponsa centre is a good 15 minute walk away and it's also over a big hill. The resort has a nice beach with sunbeds costing €4.50 (parasols are an extra €4.50). Expect to see an abundance of Irish bars!! Every person we met was Irish. Think it is an Irish resort?

First night was bad - woken at 4am by a group of youngsters having a fight on the corridor using the fire extinguisher from their apartment. The walls are paper thin so the family next to us that were getting back in at 2am also woke us up.

Sun beds at the hotel were quickly taken which is why we had to go to the beach. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for families at all, even though there were quite a few families there. It was also full of youngsters who were drunk a lot of the time, even in the day time. However we didn't let this ruin our break.

Would recommend the restaurant across from the beach, the one with the bbq out front - the owner does salsa dancing and attracts a good crowd! The Diva Bar is also good for a drink and Palma is well worth a visit - beautiful architecture.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We are sorry you didn't have a good night sleep, if you have a problem with excessive noise from neighbours you can always notify reception and they will try to take measures.
We hope to see you again next year .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    97
    69
    31
    46
See reviews for
128
81
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Staffordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I'll keep this one short and sweet.
We needed to get over to Mallorca to see a family member who was living out there so we booked somewhere that was cheap and cheerful, somewhere to get us by. All we expected for the price was a bed and for it to be clean.
Well it was clean, the apartments were spacious and looked after and the hotel grounds were spotless, cleaned and hosed every morning and also a spotless pool area.
The pools were great too, one shallow pool (0.50 meters) for the toddlers, and a deeper one for the swimmers with a slide into the deep end.
The bar, as expected was expensive, as most hotel bars are, but they allow you to take your own drink to the entertainment, and a large bottle of San Miguel from the fridge in the shop over the road is just 1.50Euro. Pop is as cheap too.
The food on site is good, but if you want a 10 minute walk into Santa Ponsa through Rotes Velles, then you'll find many restaurants with great quality food.

All in all, I'd definitely go back as it is great value for money.
The people are friendly and extremely helpful.
The rooms are cleaned on a regular basis, or daily if requested for no extra charge.

If you read any bad reviews, then these will be from people spending £600 per couple and expecting a £1500 per couple hotel.
It is cheap and cheerful. Clean and has everything you'll need for a couple or/and family.
The only reason it didn't get the 5 stars is due to the small kitchenette, it only has 2 hobs, no grill, microwave or toaster which are available for hire.

Room Tip: Outdoor entertainment ends at 11pm. You may wish to take a room on the opposite side of the hotel if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
The prices of our bar are in line with the prices in other bars in Santa Ponsa.
We hope to welcome you next year again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is cheap and cheerful accommodation...don't expect too much from your apartment but try to make the most of it. Yes you have to rent the toaster, yes the air conditioning is sporadic, yes the food is disgusting and expensive at the pool bar and most certainly the entertainment is torturous (no exaggeration) but knowledge is power. Plan to go elsewhere for meals and evening entertainment, the square isn't too bad ie kids enjoyed it. I did complain however about the pool; it's way too deep and very dangerous. There is a fab supermarket across the road which stocks everything you will need so you could save a few bob this way, the staff don't mind if you discreetly bring in your own drinks or ice creams etc. I would probably stay here again considering that the housekeeping staff were very helpful and accommodating if I needed anything and the reception staff were very efficient also in solving my one or two issues (prob with balcony door) we also never really had to reserve sunbeds as this is a pet peeve of mine! We enjoyed the area, fab restaurants and nice walks.

Room Tip: We were in 412 and it had a lovely pool view and was quiet enough after 11.45
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We try to offer quality food at our snackbar and the prices are in the range of other restaurants in Santa Ponsa. Our animation team try hard to offer something for all guests and to provide excellent service to all our clients, we are sorry you didn't experience it this way.

We are happy you enjoyed our hotel staff and we hope to welcome you next year again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

4 night stay ... Great value for money ... Any bad reviews absolute nonsense ... Great for kids ... Clean rooms ... Cleaned daily ... Cheap bar / food ... Friendly helpful staff ... Clean pools ... 10 minute walk to "strip" ... Absolute gift !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for your short and adequate review.
We are happy you enjoyed your holiday and would like to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for one week 22-29th June 2013. The rooms were spotless, and hotel is run brilliantly by the staff, please dont listen to the negative comments on here. Room cleaned everyother day by the housekeeeping staff, if you hung your sign on the door, you would get it cleaned every day. Fresh towels on request, or everyother day. Kids loved the pools and entertainment. Defintely recommend it for families as it is close to spanish square. Less than 10min stroll into centre of Santa Ponsa, we ate in Mrs Murphy's kitchen every day, brilliant food and value for money. Bouganvilla is the perfect hotel for Family fun.. :)

Room Tip: We asked for adjoining studios, which we got, best to request these early as they book up quick.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend our hotel.
We hope to welcome you next year again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Felt really apprehensive about this place before we went after reading some of the negative reviews, but my worries were unfounded as the hotel met all our requirements, yes it could do with a little bit of tlc but most importantly it was clean, the poolside was cleaned twice a day (early mornings and late evenings) the staff were friendly, and the location was perfect not in the middle of all the hubbub but not too far either. I don't normally write reviews but I felt compelled to after my holiday as I feel this place doesn't deserve some of the negative reviews. Book this if you are after a cheap and basic holiday but for something a bit more plush I am afraid you will have to look elsewhere

Room Tip: Ask for top floor rooms with pool and sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the effort to review our hotel.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay and would like to welcome you next year again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just back from a weeks stay at this hotel with 5 friends. When i seen all the reviews before we left i was very worried. when we got there the reception staff were very friendly we had 3 rooms not together but on the same floor so that was grand. The hotel was clean and the rooms were big enough it did the job. The only bad thing i would say is that the floor in the rooms needed a mop looked like they were sweep but not washed and there was no air conditioning when i asked about it we were told its only on in high season so we rented a fan. The pool area was clean and the food at the pool side bar was nice. Its about a 5 minute walk to all the pubs and clubs but that suited us grand we liked being away from all the madness. I had a great time here and cant wait to return and the price is great Loved it:)

Room Tip: ask for a room on a high floor with pool view and rent a fan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olahotels, Quality department at Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your opinion.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us,
we will pass on your comments to the housekeeping staff so it can help them to improve our cleaning service for future clients.
It is true that the airconditioning only works in high season and depending on the weather conditions.
We hope to welcome you next year again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia

Address: C/ Des Centre, 4 | Costa de la Calma, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia 3*
Number of rooms: 614
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia is a 3 keys apartments complex, surrounded by gardens and sunny terraces, with two swimming pools to enjoy the nice weather on Mallorca. This is an accommodation very much appreciated by families with children, for whom our animation team organises activities along the day and night. And in general, by those who look for the quietness of a residential area, like the Costa de la Calma (Calm Coast) in Santa Ponça, where this hotel is situated, at about 300 metres from a little cove with pebbles and gravel, known as Cala Blanca or Es Castellot. The main beach in Santa Ponça, and the city centre of this resort, is located a little bit further. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia Hotel Santa Ponsa
Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ola Apartamentos Bouganvillia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.