We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean simple apartments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfing Playa Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Surfing Playa Apartments to your Saves list
Surfing Playa Apartments
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Rey Jaime I, 83, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good, clean simple apartments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Just got back from surfing playa today (23/08/12). We are a family of 4 and stayed for 12 nights. Overall the apartments are basic and clean, fridge and oven,no toaster or kettle. We toasted bread using the grill in the microwave and boiled water in a pan for brews. Main down side is i had to sleep on the settee's pull out bed but i knew this before. Aircon is in all rooms and you get two card keys so one can be left in the slot to keep the room cool. Maids come every other day and the whole place is kept very clean. Staff were nice and helpful. The pool was good and you could always get a bed if you went to the beach in the mornings like we did. Free wifi round the pool area too.
Location wise is good, as its in the nicer end of santa ponsa.The opposite end is like a mini magaluf thats pretty much just full of irish bars. We went up there a few times but was glad not to be stopping there.There's a little supermarket across the road which is fine, just ignore grumpy spanish bloke who owns it. The little beach is great so too is the big beach which is a little longer walk. A 10 minute walk into the main area and about 25 minutes to the square.Try bar Rumba for a drink with jerry and mags, a top little bar. Also eating out, we tried a few but mostly enjoyed No 8 for great food and service.
To conclude we would stop here again as we had a great holiday
Hope this helps

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    54
    13
    3
    6
See reviews for
46
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Hotel was very clean throughout, as was our apartment, (with air-con) which had balcony overlooking the pool and the the sea. ( Block 3 one stair up) Its a supermarked 2 min. walking, and 10 minutes to the big beach and 5 minutes to the little beach. Plenty of sunbeds for sun-seekers and location is ideal, in that you are in a quiet area but everything is within easy walking distance with plenty of pubs and restaurants to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Arrived on a Thursday afternoon in July to a reception room of what looked like three rather tired and frustrated families. Received a greeting from a young desk clerk who spoke as if he'd just stepped out of a cheap American cop flick.

Upon booking we had been promised a "sea view" from a top floor room,so you could imagine the disappointment to find ourselves in a ground floor flat with its "sea view" being a tiptoe reach out of a window. Was also disappointed to find that our balcony second-up as a footpath down to the seaside ( rendering it completely unusable) meaning our terrace window curtains had to remain closed to prevent passer by's participating in a little voyeurism.

When we asked to change rooms, we received the response " no, we are over-booked, we have already had to send three families to different hotels." a clear indicator of poor management.

The key cards failed to work for an entire day, resulting in us constantly having to go to reception and get our keys reset.

The apartment and utilities themselves were up to scratch, however when's we heard that we could rent three bedroom flat (we only needed two) for the same price as one room at Surfing playa we decided to take a look,

we had checked out by the end of the day.

Would strongly recommend anyone going during a busy period to avoid Surfing Playa until they sort out their management.

Room Tip: Don't be fooled by them saying "we can give you a room with a sea view" it's all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

It was a fantastic weeks holiday in September 2011. Made the mistake of staying at another hotel this time and I missed Surfing Playas staff. Next time will stay there regardless of the price. The bar staff are so friendly and we both love them.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

I couldn't possibly understand how anyone could fail to give these apartments at least 3 out of 5, given that they are extremely inexpensive. You get what you pay for, its as simple as that! Very homely apartments, we had a spacious 1 bedroomed, which was adequately furnished and very clean. We did miss having a toaster, thats the only downside, but cheap breakfasts can be had all around. There was just 2 rings and (strangely) a microwave in the kitchen, and a hairdryer in the bathroom. The pool area was quite small, and I was surprised to see so many children there(in what I thought was school term time) There is a friendly bar/snack bar overlooking the pool. We may not stay there again, but thats only down to the amount of children there. If you are a family yourself, it would be a perfect, cheap destination.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Basic but apartments are clean and spacious - and nice beds for a change. And a great terrace. Location is perfect just 500 meters from the busy part of town with the main beach and bars etc.

Very good for the price we paid...

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011 via mobile

These apartments had it all for us. They are basic, but don't lack in anything. The apartments are spacious, clean & look almost new. The furnishings all match & the beds are the comfiest I've slept in abroad for ages.
You have all the things you need in the kitchen (except a proper cooker & a toaster) but other than that, perfect.
The pool area is very clean & there were plenty of loungers available at this time of year.
Staff are very helpful & friendly (except the older dude on reception, he is a bit abrupt, but still helpful)
The apartments are on the outskirts of the main resort, but literally only a 5 min walk to pubs, restaurants etc.
There's plenty of places to eat & drink from really basic food to some outstanding cuisine.
Santa Ponsa itself is the quieter neighbour of Magaluf, but only €8 for a taxi if you want to venture out to the strip in Magaluf.
Overall a great trip & would definitely go back AND would stay at Surfing Play

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Surfing Playa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfing Playa Apartments

Address: Calle Rey Jaime I, 83, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surfing Playa Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Surfing Playa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfing Playa Apartments Hotel Santa Ponsa
Surfing Playa Apartments Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfing Playa Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.