We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for a reasonable priced break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Miranda

Save Saved
You added Hotel Miranda to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Miranda
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Puig Blanch 12, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 35 hotels in Santa Ponsa
Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Stay here for a reasonable priced break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I really enjoy this hotel and have stayed more than once. It is family owned and run by a lovely family with Linda's humour an added spice. For the price it is much, much nicer than you'd expect, it's in a great location and is remarkably secluded and peaceful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    29
    10
    13
    14
See reviews for
10
30
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Was a bit cautious with some of the reviews before booking here but reading between the lines (as best as one can) I thought I'd take a chance and book a week here.

Not disappointed! I think the one star rating is unjustified really - yes, rooms are a little rustic (we prefer that to the 3-star drabness of most - the rooms had character, large balocony in our case and a good ceiling fan).

Family-run, very friendly and in a GREAT LOCATION! Everything is a few mins walk away and the hotel is situated on a quiet street. The breakfast is very basic but I don't think that is a consideration due to the price and previously mentioned star rating. Besides, plenty of carbos on hand nearby if you want the English type.

Would definately stay here again. Primarily the little touches Linda provides (manageress), the lending of a hairdryer, great information on the best value restaurants, and generallly nice welcoming atmosphere - all this seems to be beyond the brief on most 3-star hotels. Certainly the ones we visited in Santa Ponsa.

Room Tip: 110 above the breakfast room, by the pool - large balcony!! Bathtub with shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I booked my room there tempted by the location and prices. What a disappointment!

During a seven day stay we occupied three rooms! First, we flooded the living room downstairs because a plasticine piece covering a rusted hole in the bath came off. Then, after staying relatively peacefully in another room for a few nights, Linda, the owner stood in our way upon our return and said "you cannot go into your room"; it turned out some work has been carried out while we were out (without our consent of course) and we were left first with a hole in the floor (!) and then with the intensive chemical stink of drying silicone sealant. We had to argue to get another room where you could actually breathe!

The breakfast menu was poor, quality of most ingredients calling for revenge, the atmosphere like in prison, with Linda hovering over "guests". At one of these breakfasts I was asked in front of everyone in a "theatre whisper" if I had pads or something, because my sheet was stained...

The owner is super nice one minute, showing her pet tortoises and fish, and super nasty another minute, as if forgetting we were actually paying customers. This attitude spoiled my whole holiday and afte over a year I still get shivers thinking back about it!

If I ever go back to Santa Ponsa (not very likely though), I will definitely book somewhere else, where I can receive a decent service!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiruna, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

As a budget vacation alternative it works. But there is no real cleaning of the room by the staff, they only make the beds, with the SAME sheets. So we slept on the same sheets every night. They don't change towels or clean the floor either. Also, the neighbour has some dogs that bark all the time.

To be fair, the staff were all nice, but still I just experienced to much stress staying at this hotel to give it a good rating.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hersham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Our flight got us in to the hotel in the early hours of the morning, and the keys had been left for us in the reception. We went up to our room, which was basic but comfortable enough for us. The following day we went for a stroll in the town near the beach which was a very reasonable 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. We spent most of the days by the pool, which at first looked quite small, but there was always sun loungers available and was well equipped with outside toilets and shower.
The owner was very pleasant, as were the other staff that worked there. The hotel was ideal for a pool/beach holiday, especially as it was very well priced.
Our room was without air-con, so did get very warm at night, but we were aware of this before we booked.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookstown, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel Miranda is a very friendly and quiet hotel so its easy to sleep at night and its only a 5 minute walk to the beach and ten minute walk to the main part of the town...Rooms were very basic, had no air con and had to pay two euro a day for a weak fan and bed clothes were only changed once a week and towels every other day...cleaner is very impolite. the hotel provides bar snacks during the day which is very nice and the owners of the hotel are very friendly as well as their 3 big dogs who live beside the hotel

Room Tip: top floor at end of corridor, usually the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Just returned home from 7 night stay in Majorca, stayed in Hotel Miranda and wanted to share what a great experience we had. Linda who owns/runs Hotel is extremely helpful and knowledgeable about local amenities and the island as a whole, her Daughter was also very friendly. The room was basic, but very clean - towels and bedding changed daily (as long as you have vacated room by 10am daily) there is a ceiling fan but no aircon, but room was plenty cool enough over night. We ate breakfast at hotel most days, and this was quite sufficient, a selection of cereals, bread, cheese, ham, fruit with Tea, Coffee and Juice. Hotel is in a very quiet location, but only 2 mins walk into Centre of Santa Ponsa. Hotel has swimming pool and terrace which again was very clean and pleasant to use. Overall I would rate this hotel 10/10, excellent value for money and overall a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Miranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Miranda

Also Known As:
Miranda Santa Ponsa
Miranda Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Miranda Santa Ponsa, Majorca
Address: Calle Puig Blanch 12, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 35 hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Miranda 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Miranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Miranda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.