We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Santa Ponsa Pins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Santa Ponsa Pins to your Saves list
Santa Ponsa Pins
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Jaime I 115, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a 4 night break in Santa Ponsa and found this hotel to be an excellent choice. On arrival we were greeted by the night porter who was very helpful and couldn't do enough, especially when due to or tiredness we locked the key in the room. Throughout our stay the other staff were also very friendly. It seems that this hotel has recently been refurbished and the rooms were excellently equipped and clean. Most rooms here are twin rooms so if you require a double it is best to ask about availability. When booking we opted for a double/twin but it wouldn't allow you to pick, then when we arrived we had already been allocated a twin, when we would have preferred a double. A minor drawback, if you're a couple I would ring and mention this. The management speak English. We stayed half board and the food was plentiful and of good quality. Due to it being a small hotel the food seemed to be a little better and the breakfast and dinner timings were relaxed so if you were 10 minutes late for breakfast you wouldn't miss out. This was a bonus. Finally if you stay over 3 nights at this hotel you get a voucher for a free massage in their spa, a very nice touch. Overall a great stay, we would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Check availability of double rooms prior to booking (under 10 in hotel).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    30
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
11
47
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a lovely 4 day break here 19-22 May. Small hotel, locally run. Staff couldn't do enough for you. Food was good - plenty of choice even with the small number of rooms. Rooms very nice and kept spotlessly clean. Great little spa in the basement. Would definitely visit again

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and chose this hotel because it offered half-board - something which we are are not usually bothered about, but thought we'd try as we only booked for four nights. The hotel was well-situated about a quarter of a mile from the beach area, which made for a very pleasant walk in the evening.

We were made to feel extremely welcome by everyone (but especially by the exceptionally accommodating Soraya who, it seems, multi-tasked and did just about everything in the hotel!) Our room, on the third floor, was compact (not much room to move around) but clean and serviceable. Fortunately, there was lift, so getting up there with luggage was no problem. The bathroom was small but, again, perfectly acceptable and decorated neatly. However, those sporting a large frame would find access to the shower somewhat awkward. Our shower was temperamental (it had been damaged by a previous guest). Nevertheless there was a plentiful supply of hot water.

Our room overlooked the pool area, and there was the facility to sit out on the balcony if desired. It got the sun for most of the afternoon and evening. The pool area itself was quite private and fairly deserted when we were there (in mid-May) so there was no issue getting a lounger (they were comfortable). The pool was cold though.

The general reception area was very pleasant and decorated tastefully, with some comfortable seating where you could relax after a meal. The dining area was clean and well laid out though we found the television blaring away on the wall a distraction and really unnecessary. At meal times food was laid out in a buffet, so you just helped yourself. As for the quality of the food, it was certainly more than acceptable though nothing out of the ordinary. But there was plenty of it. And there was good range to choose from (it varied daily) though if you chose to eat later (the evening meal was served between 7 and 9 pm) then there was the risk that the food would have been standing for some while and thus appear - and taste - less appetising. I would suggest that when there are not many guests in residence that less food is put out initially a) to avoid unnecessary waste and b) to ensure that the food remains fresh.

In fairness though, we had booked half-board and so the overall cost for the four days was extremely modest. Consequently, we skipped our evening meal and arranged to eat out at steak restaurant on our last night. Incidentally, the price of alcohol in the hotel was also extremely modest. A bottle of reasonably palatable white wine was priced at around seven euros and a night-cap (for example, a Baileys, was about 3.50). This was very pleasing as sometime hotels stitch up their customers for drinks. Our final bill for extras (water, snacks, wine, additional drinks from the bar ) when we checked out after four days was only around 70 euros. Bargain!

In summary, we felt that this hotel had quite a bit to offer and, as mentioned above, was a reasonable distance from the centre of the town. We found all of the staff - including the general manager and the night porter - unfailingly polite and helpful. Would we recommend the place? Yes, though with the qualifications we mentioned earlier.

Gordon M (May 2015)

Room Tip: A room overlooking the pool area means that you'll get the sun in the afternoon and evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you are after a relaxing quiet break then look no further.

We booked this hotel with a little apprehension as we've only ever done 4 & 5 star hotels. I need not have worried as this hotel is run superbly. The staff cant do enough for you. The hotel is small and friendly. Family run and the attention to detail really shows. Some of the rooms are small but all are well equipped with controllable air conditioning and a balcony,. large flat screen TV on the wall has English and international channels including BBC1, 2 & 4. The modern bathrooms sport a very good power shower and all rooms are bang up to date and fully refurbished. The only downside is that the rooms lack a full length mirror and the lighting is a little low in the bathroom.

Meals are served in the hotel restaurant and are buffet style. Although there is less choice than the large 4 star chains we always found something of interest. The food is of very high standard and compliments to the chef for the deserts which are top notch! The atmosphere during meal times is very relaxed with no dress code (we dressed down!). With this being a small hotel you get to know most guests as there are less faces to remember. We liked this aspect. I cant think of a downside.

The hotel reception & bar is open 24/7, has a nice atmosphere but very quiet. We went out during the evening, returning at around midnight. The night manager - Stephen will serve drinks which we enjoyed sitting out on the terrace in front of the hotel. Very relaxing. Bar prices are very good. A full bottle of wine for just €6.30 and the liberal spirit measures are more than we've enjoyed anywhere else! You can ask to have your bottle kept in the bar fridge for tomorrow if you dont finish it. We stayed for 4 nights and had a bottle of wine between us every day, We also had a couple of afternoon coffee's each, a couple of lagers each and three (massive) G&T's each at the end of every evening at our room bill only amounted to €95!

The pool is way above its star rating. Metal framed sunbeds with 3 inch thick mattress style pads. Sun shades that are similar to those found in expensive beer gardens. The pool itself is small but more than enough to take a dip.

We didnt use the spa so cant comment.

The hotel has free (open) WiFi in public areas but we found it worked in most areas of the hotel including our room.

What makes this hotel so good is the family who runs it. they really do make you feel special. The hotel is quiet and has a sophisticated atmosphere.

Were going back!

Room Tip: Rooms 111, 112, 211, 212, 311 & 312 are sided by the lift and may therefore suffer some noise. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel for our visit to Santa Ponsa this year, as our usual place was being refurbished, and we weren't disappointed. The hotel was very clean and although the rooms are a bit on the small side, it was perfectly adequate for our 3 night stay. There was a wide choice on the buffet, both hot and cold, for breakfast every day, which was very tasty. We didn't eat here in the evenings as we were out visiting family. The drinks in the bar were reasonably priced.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Rooms have been recently done up but they are very small and worst thing is there is nowhere to put your clothes or any of your stuff. Having to live out of my suitcase for a week wasn´t what I´d planned for my holiday! The shower is tiny so if you are a bit on the big side like my hubby it is not very comfortable. Staff all nice except the manager (not night manager who was ok) who goes around with a stroppy attitude and basically ruins the holiday atmosphere. The road the hotel is on is busy and gets noisy early in the morning so you can´t open the windows. Food was very basic and very bland. We ate out half of the evenings just to get a decent meal. Lot´s of good restaurants close by. Beach is about 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Booked this hotel on short notice . Totally impressed room very clean and modern. Staff very helpful and friendly. Full breakfast. Very comfy beds . I slept 10hrs on my first night. What can I say .. I would come back .. and I have never reviewed a hotel whilst still on holiday

Room Tip: We were in room 311 which overlooked the pool balcony gets the sun from about 11a.m. throu th night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Santa Ponsa Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Ponsa Pins

Address: Avenida Jaime I 115, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#8 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa Ponsa Pins 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Santa Ponsa Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Ponsa Pins Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Santa Ponsa
Santa Ponsa Pins Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Santa Ponsa Pins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.