We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“plazamar apartments all inclusive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apartamentos Plazamar

Save Saved
You added Apartamentos Plazamar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apartamentos Plazamar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda del Golf 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 35 hotels in Santa Ponsa
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“plazamar apartments all inclusive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

stayed here towards the end of October, and was hesitant after reading some of the reviews. However, our stay was far better than expected. My daughter and I arrived very late at night, after a horrendous coach transfer (just get a taxi) and was greeted by a lovely man who couldnt have been more helpful. I had emailed the hotel earlier to say we would be ariving after the all inclusive had finished, and found fresh sandwiches,cakes, biscuits,fruit,water and a bottle of wine waiting for us in our very spacious and clean apartment. The food was plenty, and although basic there were good choices everyday. The juices, water,beer and wine were on tap, you just helped yourself (no waiting for bar service), and other drinks were served by friendly staff. You could also use the facilities across the road (Jutlanda) which was a bigger complex and with a bar, where we found the drinks we ordered were bottled (eg wine, and cocktails), this though may have been due to being close to the end of season. Entertainment was laid on every night (apart from Saturday) at both complexes, but we seemed to go to the Jutlanda more, as the irish girl who ran the entertainment was very friendly and encouraged every9ne to participate. We did not pay much for our break, and really dont know how the complexes could put on the standard of all inclusive like they did. In all good accommodation, good choice of food and snacks, good accommodation, and very friendly helpful staff. A word of warning though,if booking through a travel agent in the UK, i do NOT recomend "On the beach", unless you want to book your holiday, let them take your money, then expect them to phone you at a later date to say that the flights are no longer available, but similar flights are, but are £100 per person dearer, and no, you cannot have your money back, because the hotel and transfers are booked and paid for!!! Felt totally ripped off by them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    152
    53
    46
    76
See reviews for
217
111
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Went with husband and daughter for a week and found out the hard way that here they only offer a room as for everything else you have to go to sister hotel (just across from Plazamar). Staff nice if you don't need anything but very lazy and not helpful when you ask them to help with transfer coach confirmation. Room a bit on the poor side and horrible grouting between bathroom tiles which had gone black and mouldy. Disgusting.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

have just come back from 10 days all inclusive through Ryanair and travel republic . 2 adults and 2 children age 11 and 8. arrived early in day and reception staff went out there way to get us a room without waiting. had great size studio on 3rd floor with pool view and mountains beyond. plenty big enough for 4 people. bar area great and quick service. you can also serve yourself water, beer,wine, hot. drinks, juices and pop. breakfast had cereals, continental breakfast, full English, breads and rolls and fresh fruit. lunch and evening meal was soup, salad bar including fish and cold meats , chips, always 2 different hot meals, breads and rolls, desserts and an ice cream bar with sauces and sprinkles. lunch and evening meals were different every day. we had salmon, beef, chicken breast, tuna, pork chops, stew, prawns, pasta bake, best ham salad, goulash and steak. very clean buffet area and as soon as something was all gone, the chefs replaced it. dining area clean and tidy . pool area clean and tidy with plenty of sunbeds. tv room with big screen., a few arcade. games in lobby, table tennis table and pool table also available. showers by pool. if you wanted to keep your room longer it was 20 euros but not really needed as secure luggage room where you could get changed plus one of the toilets has a shower with hair dryer. from 10 every morning till 10 each night you can also order food from the bar including burgers, hot dogs, chips, toasties and on rings. you could either eat these in the bar area or they would wrap the food in tin foil for you to take it wherever. drinks from bar were not watered down and beer tasted great. rooms serviced every other day. i made our beds every other day, its not a big deal. kids entertainment was varied and took place mornings, afternoons, kids disco at 9 and show at 10.
the important bit now follows which is not really publicized. . . you can use the other hotels in the group with your waistband. we used the facilities of the jutlandia daily which is across the road and we also used the tropiana facilities when we went to palma nova for the evening. there are another 2 hotels in the group but they were shut for winter. jutlandia across the road had lovely pool and some of the kids entertainment was shared between the 2 hotels.
we payed £12.50 each per day and for that were treated very well, ate well, were never thirsty and were entertained. there is a trolly in the dining room so, if it.s busy, instead of moaning your table isn't cleared away quick enough, take your plate. yourself and take your empties back to the bar cause the staff are so over worked. . .
we had private transfer over for £68 return as many people who took shuttle were moaning it had taken over 2 hours.
had a brilliant holiday, kids cried when we left.
hope this has helped. x fiona

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me and my boyfriend went here back in September '12 and we had an amaaazing time!

After reading the reviews before we went we were worried but on arrival that soon went away! Our hotel room was huge and very clean and tidy! We looked onto the front of the hotel which i thought would be a bit loud but it was really quiet! The maids came every two days and if you wanted fresh towels or bedding you put them in the bath and they gave you new ones.

The food at the hotel was really nice (i dont know what people are moaning about)! There was something for everyone! The staff were really friendly - the receptionist was a little moody but he did work every single day for about 13 hours!

The pool was lovely and we were about 5 minute walk from the beach and all the restaurants! We went to fat sams one night which was lovely but not anything special!

Overall we had an amazing time and i really urge you to not listen to the bad reviews! We had a great holiday and are booking to go back next year!

Room Tip: Try and get one on the east side of the complex! More modern rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Plazamar apartments for a week from the 11th Oct. Booking with Lowcost holidays we got a good deal including transfers and airport parking.
Arriving late at the hotel we were met by a very friendly male receptionist who sorted out our rooms, then advised us to go over the road to the Jutlandia hotel where we could enjoy all the facilities there and where there was a halloween party going on.
The room was spacious clean with toaster and kettle, next morning a nice view of the pool area greeted us. Sleeping well I would judge the beds comfortable enough.
Booking all inclusive I was surprised to find a beer pump, wine taps water cooler, and an array of fizzy soft drinks dispensers all facing the audience in the snack bar, this was a welcome change for me, I've never had the privilege of being able to get my own drinks before, there were also glass pint pots if you wanted to sit away from the pool area. Full marks so far.
The food on offer was typical three star fare, chips every day, at least one different meat, salads, fish most days, pasta others. The sweets were nice, with four flavours of ice cream and toppings available.
Our only issue with the restaurant and the whole holiday really, was the eating area itself. It's not really a restaurant, it's a covered patio with see-thru plastic roller blinds. During the hit and miss weather we experienced (no fault of the hotel :-)), we found it to be draughty and cold. There were some outdoor space heaters there but they were never used, I wouldn't have thought they were suitable for use for an enclosed area either.
having said that it didn't put us off eating there.
The pool area was nice, but be aware there are quite a few steps to get there, there is a sloped access, around the side of the hotel, ideal for taking your luggage around too.
As said earlier you have use of the facilities in the Jutlandia hotel across the road. This hotel is a step up from the Plazamar, with a lovely pool and gardens, loads of sunbeds too. The all inclusive package is available here with snacks all day, and bar, you have to queue here though for service, and the bar staff are very busy, they deal with this by being a bit abrupt with guests, the exception being Dawn who was lovely.
Adele the entertainments lady was good too, her witty asides made us laugh.
I would recommend this hotel, if you can get a good deal. Maybe not in October when the weather we had made it a bit cool to eat outside.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the reception side, the other side of the hotels balconies are in the shade all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here self catering for 2 weeks 28th Sept to 13th Oct 2012. We're a mature couple. Apartment was clean and obviously had a coat of paint at the beginning of this season. We were on the top floor which afforded a lovely panoramic view. Shona (scots lady) on reception when we arrived was friendly and efficient. Felt ripped off at 18Euro per week charge for safe. They know you have to use it so are taking advantage! Getting the cleaners into the routine of changing towels/bed linnen was a challenge for the first week but we eventually got there. Whilst the bathroom sink was wiped down and the beds made, no other cleaning was done. I had to sweep the apartment when we arrived and it wasn't done by cleaners again. It was never mopped, either before we arrived or during our stay. We couldn't get the air con to work but this wasn't a real problem at this time of year so we didn't raise it as an issue. Pool area is nice but there wouldn't be enough room for everyone in high season. Usual annoyance of people putting towels on sunbeds at 7am and leaving them there all day.

We went in School Term Time as I particularly dislike children. I had one 20 years ago and quit whilst I was ahead. If you're going to take your children out of school and away when people like me have done our best to avoid them, at least have them disciplined enough not to have me being restrained from holding them at the bottom of the deep end of the pool. There was a single parent with 3 screaming brats. All boys. Everyone at the hotel knew their names as they were continually screaming at each other. If you're reading this Mum.........go get some parenting classes. You know who you are.

Santa Ponsa is a nice resort and the hotel is a gentle short walk from the centre. Look where you're walking though and stay off the verge/islands. They DON'T clean up after their dogs! There's a Karaoke Queen called Candice being paid to sing (badly) at Strings Bar. This spoilt evenings at Traceys Bar a few doors away. Oktoberfest was on whilst we were there. It's still very English orientated. Peguera up the coast is ALL German though worth a visit on the bus at a couple of Euros each way. Palma was also worth a look at but get the 102 bus as the wrong one takes hours going to every corner on the way. Didn't rate the Wednesday Market at Andratx. The one at Santanyi on the other side of the island is far superior although only if you have a car from this distance. Try a walk down the right side of the bay (past where the trip-boats pick up) and take some bread to feed the fish. It's great to watch. My guy took underwater picks whilst snorkelling as I threw bread in! The sea was 'boiling' with fish.

Overall, we had a good holiday. We'd visit again but only for a week as we've done everything we could in the area.

Room Tip: We were in 1306 on the top floor. Good views and less noise transfer from screaming brats round the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My wife and I have just returned from the Plazamar and was at first very concerned when reading the negative reviews. We were very surprised how good it was. We went all inclusive. It was very clean in our room and on site of the hotel. The food was good with a different selection each day, although the same sort of food. Chips were always on offer but they went down very well with everyone. The chef was constantly filling up the food trays so it always looked like there was plenty to go round. The drinks were free and we did not go out to any other place to drink. Beer was good. Wine was not the best but it was free and to drink with a meal it was OK. Overall I can not fault our holiday or this hotel, we ate here more than we thought we would just because it was good food, so why pay to go anywhere else. We would go back again no problem. There are better hotels out there and better food, but not for what we paid. Thank you Plazamar.

Room Tip: We had room 203 which was on 2nd floor and was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Apartamentos Plazamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Plazamar

Address: Avda del Golf 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 35 hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Plazamar 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Apartamentos Plazamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Plazamar Hotel Santa Ponsa
Plazamar Hotel Santa Ponsa
Apartamentos Plazamar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apartamentos Plazamar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.