We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab family holiday!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pirates VIllage

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pirates VIllage to your Saves list
Pirates VIllage
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Kirkliston
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fab family holiday!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here with my two kids aged 12 and 5, and we had a fantastic week! The pool is excellent, with varying sections of different depths. Robbie leads the entertainment team and does an amazing job! He really works hard to get the kids (and adults) involved in various activities - everyone seemed to love him, he's a great character! Would also like to give a special mention to Manuel, one of the lifeguards. He's the friendliest guy, so good with the kids. He likes to carry on with them and have a laugh, but is also always looking out for them around the pool, but isn't shy about telling anyone off if they're doing things they shouldn't be. A great guy! We were self catering, so can't comment on meals as we are out every evening, although we did order some food from the pool bar snack menu at lunch times, and it was nice enough. We had a great apartment on the 2nd floor, with a fab pool view. Towels and beds changed every second day and apartment cleaned also, equipped with everything you need for self catering, and great air con! Excellent themed pirate shows each night around the pool bar area, and a great interactive pirates attack show on a Sunday - not to be missed! 5 minute slow stroll to stunning beach. Bars, restaurants and a cheap supermarket right outside front door. Santa Ponsa is a lovely resort. Nice and flat, ideal for families with young children. I would highly recommend a fun filled family holiday to Pirates Village, ok it's not 5 star A La Carte, but if you're a big kid like myself, who likes to have fun with the young ones, and don't take yourself too seriously, you'll have a blast! Give it a try!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    182
    77
    65
    53
See reviews for
437
14
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Have just returned from a fantastic 10 day holiday at Pirates Village. This was our first holiday away as a family with our 3 and 7 year old. We had some concerns after reading reviews of the food but went for it and are so glad we did. If you are worried about the food don't be we eat healthily and found there was ample choice- by way of example every lunch and every dinner there was a choice of 3 freshly made salads and in the 10 days we were there not one of those salads was the same. I don't understand the accusations of lack of choice and think these are very unfair- it is a family resort not a 5 star hotel and it is a buffet not an a la carte restaurant and in this respect we felt the choice and standard was very good. Over the 10 days we only ate out at dinner once and that was by choice. Lager, wine, soft drinks are all self- service as well as ice cream and a very good all day snack menu too. If you are worried about the food don't be. The hotel itself looks fab and the kids love it, the pools are also great. Above all the staff and effort taken to entertain both children and adults was absolutely fantastic and really elevated our stay into a fabulous fun-filled pirate party. Our kids loved it and so will yours. Our only minor quibble was the state of the sofa beds in our room but nothing major and the room and towels were cleaned and changed every other day. We will definately return but will maybe go for one of the upgraded pirate rooms

Room Tip: If you are bothered by the sound of children having fun until 11.00 pm then get a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at Pirates Village with my best friend for 4 nights as we wanted a cheap getaway and after seeing the pictures of this hotel thought it would be good fun!

Not the usual customers but we both said that we'd love to come back one day when we have our own families to bring!

Went self catering, was on ground floor in a non-themed room and it was fantastic. Had everything we needed, was clean and spacious enough for the 2 of us. Bedding and towels were changed during our stay too which was unexpected.

Brilliant location and a great supermarket across the road. Pool was great fun too, the slides are definitely not for adults though - had a few bruises from the shallow landing, haha!!

Thanks for a great holiday!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is our second visit to Pirates Village with my 4 and 10 year old on an All Inclusive basis. We just love it, as it has everything. The location, staff, food, drinks, swimming pools, entertainment and kids club are hard to beat. I feel so safe with my children and can really relax.
The apartments are basic but spotless. There is a good variety of food and my kids always had a choice and loved the kids buffet area.
Most drinks are self service, which saves time.
There are 2 life guards on duty around the pool and are plenty of sunbeds. Pity you have to help yourself to beds as they are quite heavy and usually stacked high, this is the only negative. Sorry!
Hotel just a short 5 min slow stroll to beach. There are plenty of shops in the immediate area if you require anything, including a chemist.
Nothing is too much trouble in Pirates Village. It has such a nice and relax atmosphere and makes you feel very welcome, which is why we will be visiting again next year.
Many thanks to Pepe and Christian for all your help. Emma and family, Ireland :)

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited pirates village in September with our sons aged 6 and 3,the hotel was lovely and the staff were second to none,the entertainment was great,also rooms were clean and food was great,we were all exclusive and even though my husband and youngest son are fussy eaters we were all left satisfied at every meal
Would defo return here as its all my kids have talked about since we came home

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The staff in this hotel are amazing! Reception staff helpful at all times; bar and service staff work their socks off and always friendly & the entertainment staff are second to none. Robbie leads the team, he puts his heart into it and the kids love him. The kids club was great for my 4 year old too.
Even more appealing to pirate loving kids!
I found the hotel to be very clean at all times. Sadly some holiday makers make it impossible for the pool area to be tidy all the time but the cleaners are always present particularly in the restaurant during meal times.
We had a pirate room which was fine. The bedroom is at the back so the noise from the entertainment is far less. My 1 year old slept with no problems.
the entertainment is very loud and doesn't stop until 9pm-10:30pm some nights. Don't let this put you off, just be prepared for it.
I would say the catering part of our room wasn't great. We were all inclusive so didn't use anything but the sink or microwave. I've seen better facilities for self catering.
Many people complained about the food during our visit. Personally I think there was always something nice to eat. Plenty of fresh bread, cheese and cold meats, salad and fruit. The fresh grilled meats were also always nice too. Some of the other meals were a hit or a miss especially the fish option.
Drinks were fine too including the all inclusive wines, bear and spirits.
One thing to beware of, our bathroom door locked itself. Very dangerous with small children. The hotel are aware and refurbs are taking place. If you see a drilled hole in the bathroom handle ask reception for the pin they have to open the door so you have it on standby.
All in all I was very happy with the hotel and the staff. It is a 3 star hotel so you have to accept not everything will be first class. That being said for a 3 star I was very happy overall.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for two weeks July/Aug and thoroughly enjoyed it. The Hotel Staff are all extremely helpful and the lifeguards are exceptional interacting with all the children in and around the pools which are brill.,Yes you do have to be up early to bag a sunshade. We stayed in a pirate themed room which was very clean, the only petty/ minor criticism I had was that the main bedroom was a little dark, perhaps a paler cream coloured paint rather than terracotta. The kids club had movie shows outdoor play and many craft activities with the staff very professional, helpful and kind.
All the food was freshly cooked and prepared and obviously for the amount of people that were being catered for you can't please all the people all of the time but we found plenty to eat. The salads fruit and bread were always fresh. A nice touch was on weekends there was champagne on the bar at breakfast with a little note saying "Enjoy your weekend", a small touch but appreciated. The kitchen staff obviously work really hard to prepare and present the food. The pirate shows are a must and totally enthrall the children. We took part in the Harlem Shake which was really energetic and good fun, the enthusiasm of the pirates kept everyone motivated whilst filming took place.
It is well situated with a supermarket directly opposite for water snacks etc, 5 to 10 minutes walk to the beach and gift shops.
Our travel rep was available most mornings, we had to make contact with her to arrange early flights home and have to say that the service we received was excellent, this was facilitated by the reception staff.
This was an extremely friendly hotel with all the staff without exception doing their best to ensure you have a good time, nothing is too much trouble.
We met really lovely people and enjoyed the after show drinks and chats with the peace of mind that the children were safe and could be seen whilst playing Overall a friendly fun filled family holiday !!!
Thanks to everyone at Pirates Village we will be back next year !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pirates VIllage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pirates VIllage

Address: Avda Rey Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pirates VIllage 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover and experience a brand new and unique holiday themed hotel concept at the Pirates Village in Majorca. Step over the threshold of the Pirates Village and holidaymakers of all ages can jump straight into a world of pirate adventure. Participate in the Pirates Village life, and enjoy the exciting and interactive adventure of becoming a real pirate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Pirates VIllage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pirates VIllage Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pirates VIllage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.