We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In love with santa ponsa and the plaza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa to your Saves list
Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Santa Ponsa 2, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In love with santa ponsa and the plaza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015 via mobile

3rd time staying at the plaza my family of 5 love it. Friendly, helpful staff that go out of their way to help! Nice rooms with gorgeous views each time. Will be sure to come back to continue the love affair with santa ponsa lol! Thanks again from the wee Scottish family and the princess (our very blonde daughter) private joke with the staff :) thanks again x

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    47
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
13
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Hull
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

The Plaza is what it is cheap and cheerful, expect more and you are going to be disappointed. Our second visit and this time we where front way on the third floor which turned out.to be a an excellant birth for the stay. The rooms are clean and towels changed daily, bedding every week and the place is clean and tidy. The bar area is idea for those Sangria nights watching the world go by and the service great we found. The breakfasts are good, plentiful with lots of choices hot or cold, the smoked sausages we tried just once lol. Dinner is soup, always chicken of some sort and chips, variations of other meats and fish during the stay, salads where always available . The do not seem to know what vegetables are, but salads we like anyway. Sweet course was Jelly, pink angel delight, creme caramel, cake, ice cream and fresh fruit. There are plenty of local restaurants in walking distance that are first rate, choices are limited only by your ability to walk. The bus station is outside the hotel and handy for trips out to Magaluf, Palma or Paguera, buses are cheap, plentiful and air conditioned.

The Plaza is undoing a makeover during the close down winter period and we where not able to re book for next year as yet. Re book yes, its so convenient for everything, no hills to climb and we find the staff friendly, helpful and efficient.

Relaxing is a way of life at this resort

Room Tip: The front rooms are ok the higher up you are away from the taxi rank .......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

Meet up with relations, on first impression staff very friendly and we asked change our room from 1st floor to 3rd not a problem. You have to buy air con remote,safe key and tv remote but get money back at end of holiday, I must comment on the evening meal not v good you will eat but not good, as I said staff are v good, breakfast is fine and plenty off it. Great location for taxis and bus services, I think the resort is for a few days slightly run down and it was resort was closing down a week early than usual. On the plus the rooms basic but have good beds and pillows, they are v clean and everything you want.

Room Tip: Higher floors are much better plus on the front, all rooms have balconys
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2014

Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa - Good Location, Close to the Beach & No Hills!

We had a private transfer from the airport and check-in was fast and efficient with a pleasant young man on the reception desk. We were in our room within an hour of landing so fairly close to the airport. Rooms tend to vary but ours had a small balcony with table & chairs. The food was okay but lacked a varied selection mainly I feel due the small number of guests due to the hotels size.

The hotels ground floor is made up of the bar, lounge area dining room etc. There is a small swimming pool that was clean but was more of a splash pool to cool off in. There is a small shaded area around the pool area with sunbeds. The bar extended out onto the street at the front of the hotel under a pleasant shaded seating area great for watching the world go by whilst having a drink.

Cleaners were good, beds were made every day regardless of what time we left the room plus, clean towels every day as well. The hotel is in a good location just 3 minutes’ walk to beach past shops & bars. The beach is a large bay with a very nice clean sandy beach gently shelving ideal for swimming with plenty of fish around. There are at the back of the beach cafes, toilets, shaded areas and a long promenade with shops, bar, restaurants & fast food outlets all along the opposite side leading up to the Irish quarter.

Breakfast was okay again lacking selection. The rooms are generally very noisy and lack any sound proofing
Our original room had a fan / pump noise that seems to affect any high numbered rooms ending in 15 or above
However, we had no problem changing rooms and ended up with a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the roundabout. Our room was a reasonable size for two people and the balcony was adequate. However, the shower was very small and I could only just fit in!

All Staff apart from the young man that checked us in looked battle hardened, with faces might crack if they smiled! I guess that because of the noisy rooms with the fan / pump noise issue. It seems that everybody rotates through these rooms when the hotel is full. Then changing to a quieter room when one becomes empty! I think this issue really needs to be addressed by the management as this really reflects on the whole place and I'm sure it makes the staff think it's a failing organisation. This probably explains with they all seem to look so down trodden. To be fair to the staff they were though quite helpful when asked for something. That said of course if you’re lucky and get a low number room then you will probably wonder what all the fuss is about and why the staff look so unhappy!

After we had changed rooms we did enjoy our stay and I thought the location was great, just 3 minutes to the beach. Oktoberfest (German themed beer festival) was on across the roundabout during our stay so it was fairly noisy at night till midnight but since we don’t go to bed early on holiday this wasn’t a problem for us. Considering what we paid I think it was fair value and if you like the beach then it will be fine. The pool area was not great but to be fair as they never are in smaller hotels. One good thing was everything around the hotel was mainly level, no hills! Therefore, if you have trouble getting around this may be a consideration as a good place to stay. Overall I think if you are looking for a cheap week away close to the beach then the Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa is fine. That is provided you don’t get a high numbered room with the fan noise!

Low number rooms at front are best as you will get late afternoon sun on your balcony.

Room Tip: Low number rooms at the front of the hotel are best as you will get late afternoon sun on your balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkhall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here in October the smallest room you could get the breakfast was disgusting the pool area not very good the only thing that it's got going for it is the location its old and worn its true you only get what you pay for

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Fermanagh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

stayed end of august for a week b & b great hotel. The beach is a stone throw away and the pool is quiet with a nice shaded area to get out of the heat. Perfect position for everything but not too close to the madness. great quiet relaxing holiday. Great cocktail bar and the guys working there couldnt do enough for us. Will be back for sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from 4 nights half board at the Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa with my partner. Been to lots of hotels in Santa Ponsa but first time in an adults only hotel. Def not my thing, missed the buzz of the kids enjoying themselves but thats just me. Transfer was about an hour.Arrived at hotel at 11 at night to a lovely man on reception who informed us that he wld open the dining room if we wanted a snack, ate on plane so we were fine. Went to our room, nothing fancy, 2 twin beds, tv, shower room but adequate and clean. Went out to get water for the room but no fridges so couldnt keep anything cold.
Got up in morning for breakfast and im sorry to say it was like walking into the twilight zone (nothing to do with hotel or staff, who were lovely, but the people. who looked at us as if we shouldnt be there!!! Im 38 and my partner is 40 but it was as if we were shunned for being to young. Breakfast was continental and cooked, im fussy so didnt really like how cooked items tasted (not my usual sausage or bacon) but hey ho thats my problem. Ashamed to say we exited the dining room pretty smart as couldnt stand the staring.
Santa ponsa is just as lovely as i remembered but as end of season was pretty quiet. Didnt bother us though.
Dinnertime in the dining room was another staring session at us but i ignored it and just said hi to anyone staring and it soon stopped them. I dont think people were trying to be rude, i just dont think that the clientele are used to younger people being there as i think it has alot of regular clients. Dinner was not to our taste, not a great selection and cldnt tell what food was. As i said before, i am fussy so others seemed to be eating ok.
I have no gripes with hotel
, staff were friendly, rooms clean and adequate but hotel was too quiet for me as im used to all inclusive with my daughter BUT nothing wrong with it as a base for exploring Santa Ponsa.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa

Address: Plaza Santa Ponsa 2, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Santa Ponsa
Plaza Santa Ponsa
Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fergus Plaza Santa Ponsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.