We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Playas de Mallorca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hesperia Playas de Mallorca to your Saves list
Hesperia Playas de Mallorca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via del Puig Major, 2, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2009

This is a great hotel! I have stayed in it twice!
Pool is great, lots of fun stuff through the day to keep everyone busy!
Poolside bar is good for drinks and snacks!
Buffet breakfast and dinner is just amazing! Lots to choose from, i was full every night!
McDonalds next door, also great with a burger king just up the road too!!
Our room was very spacious, and airy! We had a huge bathroom with a bath too!
Location was perfect, sea view and straight accross the road to the beach, what more can you ask for!
Wee shop round the corner does great baguettes!
Would go back in a second!!

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    250
    99
    39
    14
See reviews for
155
314
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockport
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

Went for a short break and some last minute sunshine.
Located opposite the beach, the noise from some late night revellers returning home drunk can wake you up if in a Sea view room. Same with the street cleaning machines and similar early in the morning.
Otherwise location of Hotel great, near all local ameneties and lovely beach.
Buffet breakfast fine, with plenty of choice. Reception and other staff very friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
Pool looked nice but we used the beach.
Room cleaned daily along with fresh towels if required.
Gave us a courtesy room to shower and change in on the evening we departed (no charge).
No problems at all.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and location
  • Disliked — Noise during the early hours if in Sea view room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2008

just spent a week here much to my disappointment. the hotel is very clean and near the beach but there's no getting away from the fact that it's next door to macdonalds and a smelly type of "storm drain " runs parallel with the main door side of the hotel.There is a guy spray painting just outside the hotel everynight and that is very smelly as well ,infact he wears a mask! The staff were polite but not very chatty , maybe they don't like the horrible green overalls they were all wearing.At the poolside there was music ALL DAY long from jazz ,spanish opera, cheesy eighties ,to some kind of asian /indian music and for us there was no escape as our room was above the speaker (room 339, one to avoid, it's very small with a tiny bathroom and you can hear you're neighbour very clearly when you're in the bathroom, it,s also miles away from the lift).The pool is very clean and not deep.The sun loungers around the pool are arranged so close together that they are actually touching so we lifted and stacked a few just to have a little feeling of personal space. We bought towels as they were 10 euros deposit each returnable , plus 1 euro per day each!! A fridge will set you back 70 euro.The food would have been acceptable if it had been at least warm it was always cold, we ate out alot ( turn left from hotel ,there are some nice places to eat but not cheap!). It was'nt the chill out break we were looking for and I don't think we'll go back.

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Disliked — food and noise
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2008

The hotel is well situated and very clean. Pool area is great with lots of sun loungers and parasols. The maids were very friendly and the rooms were well cleaned each day.

The food was ok and we wre able to find something which we liked from the buffet each day.

The one main concern for us was the rudest receptionist we have ever encountered over many years of world wide travel. He is a real liability to an otherwise good establishment.

Try to secure a pool facing room as there are many rooms that are subject to noise of machinery at the side of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

I was hesitant at first in booking this hotel but decided that the location was more important than a long list of amenities considering the price. The hotel may be clean and offer quite good value for money on the offset, but I must have been the only single person anywhere in sight. This hotel offers the minimum services as any 3 star hotel should b ut is geared towards families or couples. All meals were rather boring and bland but the restaurant staff were efficient and friendly. When I arrived well past midnight after renting a car from Palma airport, I was greeted by the most unfriendly male receptionist that I have ever come across in my life with "SI?" I had booked a room with seaview and was given a room overlooking Macdonalds. Upon further enquiries the next day, I found out that the room I was offered with side-sea-view was probably the best under the circumstances as the full-sea-view rooms towards the front were very noisy during the day and especially at night. I can believe this as it was often very noisy until approx. 4am. The evening entertainment was well below average. Some of the reception staff do not speak English very well and were not very knowledgeable regarding the on-going religious festival over the weekend. There is no need to pay for parking as you will usually find parking spaces available in the same road as the hotel. Parking is also free in the municipal car park a short walk away. This hotel is situated in a very good location and just a few steps away from the beach and shops right on the doorstep. However, the atmosphere is rather univiting and the communal lounge area rather dull and lifeless.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Food and entertainment
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

just returned from a 2 week stay at the playa de mallorca and have to endorse most peoples comments.hotel is the cleanest we have stayed in, maid cleaned room every day.restraunt staff polite and efficient along with all other staff.now for the negative bits,first of all we were lucky enough to be given a pool /sea view,this is a must asthe other view is of macdonalds and sometimes an unpleasent smell from a levee that runs alongside.secondly our room as with what looks to be most rooms had a connecting door,great for large families to be together not so great if you have the two sets of noisy neighbours we had,perhaps we were just unlucky but it would put us of staying here again,food at both brekkie and evening was of good quality and a reasonable amount of choice.pool area clean,plenty of beds but could do with a few more parasols,daytime and evening entertainment o-k,rooms are well air conditioned,only english channel on t.v was sky news,2 beds,1double,1single,bathroom was reasonable size with bath and very good shower.shame about the neighbours!

  • Liked — location,cleanliness
  • Disliked — noisy inconsiderate neighbours
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
in mayo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

just back home after a week in santa ponsa, stayed in hesperia on b & b they deserve every one of thier four stars, perfect in every way, would have liked better communication regarding keeping room till 6o clock check out ,but it has to be the best yet.
would go back no prob, eould recomend to my best friend, its not a buffet for breakfast, its a banquet they provide, great pool, nice bar ,good acctivites, excellent staff.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — that i didnt get to keep room til 6pm
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hesperia Playas de Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Playas de Mallorca

Address: Gran Via del Puig Major, 2, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hesperia Playas de Mallorca 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the Hesperia Playas De Mallorca for some fun under the Mediterranean sun! Our magnificent seafront hotel is just a stone's throw from the historic city of Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, NHHotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hesperia Playas de Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Playas De Mallorca Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hesperia Playas De Mallorca Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Playas de Mallorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.