We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hesperia playas excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Playas de Mallorca

Save Saved
You added Hesperia Playas de Mallorca to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hesperia Playas de Mallorca
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via del Puig Major, 2 | Santa Ponsa, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #7 of 35 hotels in Santa Ponsa
essex
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“hesperia playas excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here couple of weeks ago and was very impressed,rooms comfortable,food very good and the rooms and restaurant very clean. Excellent position, stones throw from beach and shops.
The pool area was well tended and also very clean. We had a room overlooking the pool and could see the sea..just !! Evening entertainment was the usual for 3 * but we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    199
    87
    32
    10
See reviews for
117
251
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

It's 13yrs since we were last in Santa Ponsa & it won't be another 13 years til we visit again! And we will be staying in this hotel again for sure. The food was plentiful & fresh & such a good choice. The hotel staff were extremely friendly & helpful & our room was spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the areas in the hotel. What a fab position aswell, right opposite the beach. Just one insy winsy critisism, i agree with 'JeansW11' yes some of the sunloungers do need replacing, otherwise I think i chose well for this holiday

Room Tip: If you are not happy with the room you are allocated, if you ask nicely & they can accommodate y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was the third time my partner and I had stayed at the Hesperia. I wont go on about the location as that can be seen straight away. The past two times the only issue I had was the food, It was not the worst I had eat but always became repeditive.

This time however the food was outstanding, there was always a large section of fresh food on offer and caters for all tastes, a small sample would be fresh seafood, chilli nachos, build your own burgers, salads, Fresh Veg, bbq ribs, paella, chicken and Seafood varieties. and these all change nightly never eat the same twice. Drinks are not cheap in the hotel so best to drink out or have a carry out in the room.

There is always plenty of room around the very clean pool area and yes you will always get the saddos who pop down at 0630 - 0700 to put there towels out, but i did witness from the balcony one morning a staff memeber remove these and reset the loungers as the two older woman had not only placed towels but moved the loungers around blocking accsess across the small bridge.

On the subject of the balcony we were in room 125 and you could have played 5 a side on the balcony it was that big and gave veiws not only of the pool but also out across the bay.

On the nights we eat out we eat at Sherazade at the end of the beach, it has some bad reviews from others going on about the waiting times but that happens in resturants when you seat yourself and staff dont know your there, manners and patiance get you served and wow the food is stunning so is the view at sunset across the bay.

All in all if your gonna stay in Santa ponsa the Hesperia is clean, freindly, good food, and ideal location.

Room Tip: Oh dont ask for any honeymoon favours from the hotel as they will still try to charge for a seaview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel is located just in front of the beach! Good location but noisy if you stay in the room next to the street. The water in the sea is not the cleanest one especially when there are big waves. Nice beach and town view from the hill!!!
Thanks for the nice holidays!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

stayed at the hesperia in September. it is a lovely hotel and the staff are so pleasant. it is spotlessly clean and the foos is really nice. we booked bed and breakfast and when we arrives we booked the evening meal some nights for 8 euros each which was rally good value. we booked a standard room and on the booking we requestes pool view and we we very pleased to get a room that had both a pool and sea view. the hotal is just across the raod from the beach and lots of shops and bars are nearby. we also ate in the Pepper Pot restaurant up the hill towards the square and had a fantastic meal.

the pool is fantastic but the pool beds are a bit dated and need replacing

Room Tip: request pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Been to Santa Ponsa for the last 15 years or so but first time at this hotel. The location is perfect being central with just a short hop across the road to the beach.

On arrival we were allocated a room overlooking the car park at the back, so back to reception and in 5 minutes we were in a lovely room overlooking the pool. The room was a good size with an adequate batchroom with a walk in shower. The room was made up every day and was kept spotlessly clean.

We were half board (though we did eat out a few times by choice) and i had no complaints about the variety or quality of food both at breakfast and dinner.

The hotel tries hard to provide evening entertainment but finds it difficult to compete with so much going on in Santa Ponsa. Looked in on a few of the acts and they varied from average to downright cheesy. However the enthusiasm of the entertainment team could not be faulted.

This hotel's biggest asset is its staff. Each member of staff we came across was extremely pleasant and courteous. They really went the extra mile and are a credit to the company.

The pool area is most relaxing and there are plenty sun loungers (though they are looking a bit tired). There was the usual reserving of loungers but the practice is frowned upon and was not wide-spread.

I would rate this hotel better than 3 star and i would most certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Try for a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is in a great central location and offers very good 3 star clean accommodation. Rooms are a good size with clean bathroom. We had room with side sea view on the street facing mc donalds. Quiet, no problems. Wouldn't want a sea view as the rooms are on the front above a shop and take away. Would liked pool view but hotel was full. Pool very nice and well maintained with lots sun beds although they are quite old. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Didn't stay half board. If I came to santa ponsa again which I wouldn't as it's too touristy I would stay here. Opposite nice sandy beach and near to everything. Bus stop at end of road. Not many nice restaurants as mainly irish bars and eating places. The balcon de Maria was nice though. We got the bus to palma and paguera which were both really nice.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hesperia Playas de Mallorca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Playas de Mallorca

Address: Gran Via del Puig Major, 2 | Santa Ponsa, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hesperia Playas de Mallorca 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the Hesperia Playas De Mallorca for some fun under the Mediterranean sun! Our magnificent seafront hotel is just a stone's throw from the historic city of Palma. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, NHHotels, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hesperia Playas de Mallorca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Playas De Mallorca Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hesperia Playas De Mallorca Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Playas de Mallorca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.