We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very over-rated hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rey Don Jaime Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Rey Don Jaime Hotel to your Saves list
Rey Don Jaime Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very over-rated hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Just back from this hotel with my boyfriend and my mum and dad. My parents and partner have all been to this hotel many times over the past years and stated that it was a really good hotel. Unfortunately, they have since changed their opinion (and I). When we got to our rooms, we went out to the balcony and couldn't see a thing as there was a massive tree right in front of us. They changed our rooms with no problem at all. The bedroom was just okay (bit dated), but there was no drawers and very little wardrobe space, so some of our clothes had to stay in our cases, the bathroom has no place to hang the hand towels !!!! My parents shower was broke and they had to hold the shower over them to wash, they got it fixed the next day. This might seem trivial, but for the money we paid we expected much better. The food was always cold, dried up and not great choices. The carvery chef actually shouted at my partner because he asked for a breast of chicken instead of a leg !!!! The pool area was fine although you have to be down very early to get a bed. We just felt that the staff were not that happy or helpful. We have stayed in many hotels in majorca, this was the worst for me. Overall we were greatly disappointed and will not return. My parents said that it has certainly gone " down hill" since they were last there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    378
    217
    81
    55
See reviews for
386
407
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

first impressions of the hotel where very good, the reception area is impressive! We arrived very early in the morning and where pleasantly surprised that they had prepared some food for us after our travels. The hotel room was very outdated, but exceptionally clean. The air con is rubbish, very noisy and doesn't seem to make much difference to the room temp so we had the balcony doors open most of the time but you do get a lot of noise from the clubs/bars wich are very close, however by law they shut their front doors at 12 midnight so you don't hear much after that. Wifi is available for the price of 20 euros for a week.
most Staff where not very friendly and spoke little english, the friendliest staff was definitley the cleaners, who do an amazing job, the whole hotel was spotless! The all inclusive was not worth the money for us. We are self-confessing fussy eaters but there was virtually nothing we could eat, and nothing vegetarian apart from salad, most food was not even labelled so it was a guessing game, and what was actually labelled appeared to be incorrect! there was a wide selection of the drinks avaliable in the all inclusive, the cocktails are LETHAL ! If you want to sunbathe by the pool I do recommend getting down there fairly early as space is limited. The pool is freezing however the beach is 2-3 mins walk away and the sea is warmer than the pool.
the walls are very thin and so you can hear virtually everything going on in the 2 rooms either side of you. The beds really ruined the whole hotel experience for me, they where so uncomfortable and i wasn't able to get a good nights sleep at all while i was there, therefore spent my holiday tired and achy. The entertainment was O.K, not suitable for my age group really, it was more the older persons. All in all the hotel was O.K. for what we paid we do feel a little down hearted about the whole experience, I wouldn't stay there again unless the beds where changed because that ruined it for me.

Room Tip: pool facing hotel room is not recommended as the nightly entertainment is held out there and does no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Had a 11 night stay at Hotel Rey Dom Jamie from 9th Sept- 20th Sept.
Hotel staff- Friendly, welcoming, nothing to much trouble. FANTASTIC Food great choice, chef there every night carving fresh meat, salad fresh & crisp. Entertainment brilliant (max u made us laugh) bingo bongo lol. Will definite recommend this Hotel & would go back. The only thing that can be annoying is the old folks moaning about the food there was nothing wrong with the food at all & we call the germans for the sunbeds the brits are worse, people put their towels on the sunbeds ALL DAY and don't even use them !!!!

Thank you for a brilliant holiday :O)

Sally & Mark

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel bedrooms do not have much storage we were in a triple room but had to leave one set of clothes in suitcase also the bedrooms & small bathrooms need refurbishing.We had a tv with itv bbc1 & 2,but had to pay 10 euro dep for handset there is a fridge & this was 3 euros a day to hire.There is pool & side sea view rooms we were happy we had a sea view & overlooking the resort.most nights there was a good choice of food from curry to paella & roasts only one night apart from soup i couldnt find anything to eat.There was day entertainment like water polo darts some of our party joined in and loved it .night entertainment included rod stewart & four tops tributes plus quiz & bingo nights.The rey don jaime is in the flat area of santa ponsa & a few mins from the beach.The pool was freezing but had alot of sunbeds to go round its open at 8.30am to put towels on loungers if wanting a particular place round pool.This is a ok 3*hotel but think with refurbishments in certain areas plus air con working a bit better could be a higher rated hotel.

Room Tip: We had a side sea view room overlooking the resort & found this quiet,the air con ok but could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Just had a 10 day holiday at this hotel staff were great had a problem with the hair dryer rang reception and had a new hairdrier fitted within 15 minutes great service thought it was a shame you have to rent a key for the fridge which is in the rooms anyway andpay for remote control for television we got ver this by changing stations with buttons as we do not think it right these things are in the rooms thes are the only niggle.But food excellent best food on an all inclusive holiday we have had rooms spacious but could do with some drawers in dresser great location near to beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My party and I - 6 ladies in all were transferred to this hotel after we had arrived at our original hotel booked in Santa Ponsa and found that not all of us had a room - another story. We had booked a 4* All Inclusive holiday for a long weekend for a 40th Birthday Party and were being "downgraded" to a 3*. We were quite upset and also a bit concerned as to what we were going to get as this hotel we were told was the "only one" with availability due to Santa Ponsa being full this weekend. Well - as it turned out we had nothing to worry about.....what a superb break this turned out to be!!!!

The hotel itself is very clean, superb pool area, but you do have to get down there early to get a decent spot. Rooms were a decent size, very clean, cleaned every day and the shower....all I will say is be careful...it brings a whole new meaning to the phrase "power shower" Food for all inclusive was good, a wide selection, something for everyone...the only negative was sometimes it could have done with being a little warmer. Drinks included in the All Inclusive package were a good choice of beers, spirits and cocktails, although some of the barman should learn how to "crack a smile" once in a while. Overall you can't go hungry or thirsty at this hotel.

There was lots of entertainment during the day and the evening which you could take it or leave it. Max who organises the entertainment, he works tirelessly to ensure everyone is having a good time, makes a point to know everyone's name...water polo...brilliant as is his routine at Bingo with his "shake em up" dance...hilarious. This guy deserves 5 stars to himself top top bloke who helped make our holiday.

After what was a bit of a disaster upon arrival, we ended up with a little gem. This hotel is worthy of a 4* rating rather than a 3* and we can't wait to book up and go back next year for what is going to become our "annual girly" break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Just back from a 1 week stay at Rey Don Jaime. As with others we were a little concerned about other reviews but were more than happy with our stay and would go back. We got a good last minute deal and probably wouldn't be prepared to pay more than this for the stay.

For a 3 star hotel this hotel ticks all the boxes. Staff are pleasant, especially the entertainment team. Bar staff on the terrace can seem a little grumpy but so would I if all my customers were not following the '2 drinks at a time, and bring your key card' rule. Usual selection of drinks for all inclusive, local spirits and beer and some cocktails.

Entertainment from Max and Tom is good, they work hard but are possibly the best ive seen at judging how 'up for it' you are. Games are aimed at everyone so all ages can join in. I probably got a bit too competitive in water polo!

Rooms are fine for sleeping in, our balcony view wasn't great but we weren't on holiday to sit on the balcony all day. Beds are a bit hard for my liking but that's a my personal preference. Our room was cleaned every day, maids do start early and you will hear them from about 8-830am as the walls are very thin. We quickly got used to the noise you can hear through the echoey corridors and thin walls but if you're a light sleeper you may want to consider ear plugs.

Food is somewhat of a let down. Rarely warm and nothing particularly inspiring. Plenty of salt particularly in the soup! There was at least 4 evenings where the super friendly chef had a roast joint on offer with Yorkshire puddings and gravy. Not exactly a great Spanish menu but there was always something I'd happily eat. Especially for desert!

Thomson reps were on hand everyday. We did go to the welcome meeting a were promised to have some additional information posted under our door. This didn't happen even after remaining the rep. I found reception to be most useful in finding out local information.

On our last couple of days the place was taken over by 'Hooleys in the sun'. Definitely not our taste and the majority of the people on this trip seemed to assume they had more right to be in the hotel and i found some to be rather rude. Perhaps if our trips overlapped more my opinion would change. If we were to go back we would definitely check our visit didn't clash with this tour.

Santa Ponsa is a good resort, if you're feeling fit do climb the stairs and wander around the big villas on the hill. A walk to the marina and viewpoint is also a must.

Overall a good holiday and for the price we got at last minute I'd go back. If anything just to see Max's 'shake em up' dance at bingo. Hilarious!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rey Don Jaime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Don Jaime Hotel

Address: Gran Via Del Puig Major, 4, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rey Don Jaime Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 417
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rey Don Jaime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rey Don Jaime
Rey Don Jaime Santa Ponsa
Rey Don Jaime Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rey Don Jaime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.