We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude reception and extremely noisy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Punta del Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Punta del Mar to your Saves list
SENTIDO Punta del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Huguet des Far, 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Rude reception and extremely noisy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Staying at this place makes you wonder about a couple of things.

First, have the stuff working in reception gone on "how to be rude and upset the cliens" course? Regardless what the issue concerned and who was standing behind the desk, all the discussions reminded more of a fight then anything else. That totally spoiled the experience.

Second, who designed the place?? What was that person thinking? There is no sound insulation in the rooms what so ever. The gaps around the door are up to 2cm wide which allows you to enjoy all the light and the sounds from the corridors all day long. And believe me there are a lot of sounds! The echo effects from the tiled floors around the place are amazing. Wonder if the designer actually wanted to design a concert hall.. oh well it turned out to be a hotel.. never mind the sound is excellent.

I was happy to leave the place and hope I never need to come back.

Ok, the views were amazing. Beautiful sea.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for let us know the issues that you had during your stay in our hotel.
First we would like to apologize for the inconvenience.
We are working on improve our services and your opinions are the most important to do it.

We are looking forward to see you soon.

Kind regards

Holiday Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    300
    130
    87
    46
See reviews for
135
649
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have been in the Sentido Punta del Mar Hotel recently and the overall experience has been outstanding. We have been lucky to find a wonderful weather but, in any case, the location is exceptionally good and the landscapes are wonderful, with breathtaking sea views. The rooms are spacious, well-kept and clean. There is a restaurant with an extensive range of gastronomy so there is no need to leave the hotel and look for alternatives, although there’s lots to do in the surroundings if you want to go strolling .The spa is great. If we add the fact that children under 16 are not admitted we get a peaceful and quiet environment, ideal for our romantic escapes. Highly recommendable for a romantic stay or a quiet, relaxed holiday.

Room Tip: Lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Gerente at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for giving your opinion. We are glad that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel and we look forward to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Holiday Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just got back from a great vacation and wanted to take the opportunity of this website to explain how great we've been at this newly renovated Sentido Punta del Mar.

The location is stunning, like you're in a boat, with great views and beautiful sunsets. The rooms are very spacious and with a nice Mediterranean design.

The food excellent and varied, we were half board. Staff very polite and attentive, always helpful.

And what we loved, the peace and quiet of an adult only. We were able to relax and enjoy the sound and smell of the sea.

If we go back to Europe, we'll be back again a few days to rest at this wonderful hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to thank you to choice our hotel for your holiday and also for your review.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forwards to welcome you in our hotel again.

Best regards

Holiday Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Great wievs, very quiet and pacefull. We enjoye it very much. Wonderfull meals, and everybody at the hotel was really friendly: they gave us all kinds of details of the area! Warm and deliciuss spa!! For sure, we'll came as many times as possible!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much to share your experience in Hotel Sentido Punta del Mar. We are glad to know that everything was to your liking. We are waiting to welcome you in our hotel again.

With kind regards

Holiday Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We are back in Miami and we miss mallorca . this hotel was the best of our trip. Very nice spa , good food, great rooms. The staff was also very nice. The location is unbeatable. It seams a brand new hotel. All renovated Really a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your review and for choosing our hotel Sentido Punta del Mar for your stay in Majorca. We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Holiday Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Having spent hours trying to find the perfect hotel close to Palma and within a strict budget, I came upon the Sentido Punta del Mar. From the photos on the site, I was quite impressed and immediately interested. Too make a long story short, even though many of the reviews were negative, I decided to book. We arrived on a sunny morning on Good Friday and although very early, we were immediately given a room and even invited to have breakfast. The reception was very friendly and the check in process quick and efficient. We moved into our room and then went looking for the breakfast room. The restaurant is large, airy, modern, bright and quite welcoming with an amazing view of the ocean... and that's where it ends! The food (I can only speak about the breakfast) is just plain awful - at first glance, the buffet seems to offer everything you could possibly want... upon scrutiny, one becomes aware of low-quality products, oily prepared dishes, dried out cold cuts, jams that are spilling out of the jars, bread that feels stale, a milk dispenser that is always just about empty, a coffee station that only offers powdered coffee with powdered milk and eggs sunny side up, over-easy, scrambled and omelettes that have all been pre-cooked and left under the hot lamp for hours! The word "fresh" is clearly not part of the Sentido vocabulary. After being ill with a queasy stomach two days in a row, I ate toast and honey with a cup of tea the remaining three days of our stay. And now to the room. Located on the 7th floor and facing the sea and complete with large terrace, I was excited! Gorgeous view!! That night the winds were near hurricane force and I was wakened by the door of the room rattling with every gust. I was just waiting for it to blow in. The room was actually quite nice with light colors, but virtually no decoration. The bathroom was a catastrophe! Again, at first glance, modern, stylish, clean. Upon usage, the toilet so close to the glass door of the shower that you had to sit sideways on the toilet. The sliding glass door was not watertight to the floor, thus causing flooding. The drain of the shower constantly stopped up. Three days in a row, the bathroom was tidied, but not cleaned. My final disappointment was the parking situation. There is NO PARKING!! This is stated on the website and I was aware of this fact, but one assumes that there must be parking somewhere. Well, there is... down the hill and far away. As there are two large hotels in the immediate vicinity, the parking situation is extremely limited. One must be prepared to circle around Santa Ponsa for up to 30 minutes before finding a parking spot. The happiest guests seemed to be the bike riders. They of course had no car and the bike shop is directly a part of the hotel. All in all, this is an hotel with great potential located on a hill overlooking the sea with stunning views. The staff is super friendly. The food dreadful and the rooms poorly designed and constructed. I will definitely look for an alternative upon my return to Mallorca.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guests,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing our hotel. We regret that we have not been at the level with our breakfast service as you expected. It is true that we do not have private parking and sometimes it is difficult to find parking outside. We also regret that you did not like the design of our rooms. We will improve these points.

With kind regards

Holiday Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent a week in this great hotel as part of our tour of Europe. Why we chose it? A friend's recommendation and he was absolutely right. We enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel has truly amazing views, the personnel is very friendly and helpful, the spa is great too (immaculately clean and offers fantastic treatments), and the food is excellent (great choice and quality). We will definitely stay again in this wonderful hotel. I would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H-Director, Holiday Concierge at SENTIDO Punta del Mar, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear guests,

We would like to thank you to choice our hotel for your stay in Majorca. It is a pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your holiday with us. We hope to see you again.

Best regards

Holiday Concierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Punta del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Punta del Mar

Address: c/ Huguet des Far, 11, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — SENTIDO Punta del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Punta del Mar **** Location: On a slope above the sea, the center and the main beach are about 1500 meters away. The next bay and shopping area are a short walk away. Facilities: Renovated in 2012 the SENTIDO Punta del Mar with 234 rooms on seven floors has a lobby with sitting area, internet corner and WiFi internet access, TV room with satellite TV, a bar, a cafeteria with a large terrace and restaurant with sea views. The outdoor area has got a swimming pool, sun terrace with loungers and parasols and a poolside bar. Minimum age 16 years Meals: All meals in buffet form. Lodging: The rooms are equipped with shower / WC, air conditioning / heating, wireless internet, mini fridge, safe (extra charge), telephone, satellite TV, balcony and sea view. Junior suites are larger with the same features and in addition have a hair dryer, bathrobe, minibar and seating area. Double rooms and Junior Suites Superior have additionally with 2 chairs on the balcony. Sport and wellness Included: Indoor pool (for colder months), Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, fitness room and table tennis. Extra charge: table tennis, billiards, bike rental, massages and treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your SENTIDO Punta del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Hotel Punta Del Mar
Punta Del Mar Hotel
SENTIDO Punta Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Punta del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.