We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playas del Rey Hotel

Save Saved
You added Playas del Rey Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Playas del Rey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   76 Via Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 35 hotels in Santa Ponsa
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Little Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went to this Hotel in summer of 2011. Great little hotel and not too busy all the time like most other hotels. Pool is quite small, but if I'm honest it was all you needed as the beach is practically across the road from the hotel. The rooms are just the right size for the pair of us, and the decor very chic. If you miss getting a sunbed by the pool, there are a lot of sunbeds on the hotel roof which are a great little suntrap and you can get the sun all day long until it sets.
The staff are also very nice and helpful. Good choice of food at breakfast, although it was sometimes hard to find a table later in the morning. Breakfast could finish a little later. The only con I can think of is the location of the room. Our room overlooked a large block of flats which were noisy with children and dogs from time to time which meant I slept with earplugs to avoid getting woken up early in the morning.
All in all, a great little hotel though and not too expensive which is a great plus!
Would go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomeu E, Manager at Playas del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thaks very much for your review. We look forward to see you again at Playas del Rey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    46
    20
    12
    5
See reviews for
34
80
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have just returned from 10 days staying at the Playas Del Rey and I can honestly say this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed at.I can not fault it on one single point.The hotel itself is idealy placed just up the road from the beach and set back from the main road.As soon as you arrive in reception you can feel you are in for an excellent experience.To one side of reception is a very chic cocktail lounge and on the other is the superbly presented restaurant where breakfast is served.The breakfast itself was amazing with so much choice with quality products.We were in room 311 which was 3rd floor overlooking the good sized swimming pool ,plenty of loungers,the best and most comfortable I have ever used.Plenty of room on the rooftop area to relax and sunbathe as well.Our room was lovely,good quality furniture and fittings with a lovely decor and like the rest of the hotel spotlessly clean.The staff were all very attentive and friendly with a special mention to Manuel and the little blond girl in the restaurant [sorry I forgot to ask your name] I could go on and on heaping praise on this hotel but I don't want to bore everyone.If you want a first class place to stay in Santa Ponsa book this place,you will not find better.We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: I doubt if this hotel has a bad room,just book it and enjoy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just come back from santa ponso playas del rey hotel, the hotel is clean, as for going half board i really would not bother, you are unable to choose a starter, or sweet, and get only two choices for main meal, the first night i was there the main meal was goulash with either Noodles, or Pasta, I ask for Noodles but got pasta, the menu for half board is poor to say the least when I asked if there was a menu and was quite prepared to pay a little extra I was told NO, only to see that people who came for a meal was given a Menu. The hotel at night is non exsistant with no atosmphere at all with nobody at the bar. I saw many couples bringing back takeaways and going to thier room. Other than the hotel being in a good location does not have much going for it other than being clean. I would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomeu E, Gerente at Playas del Rey Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments in Trypadvisor, they really help us to improve.
We are truly sorry that you did not like our menu. I can assure you that for the following season we will increase the variety of our food menu. In terms of quality we shall continue using the best ingredients.
Best regards from Playas del Rey!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This modern, smart and friendly hotel is well located and was good value for money. The staff were attentive, chatty and, well, plain nice (Manuel, Dania and Marco take a bow!). The food was also good - breakfast was continental buffet style with a good choice. Dinner menu on half board was a little limited and portions were not massive (which suited us in the hot climate) but excellent quality. It's less than five minutes to a lovely beach. We had a wonderful week's stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
huddersfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

i stayed in this hotel in 2009 before the refurbishments. i loved it then but adore it now!! the staff are excellent and communication was brilliant. i emailed the hotel earlier to request a certain room and on my arrival, it was there for me with complimentary fridge.
the breakfast is excellent, so much choice with very good quality products. this is the first hotel abroad that i have been able to drink the juice. with regards to the drink prices, the bar across the road was much more expensive and it was serving cheap local spirits at an higher price than the hotel's imported liquer.
the location is excellent as it is next to some excellent restaurants ans the free wifi in the hotel is an added bonus. i will definately be staying here again!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is first class. We spent 12 nights there in August 2012 as a family vacation. It is located a few minutes walk from the main beach and some excellent restaurants. Breakfast was great...extensive range of hot and cold food including cured and cooked meats, cereals,cheeses, fruit and pastries accompanied by fruit juices and coffee. Service from the attentive and meticulous staff is commendable and the levels of cleanliness for a beach resort hotel is to our minds, unsurpassed. Rooms are spacious, well maintained and spotlessly cleaned by attentive maid daily. Pool area is well maintained and decor in and around hotel has modern appeal. The hotel is perhaps aimed more towards couples than families but the staff were nevertheless accommodating with our youngster and given that Santa Ponsa is a family resort I would encourage the hotel management to maintain a family-friendly approach...the hotel bar was fantastic - understated chic with a trendy vibe and good background music and the bar man, Mark was extremely professional. friendly and mixed all drinks from cocktails to gin and tonics with flair and attention. Nothing was too much trouble day or night..Our breakfast server, Jean-Claire was also very attentive and always welcoming with a smile. I would highly recommend this hotel for couples and families looking for quality accommodation in a great location. we will certainly return

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

This hotel is not the Ritz but it is Ok and the Food is superb, the dinner hall is fantastic, massive range of cooked and cold meats. Freshly cooked prawns on offer too! Pool area was clean as was the majority of the hotel and the rooms are immaculately cleaned everyday. Recommend for a relaxing week.....

Room Tip: Don't get a room facing the front road as you can hear the noisy crowds in the bars up till 4am!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Playas del Rey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playas del Rey Hotel

Address: 76 Via Jaime I, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playas del Rey Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Playas del Rey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playas Del Rey Santa Ponsa
Playas Del Rey Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playas del Rey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.