We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PIONERO VISIT” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Globales Pionero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Globales Pionero to your Saves list
Globales Pionero
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puig des Teix, 5, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
verwood
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“PIONERO VISIT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here for a week after a fantastic cruise on the Island escape thomson ship. the only moan we have is that the hot food on the buffet was not hot enough, we dined about 1 hour after the buffet opened and the food trays were full but not hot. otherwise the cruise and the hotel was great value. We have booked another cruise and stay holiday for Feb 2013. The hotel is well situated for getting a bus and there are shops and cafes within a few minutes walk. try mozarts coffee shop on the roundabout, great coffee and nice cakes!

Room Tip: GO for a room on the south side as you get morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keyboardbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Globales Pionero, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

On behalf of all staff and management here at Globales Pionero Hotel we thank you for your kind words dedicated to our hotel.

We love to hear that we did a really good job, this proves us that we are heading in the right direction. Our main compromise is to full fill all our guest expectations and make them feel like home.

About the items that you are not agree like the problems with the food, please be assured that we will take them all into consideration in order to improve our service and make our hotel a better choice for clients.

Kind regards,
Quality Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Pionero for 4 days and have just arrived back to the UK, We had booked this holiday as a last minute break away for half term holidays, Originally we had booked into the Globales Playa, but upon arrival was told that this hotel had closed and had been "upgraded" to the Pionero. We were happy with this arrangement until we arrived in our room. We had a first floor room on the corner of the building, overlooking a busy main street. the view was obscured by trees, we couldn't see a thing. I normally would have made a fuss, but as we were only staying 4 days I decided to leave it. The room and the bathroom were nice and clean and the towels were changed every day. We arrived late evening at the hotel, and after booking in was told that the restaurant was still open and we could leave our bags and go and eat. They serve snacks from 10pm until midnight, there were sausages, burgers, pork with a sauce (which was very tasty) chips, salad, rolls and couple other things available, which we welcomed, The food overall was nice, same sort of thing every day, meat in sauces, fish, rice dishes, pasta, chips, jacket or fried potatoes, salads, pizza...lots of variety and the food was tasty. It is a large restaurant with plenty of seating area but we found that if a table had been used it wasnt changed but left, so we had to go in search of a table which hadnt been used. I have to say the food is plentiful and snacks are provided throughout the day and night after the main meals have finished, you would never go hungry. The breakfast was very nice and lots of choice from full English to a continental alternative, lots of fruit, different breads, cereals available to.
We went fully inclusive, you are limited to what cocktails you can order but if you want to pay extra you can have the full choice. The bar staff are quick and efficient and work very hard but there was 1 who didnt smile once, never acknowledged a smile from anyone, constantly chewed chewing gum (like a cow chewing a cud) very annoying and not very professional!
The entertainment was okay, the 2 nights we were there they played a movie quiz and a music quiz,and then a disco until midnight. The entertainment work long hours and have to be applauded, they do a great job and are friendly and welcoming....oh and great with the kids.
I have to say that we paid a lot of money for this short break, and after chatting to fellow guests found out that we paid the same for "4" days that they had paid for 10, if I had the choice to go again and pay a lot less I would but I wouldn't go again for the price that we paid, definately not a 4 star in my book, and as the hotel was coming to the end of the season was a lot quieter than I expected.
The beach is literally 5 minutes from the hotel but was quiet, it's a lovely town with lots of shops and restaurants and bars, so if you wanted a change you could. A nice experience for 4 days break but I wouldnt have lasted a week.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaynor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Pionero, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

On behalf of all staff and management of Globales Pionero we would like to thank you for your take time sharing with us the sensations obtained during your stay with us.

However, we feel sorry that the service received was not up to your expectation, we apologize for all inconvenience you mentioned and we assure you that improvement in all service are an ongoing process because our priority is guest satisfaction.

We will pass on all your comments to all staff, that always help us to know what are we doing wrong and therefore must be improved.

Once again thank you for your comment, we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in any of the hotels of the Globales Group.

If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate in contact us,

Wish you all the best,
Matías Melo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one week 22-29th October. Certainly not a four star hotel. The hotel was clean the bedrooms basic but kept clean. The restaurant was a joke the food was awful chips and grease with everything and the staff rude rude rude. If this is someone's first experience of the Spanish people then god help us. The bar staff apart from one were so rude it was unreal if they don't want to work then give the job to someone that does. We ate in the town quite a lot. Had we paid a fortune to stay here then I would be very angry but got a last minute bargain, but still too much to pay for the service we received. As title says wont be going back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Pionero, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time spent on write a comment on Tripadvisor describing the sensations obtained during your stay in Globales Pionero.

We feel very sorry to know that the service received was not up to your expectations, that is something that concern us because our priority is guest satisfaction and we work hard everyday to try to achieve it.

We will pass your comments to all staff, especially to bar staff, please be assured that we will do a full investigations of the incidence and then we will take the appropriated actions for it.

Once again thank you for your comment, we hope to have another opportunity welcome you back and make your holidays unforgettable.

If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate in contact us, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Yours sincerely,
Matías Melo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Travelled with a party of 7, 2 adults 2 teenagers and 3 younger children. Hotel was very clean, good choice of salads and hot food. There was also a snack bar, serving chips hot dogs pizza etc.which the younger children loved. I would especially like to thank Maria at the bar ...she was always smiling and really mixed a good drink . Also the guy who ran the snack bar by himself.....he worked so hard, taking so many orders but always getting them right! We were very near the beach, and local shops so location was good, overall a good holiday.

Room Tip: We were on 4th floor quiet enough for my 3 yr old son to go straight to sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maxi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Globales Pionero, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

We appreciate your valuable feedback about your stay in our hotel.

It is really rewarding to read your positive comments and we are glad to know that your stay in Globales Pionero was enjoyable.

In Hoteles Globales we are committed to provide to our guests the best experience during their holidays. We have shared your lines with Maria whose name you highlighted out in your review, she will be happy to know that you stay was satisfactory.

We hope to see you again in any of the hotels of the Globales Group, we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Best regards,
Quality Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kingdom of fife
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Reading some if the previous revues i'm thinking I wasn't at the same hotel , we stayed there from the 16th to the 25 oct. we were on the fifth floor facing the front of the hotel, room was cleaned daily, the meals were lots of meat, fish, lamb, veal , chicken, pasta, if you didn't fancy meat there was lots of salad , cold meats , cheese, a huge selection of bread rolls, and ,rye breads, which could be washed down with a very decent red or white wine, or a drink of your choice, then there was the pool bar café with hot dogs, burgers, ham and cheese toasties , pizza, and chips, all piping hot. the bar in high season would be a problem as when they moved the people from the santa ponsa park to the pionero because it was closing, the queues at the bar were long, found the walls a bit thin as you could hear the people in the adjoining rooms talking, but that's a problem with most Spanish hotels because of their construction. all in all I would not go in high season but I enjoyed my stay and met a lot of nice people.

Room Tip: rooms to the front are better for the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dai1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quality M, Quality Manager at Globales Pionero, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time in writing such a kind comment about our Globales Pionero hotel. It is a delight to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us.

Feedback like yours is very important to us, so we know what we can improve to reach an even higher and more exlusive services for our guest. We will certainly take into our consideration all the items you mentioned in your post and we will do our utmost to improve these points.

We are delichted with your powerful and positive words describing our services and facilities. For us is a priority to take care of the visitors properly and fulfill our guest's expectations.

Once again we thank you for your comments,

Yours sincerely,
Quality Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we got a phone call the day before we were to fly to santa ponsa that the hotel we booked was closed and were going accross the road to the pionero, for a start this is the 2nd time we were booked into our first choice hotel with different travel companies, in no way do i blame them as we were staying for 14nts we saw the hotel moving people from the santa ponsa park over to the pionero to stay there for their holiday, your previous reviews about the food were correct, in no way is the pionero 4star i would rate it 2star the bathroom was a joke you had to close door to get into the shower and that was a joke too it did`nt even have a bidet my wife and i could`nt wait to get home, i would just like to say we have been going to spain for over 40years and rate this holiday for lowest star rating,we arrived 9th- 23rd october 2012.

Room Tip: if you dont like the room ask for another.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Pionero, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your time spent on write a comment on TripAdvisor describing the sensations obtained during your stay in our hotel.

We are deeply regret for all inconvenience caused, however I would like to make a little comment about your review:

The hotel policy is not continuous overbooking, we do our best to avoid this type of situations and unfortunately it happened during your stay .

About the other items that you are not agree, like food we will take note of them , because all the points are always checked by our staff in order to improve our service and make Globales Hotel Pionero a better choice for clients.

We sincerely thank you for your comments, please be assured that we will take them all into consideration.

We do hope, to have another opportunity in the near future, we would be delighted to welcome you back. If you decide to give us another chance, please do not hesitate in contact us.

Yours sincerely,
Matías Melo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Santa Ponsa hotels

Vale of Glamorgan
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Myself and two daughters stayed at The Pionero Oct 11 -Oct18. It was the worst holiday we had ever had. Our room overlooked a generator that was constant droning. The restaurant was a joke. We went in a few times and there was nowhere to sit , so we went into the town to eat. The entertainment was not family friendly but was rude and seedy.If my Grandson had been with us , he would have had a few very early nights.
We usually stay at Hotel America in Callas de Malorca, and i must say , we will be staying there in future. The staff in the whole of this Hotel are wonderful and can't help enough to make sure you have a great holiday.
To finish, i would say as a guest at Pionero you can not even get a drink at Santa ponsa park.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaValeofGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Globales Pionero, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your time spent on write a comment on TripAdvisor. We feel very sorry to know that the service received was not up to your expectations, that is something that concern us because our priority guest satisfaction and we work very hard to try to achieve it.

We apologize for all inconveniences you mention, we will pass on your comments to our staff, especially to bar staff, all points are always checked by them in order to improve our service and know what we are doing wrong and therefore must be improved.

We will take all your comments into consideration, once again thank you for your comment, please accept our kind regards,

Matías Melo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ponsa hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Globales Santa Ponsa Park
Hotel Globales Santa Ponsa Park
#23 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 stars 702 reviews
0.1 mi away
Globales Playa Santa Ponsa
Globales Playa Santa Ponsa
#28 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
3.5 of 5 stars 260 reviews
0.0 mi away
Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel
Viva Rey Don Jaime Hotel
#5 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 stars 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
H10 Playas de Mallorca
H10 Playas de Mallorca
#16 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Club Santa Ponsa
Club Santa Ponsa
#14 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.0 of 5 stars 810 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Park Apartments
Holiday Park Apartments
#1 of 36 in Santa Ponsa
4.5 of 5 stars 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Globales Pionero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Globales Pionero

Address: Puig des Teix, 5, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Globales Pionero 4*
Number of rooms: 310
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Globales Pionero Hotel is in the lively location of Santa Ponsa and forms part of the holiday complex that includes the Globales Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel and the Globales Santa Ponsa Park Hotel. The hotel is a few meters from its beautiful large beach that offers a wide variety of water sports and activities, and is only 20 minutes from the capital of Majorca, Palma. The hotel has 1 swimming pool for adults, 1 for children and 1 indoor heated swimming pool with sauna. The comfortable rooms are all air conditioned (cold/hot) and there are 6 disabled accessible rooms as well as non-smoking rooms available. The hotel is climate controlled for your comfort and has a variety of lounges with satellite TV and bars for you to relax and enjoy in. The Globales Pionero offers an all inclusive option. The hotel’s international entertainment team hosts daily scheduled daytime activities, games and sports competitions and at night there are shows and entertainment for both adults and children. Also, nearby there are 3 golf courses, horseback riding and the infamous nightlife of Magaluf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Globales Pionero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pionero Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Pionero Santa Ponsa
Pionero Santa Ponsa
Globales Pionero Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing