We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol

Save Saved
You added Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   C/ Huguet des Far, s/n | Costa de la Calma, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was our first time to Costa del Calms, Santa Ponds. The Iberostar Jardin del Sol was a pleasant surprise with beautiful views of Santa Ponsa bay. The food was the best we've had, plenty of choice and fresh food. .There were plenty of sunbeds, and staff were very helpful bringing extra parasol. Loved it and look forward to going back next year!

Room Tip: We stayed on 8th floor. There are options for prestige but we were happy in a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

912 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    264
    93
    61
    34
See reviews for
84
628
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great hotel! We really loved it!
Wonderful accomodation and magic sea view from each room, exellent room service and tasty food in the restaurant! ( I advice to take breakfast-supper, causer the supper is very good). Good SPA!
The shops anr restaurants are just close to thehotel (10 min)
I advice this hotel for couples and those who want to escape to a quiet paradise!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Had a very enjoyable stay! Rooms and surroundings were always spotless! All staff were lovely. Loved that the sea was right there. Great views from balcony. Food was fab. And tact which a short taxi ride away was great nice bars and restaurants. Had a great time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel didn't disappoint what so ever, after reading some of the reviews before we went we feel from our personal experience that they seem very petty. We upgraded our room prior to getting there and the customer service and help I received from when I first rang to when we left was brilliant.
Taxi costs around €5 maximum down into Santa ponsa and around 40-50 to the airport.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody, the room itself that we had was class, big jacuzzi bath, 4 poster bed, double bed on the balcony with a gorgeous view.
Thanks again to the hotel and the staff for a great holiday.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a junior suite star prestige and it was a lovely room although I did find having the bath in the room a little strange!
Star prestige is a great idea but there are some pros and cons.
Pros - like a mini hotel within a very large hotel.
Beautiful pool area
Adults only

Cons - pool area far too small for the number of people therefore the usual situation of putting towels down at 7.30am happened even though there are signs everywhere asking you not to do it!!
Restaurant massive and for all guests. Should be a separate restaurant for star prestige guests - you pay enough for it!!

Stunning location with views across the bay and lots of boats etc to watch but the area of Santa ponsa is not my cup of tea - full of Irish/English bars and no real Spanish feel to it - perfect if you are there on an 18-30 holiday however but not for me!!
Would I return no probably not as although the hotel was good enough there are still some minor faults.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

In all honesty its a nice hotel, an upmarket hotel in an average resort. The pools nice, the Junior suite that we stayed in was nice, (the bath in the room was a nice touch); its all nice. The view from every room is pretty spectacular, you can see the whole of the cost for miles and they all over look the pool.

What's not nice is the herd of elephants charging down the communal corridor at 8:10am every day in the form of the cleaners metal trolley waking you up!!! What a noise, could wake the dead! We wanted a relaxing, quiet break and instead were woken throughout the night with the plumbing gurgling and the 8:10 stampede. The beds aren't great, we slept badly, i pulled the mattress off the couch on to the bed and slept on that - helped a little... It in noway ruined our holiday, but we were terribly tired and ended up dreading trying to go to sleep.

There must be a limited number of sunbeds, do as the Germans and get down early with the towels, they soon go.

Before booking we were debating about what room to take, I'm glad we took the Junior suite. There are so many options, but after seeing the superior suites with their outside beds, you don't get the privacy I would have hoped for, they're all overlooked and glad I didn't throw the money away.

The beach is 10-15mins walk away, but Santa Ponsa lacks the Spanish charm we were hoping for, its more Brits abroad where an all day English breakfast is in plentiful supply. Its also fighting off the Magaluf experience in the centre, the locals are fighting back though, they want families spending money not yobs getting drunk and wild.

Avoid Santa Ponsa by night and jump in a taxi to Palma old town or head to Andraxt harbour, both about 25 euros away. The food in the harbour was excellent, best John Dory I have ever had, we ate in H Brismar, I can't recommend it enough. There's a whole string of restaurants right on the front, get there before sunset and watch the sun go down, its very picturesque.

Its all about who you're with, but sort the plumbing out, better mattresses, stick a carpet down on the communal tiles and it would be a good hotel.

Room Tip: Stay off the 3rd floor as I think its the noisy morning cleaners route! Wouldn't bother with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Dear Alex,

Firstly we would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal impressions on your recent stay at our IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardin Del Sol. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the noise caused by our housekeeping staff; we will not fail to share your review with our head of department for immediate revision and improvement.
We regret reading that you didn´t find your bed comfortable and lament not being informed about this during your visit, as we would have looked for a solution. Clearly a basic function in any hotel is to guarantee comfortable and satisfying nights’ sleep; for future occasions please to not hesitate to contact our reception for anything you may need to fully enjoy your stay among us.

On the other hand, we are glad to read your satisfaction with the room we accommodated you in; our goal is to provide comfortable and spotless accommodations in unbeatable locations and we thank you for letting us know you were satisfied with yours.

We do appreciate your comments as they can help us to improve. We hope to see you again in the near future and to have the opportunity to offer you a very enjoyable experience with IBEROSTAR.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardin Del Sol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed 7th -18th July 2014.We stayed here last year and for the first time ever for our holiday rebooked the same hotel as we had enjoyed the service and facilities so much.
We stayed in the prestige area last year but booked for the main hotel this time. On arrival did not like over looking the extended balcony below us so upgraded to an executive room on the 3rd floor, this was also as we like a large balcony but the booked was room was more than adequate.
Food, well there was so much choice, perhaps too much at times as we wanted to eat it all!! The chefs cooked many dishes to a personal liking which included omelettes at breakfast, fish at lunch time and pasta dishes in the evening. If someone could not find something to eat I would be amazed.
Sunbeds. In the prestige area last year we found there was a limited amount for the number of guests, but in the main area it was not a problem. There was ample sunbeds unless you wanted one in a specific area. The main problem that this hotel and all the others have is people saving a bed and not using it until late afternoon or not at all !!
We spoke to the new manager during our stay who was very receptive to customer feedback. The hotel is continually being maintained, it is very clean and when our toilet would not flush we rang reception and within half and hour it was fixed. We asked for more hangers for our clothes and again within minutes we were supplied some.
Great hotel, adults only, peaceful relaxing time met some lovely people of all nationalities. Would recommend this hotel for its standards, location and atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol

Address: C/ Huguet des Far, s/n | Costa de la Calma, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the IBEROSTAR Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol. Renovated in 2013, this four-star all-inclusive hotel is located in a beautiful spot on Santa Ponca Bay, Costa de la Calma, Majorca. An adults-only hotel, it has a wide range of luxury suites and the new Star Prestige area, where guests will find everything they need to spend the best and most exclusive vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Jardin Del Sol
Iberostar Santa Ponsa
Jardin Sol Santa Ponsa
Jardin Del Sol Majorca
Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin Del Sol Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberostar Suites Hotel Jardin del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.