We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our week in Santa Ponsa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Puig des Teix 4, E-07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 35 hotels in Santa Ponsa
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our week in Santa Ponsa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were a group of 4 adults and 2 kids booked into the Globales PLaya Santa Ponsa for one week all inclusive,you have the use of all 3 hotels in the same street all of which are of a good standard,the Globales PLaya is a nice hotel however as everyone has commented the rooms and shower are designed for umpa lumpas and are very basic,the hotel lifts are also extremely small two people at a push but all in all ok,we were all moved to the sister hotel the Pioneero on the Sunday as the playa was closing for the season which was a lucky break for us the hotel is far superior in every way,large rooms and great facility's if you are going all inclusive the food is good if a bit repetitive at times,avoid the all inclusive drinks if possible local spirit brands,and beer like water,you can however upgrade for 10€ per day and benefit from branded spirits beer ect and better food,worth it if you intend to stay in the hotel and watch the shows which to be fair are really quite entertaining for the most part,all in all a good experience and worth the money paid,however beware and pack elasticated trouser as all inclusive will swell your waist line!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    74
    43
    21
    8
See reviews for
59
64
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Me and my partner had a fab week staying at the Playa Santa ponsa the hotel was clean the staff were mostly helpful although some didn,t speak English but all in all everything including the food was ok for a 2 star Hotel there was plenty of it although repetition of menu towards end of week, the only down side was the size of the toilet especially the shower which was tiny if you were of portly proportions you would struggle to get in it, the Hotel itself is central for the strip and also only a couple of hundred yards from the beach only negative of the whole week was my partner was feeling unwell and went to use the toilet in the restuarant Mark Anthony,s and got refused as we weren,t sitting at a table we were welcomed in a Spanish cafe just down from it so starting using it for our meal stops, would I go back yes definitely...

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the Hotel as it gets noisy at the front with revellers and deliveries e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for a week with a 6 month old baby and thought this hotel is very accommodating for all sorts of people. The room is reasonably clean, excellent food, friendly house keepers esp' to Vicky and her cleaning buddy. The other staffs were very friendly and helpful. The beach is clean and just 5 mins walk. Thank you for the great hospitality. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My fiancé and I had a fantastic time at this hotel in Santa Ponsa. We paid £545 for for the 2 of us for 8 days all inclusive, transfers the lot! We were over the moon considering we book this 2 weeks prior to departure, and some couples had paid over 1100 to stay here for the same length of time! (oops)
The rooms were small but perfectly adequate for the two of us, we had a small balcony which had a rubbish view of a side road, but we were never really in the room to see it, so we just used it for hanging swim suits on the mini clothes aired provided, and the occasional late night cigarette on the 2 chairs - also provided on the balcony.
The rooms were cleaned every day and towels were changed everyday, so had no issue with cleanliness etc. the staff were incredibly helpful and always saying hello etc, and would help at any opportunity.
The food was amazing! It's not the ritz but the dining room was always fresh and clean with huge amounts of food, there was different islands for deserts and breads etc, then a large area of buffet style food, there was something different every day. There was always a chef making, added extras as well (like omelettes at breakfast and stir frys at dinner etc) There was so much food, its a wonder how they made any money off a holiday as cheap as ours as there was also snacks mid morning and late afternoon and they also served a late night buffet till 11:30pm of burgers, hot dogs, chips etc (for the drinkers ;-) drinks were Local alcoholic drinks which you were allowed to order 3 drinks per person at the bar. Our breakfast juice glasses were the same glasses for tequila shots! Ouchie...

The pools were clean and tidy and we always got sunbeds even when we surfaced at 11am one day! There was a lot of Scottish travellers at the hotel and a few Germans. We came across a rather moody German man, but aside from that, everyone was lovely!

There is a tobacconist at the end of the road to the left and a beautiful beach to the right within very short walking distance..

The entertainment staff were wonderful! So funny with a great sense of humour and continuously tried getting everyone involved at playing their games, such as water volleyball etc, they also ran the entertainment in the evening which included a kids disco every night, bingo and then some form of Caberet or show ( we saw a magician and snake charmer and a blind date sort of show, including guests) the staff also did karaoke nights etc, so all good fun, we made friends with quite a few of them and they even offered to take us to BCM in malaga to enjoy the night life,

There is a sister hotel directly across the hotel and you can use all there facilities as well which we did try one day too, which was very nice!

Our hotel even let us keep our bags in a small room all day and use the facilities until 10pm at night which was when our transfer picked us up!

I honestly could not fault this hotel, we had such a good time, I would definitely go back and definitely pay more money than we originally had to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends on holiday to santa ponsa.No delay with check in,staff were friendly and attentive.Rooms were clean simple and basic.It has childrens pool,adults pool,table tennis table and football court.Could not ask for a better location..located a couple of steps to the beach practically and a 5 minute walk to the main nightlife.Lots of room on the beach also!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Me and my friend have just returned from a week's All Inclusive holiday at The Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa and were extremely disappointed by this hotel.

Holiday was sold to us as a 4* package, this owing to the fact The Playa Santa Ponsa is part of a 4* complex along with its 2 nearby sister hotels - The Hotel Santa Ponsa Park and The Pionero. The Playa Santa Ponsa is a 3* hotel at best.

Room was extremely small and dated, bathroom was tiny with an even smaller shower unit that you couldn't turn in without causing yourself injury. The sink also had a unsightly crack in the centre of it. Despite requesting a room with a pool view we were given a room with a view overlooking a side street and the neighbouring hotels car parking area. Had to keep balcony curtain closed as passersby could easily see into room.

Had cockroach running about room as well as a dead cockroach in the filthy wardrobe that had obviously been there for weeks on end, despite reporting this to reception still waiting on it being cleaned!

Indoor bar/entertainment area smelled of dampness and painting work was ongoing as we sat and tried to enjoy some drinks.

No-one explained the All Inclusive system, i.e. that if you wanted snacks you had to attend at one of the sister hotels, however you could not get drinks to wash your snacks down from the sister hotel!!!

Limited drinks on the All Inclusive menu and food very repetitive, pretty much salad, pasta, chips, chicken, fish and veil every day, ended up eating out on several occasions!

You couldn't just lie by the pool and relax but you had staff coming round and annoying you regularly (more so than in other hotels I've stayed) trying to get you to take part in volleyball, football, water polo etc.

On the plus side had no problems getting a sun lounger! Staff efficient in the restaurant also bringing drinks etc. Location of hotel was good, very central and seconds from the beach!

I have never had to complain about a holiday before but I will be making a complaint to my travel agent regarding my stay at The Playa Santa Ponsa.

I don't mind a room being basic as long as it's clean but I felt this hotel did not meet the standards expected.

Had it been a a last minute, cheap week away costing £300-£400 then i would have no complaints but this holiday cost my friend and I the best part of £1200. I have stayed in better hotels costing a lot less and I definitely would not return or recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MATIAS M, Community Manager at Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Guest,

We apologize for all inconvenience you mentioned and we feel very sorry that the service received was not up to the standards you expected and deserved.

About all items that you are not agree, we will take note of them because all the points are always checked by our staff in order to improve our service.

We will pass on your comments about the clean to our staff, that always help us to know what are we doing wrong and therefore should be improved to prevent it from happening in the future.

Once again thank you for your comment,

Yours sincerely,
Matías Melo,
Commercial department.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

stayed here in july, it was a last minute deal.After 8 hours delay check in was very quick and receptionist very polite. rooms very clean however i have never seen a bathroom so small in my life, compact is not the word.food was on best average although they do cater for different nationalities.No way near enough sun beds,but yet again towels on beds no people till late afternoon.Good location, good resort, some good entertainment in the square.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa

Address: Puig des Teix 4, E-07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Playa Santa Ponsa Hotel)
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 35 hotels in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is just 300m from from the sandy beach of Santa Ponsa, 20 minutes from Palma city and near other touristic areas such as Paguera anda Magalluf. The hotel offers an All Inclusibe package and forms part of a complex along with the Hotel Globales Pionero and Hotel Globales Santa Ponsa Park, where clients are also able to enjoy use of the many facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Hotel Playa Santa Ponsa
Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Globales Playa Santa Ponsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.