We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location + Okay Hotel = Nice Holiday.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bahia del Sol Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bahia del Sol Hotel to your Saves list
Bahia del Sol Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Jaime I 74, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Location + Okay Hotel = Nice Holiday.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Bahia Del Sol from the 6th to the 11th of August and found it to be a fairly comfortable hotel in a great location.

On arrival we were given room 402 and told we would have to change in the morning. This being due to the fact that the hotel was full to maximum capacity! This room was no bigger than a shoe box with no view and no air con. Wasn't what I had paid for but on the reassurance this would be sorted in the morning we gritted our teeth and got on with it.

The following morning we were given room 106 which was a lovely clean and spacious room with a balcony over looking the pool. We ended up happy. But down side was that the air con barely worked. We asked for a fan at reception,which helped although we could hardly hear ourselves speak when it was on!!!

We personally found the staff to be very helpful and polite. As were the staff at lunch and also the maids.

We stayed all inclusive and found breakfast, lunch and dinner to be nice. Lots of choice and something for everyone.

Snacks during the day weren't amazing and bar staff at the pool bar were extremely slow at serving.

There were plenty of sunbeds for everyone, although the earlier you get up the better spots you get around the pool!
Lovely peaceful indoor pool for when you want to get out of the heat.

Entertainment at the night time was disappointing, karaoke and a parrot show.....not the best.

Aswell as other reviews have mentioned. There are far more German, Dutch and Italian holiday makers here. And English people were out numbered. If you are want to keep your self to your self then this hotel is perfect.

Despite this there is a fabulous roof top terrace. Which has the most amazing views out over the sea. Great to watch the sunset.It's very trendy and ultra cool......ands has a dj at the weekends playing out the latest funky tunes ;)

For me the location of this hotel was perfect. Just a five minute walk from shops, bars and nightlife. Lots of things going off at the night time near the beach. Street preformers, artists and singers. We did this walk every night and found it a good way to work off dinner. The beach in the day is just perfect. Clear water and golden sand, what more could you ask for?

I would most definitely do this location in Santa Ponsa again....but unfortunately not the hotel. But only due to the lack of English people who stayed there. You can feel quite out of it.

All in all a okay stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    87
    59
    33
    13
See reviews for
61
115
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Had a great holiday at this hotel travelling as a family of two adults and a twelve year old.
Had to stay in a smaller room on the first night with no balcony but on the second day we were promised a nice room with pool view which we were given and it was a great room. Air Con was no good other than that, no complaints about the room.
Hotel Food was excellent, we stayed on an all inclusive basis and enjoyed a variety of food over the ten days we stayed.
Pool area gets very busy but if you use the terrace or the other pool on floor three, you will have no problem getting a lounger.
The hotel is in an excellent location, close to two beaches, restaurants and shops and far enough not to be affected by the pub and club night-time economy.
The staff at the hotel were great, very friendly, polite and helpful
Would definitely stay again,.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maresfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Booked in January with Broadway travel on half board for one week. Arrived 6th August and advised we would have to stay at 3 star sister hotel next door for the first two nights (this is becoming common it is the third or fourth time we have had this happen to us) anyway they did offer to upgrade us to all inclusive and give us a room upgrade with a sea view for the last five days.

The room was very nice the only down side was the air con did not work on day one but it was fixed quickly after reporting it to reception. The only other complaint about the room was the TV did not have BBC1 or ITV1 asked if it could be tuned in but was told only BBC NEWS available lots of choice if you are fluent in German! So the satellite tv for us was completely useless.

Food was OK usual four star buffet and beer tap for all inclusive and help yourself to reasonable wine. Majority of guests were German so the usual early morning 7am towel race antics! The pool area seemed a little small for the size of hotel but my wife and I used the roof terrace which was quiet and we often had it to ourselves OK but no bar so needed a few trips down in the lift to top up with drinks.

Although I have pointed out a few of the negatives overall we had a good holiday it is good value for money and I would book again and return most of the staff were friendly and helpful for the

Room Tip: Sea view I understand some of the side rooms look out on to a wall of rock
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We arrived at Bahia del Sol Hotel on the 1st August at around lunchtime. The hotel staff were very helpful and very apologetic as our room wasnt quite ready. So we went across to the restaurant diagnally across the road from the Hotel which was fantastic and good value for money. When we returned our room was then ready for us to unload our belongings so that we could get straight on the beach.

We hadnt realised but we had 2 choices of beaches that we approximately 15 minutes from either side of the hotel. We preferred the quieter beach which was the smaller one. Tip for travellers it is cheaper to buy a parasol and use a beach towel than rent a parrasol and beach chairs as this equates to 14.50 euros per day - where as I paid 8.99 Euros for the parasol.

The beaches were cleaned and raked every day and there is food available on the beach if required although I would suggest buying your water from the mini supermarkets as this is cheaper.

The food in the hotel was lovely (travelling with in a party was 2 adults and 1 child (14yrs). She thought that the food was ok especially the deserts - there was plenty to choose from and mix and match as you pleased. Although the paella's were a slightly too salty.

There was a slight problem with the aircon in our room as it wasnt cold enough - as the heat outside was around 40 degrees it would have been nice to have a colder aircon. Unfortunately this was the standard temperature and there was no individual thermostat available in the room.

All in all the place was lovely and clean and staff very helpful.

Been warned that the hotel is owned by Germans so you must get up early if you want to secure a seat at the pool. lol

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at the front of the hotel or over looking the pool - unless you are not bothered...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just back from a 6 night stay at this hotel, when we first arrived we were put in to a very small room with no balcony and no air conditioning....we moved to another room had to pay more money however worth every penny room looked over the front swimming pool a lot bigger, air conditioning still not working properly however it was better....no air conditioning in the restaurant that was a nightmare at times not comfortable at all.
The hotel food not great either and staff not great no smiles.
This sounds like a bad review however I would go back if the air con was fixed I would only go bed and breakfast and eat out as there is lovely restaurants very close by.
Entertainment terrible...

Room Tip: Pool view or you will be facing a wall with no balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
caerphilly
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Myself and 11yr old son stayed for one week at the beginning of August.We arrived very early morning and were given one of the rooms that directly faced the cliff face,no sunlight and no breeze.I had read about these rooms prior to going so I expected it.As we had no intention of sitting on the balcony it did not bother us.
We stayed on an all inclusive basis and found the food and drinks satisfactory,on par with other 4* all inclusive holidays that I have been on.
The room was of adequate size with a large bathroom with clean towels daily.The beds were quite firm but this suited us quite fine.There was an older type television set that had only 2 English channels,BBC world news and an American news channel.
The pool area was good with plenty of seating and sunbeds but if you want a sunbed you need to be an early riser!!
There was an area close to the pool that had 3 running machines,3 cross trainers,3 bicycles and a few weights machines.
There was an indoor pool and sauna.The indoor pool looked inviting but the water looked a bit murky so we did not try this!
There are beach and pool towels available to hire which are 5 euros per towel and these can be changed as many times as required.These are available from reception.
The entertainment in the evening is absolutely dire,if not comical!
The location of the hotel is fantastic,just a few minutes walk from either the main beach or turn left when leaving the hotel and there is a smaller beach there,not so crowded.
The one major let down of the hotel is the air conditioning,or should I say the lack of it.The air-con in the room was absolutely dreadful so be prepared for this.There are no windows on any of floors so the heat inside the hotel in the evenings was awful!
There was a childrens club available but I did not see many children in this.
The majority of travellers in the hotel were from Germany,Belgium,Holland and some Eastern Europeans.
To sum this hotel up I would reccomend it to travellers that do not require any entertainment in the evenings but require a good base for a beach holiday.
If anyone has any questions or requires any other information please feel free to contact me.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The hotel advertises aircon. Ours was useless no controls in the room and in any case it just blew warm air very gently from the vent. We spoke to another 5 or 6 couples who had complaints about the aircon and found sleeping very uncomfortable. Why do management not sort this out is it because aircon is not cheap to run? Food was poor and no imagination or effort put into desserts . We ate out quite often .Santa Ponsa is a nice clean family resort and we will almost certainly return. BUT NOT TO THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bahia del Sol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia del Sol Hotel

Address: Avenida Jaime I 74, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bahia del Sol Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Bahia del Sol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Hotel Santa Ponsa
Sol Hotel Bahia Del
Bahia Del Sol Santa Ponsa
Bahia Del Sol Hotel Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bahia del Sol Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.