We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites to your Saves list
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Huguet d'es Far 27, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Santa Ponsa
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newtownabbey, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After having read all of the great reviews we were really looking forward to our holiday at The Fergus Suites!. This is a 3* Hotel with basic facilities and accommodation, however the staff in general were very helpful and in particular Jose in the Restaurant was very attentive and always smiling. The bedrooms are spacious but very basic with grubby bed linen and "blankets" (in 2015 !) which need replaced and updated urgently with duvets etc.
In conclusion the highlight for us was the great location which is a breath of fresh air after visiting downtown Santa Ponca !.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the main block if you want to catch some sun during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    127
    58
    38
    17
See reviews for
223
123
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel, although quite basic, is very clean and tidy. The staff are very helpful and friendly and they work very, very hard.
We were on a room on the 3rd floor after being moved due to a small hitch. Marina, the receptionist was excellent in dealing with our problem and genuinely concerned for us. Our room, like all but 4 of the others, was spacious and had a separate bedroom, walk in wardrobe, sofa bed and table and chairs. The balcony was big, with a sun lounger and table and chairs. We got the sun from around 4.30pm. The room was cleaned daily and towels changed if they were left on the floor, as asked.
The food was fine. There was a reasonably good selection to choose from. It perhaps could have been a bit hotter. I have had better, but can't compare as these hotels were of a better rating and standard all together.
The hotel is at a pebble cove. It is a 15 minute walk to Santa Ponsa and a 40 minute walk to another nice holiday town.
For a 4 day, 4 star break, we had a great time, I would recommend people to go for a short break and I would go back.
Thank you to Paula and her staff.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband & I have just returned from this hotel today. We had room 043 it had beautiful sea views although only evening sun but that was okay as we spend our day by the pool in the sun and returned to our room early evening to watch the sun go down on the lovely spacious balcony with a glass of wine chilled in the modern fridge provided. On our arrival and during our stay the reception staff were friendly helpful and happy as we're all staff. We were worried after reading other reviews about unfriendly staff but this was not the case at all. We would say that the staff are very hard working and maybe at least 2 bar staff should be on shift during the evening as it gets very busy in the main bar after dinner sometimes had to wait 10 min to get a drink so ordered double. In saying this we never found any staff to be rude quite the opposite. We understand that this hotel chain has recently taken over this properly as ongoing improvements are being made. A roof top solarium is currently under construction to make more sun tanning area as the pool area is compact it must be hard to get a sun bed in peak season but it looks like the management are trying to make more available space for this also on the small beach area. The animation team...Wow!!! FANTASTIC JOB. It was great for kids & adults. I'm missing that tonight. Food FANTASTIC. Lots of variety and very clean. Rooms BRILLIANT. Just bring a kettle. Great location easy 10 min walk into santa ponsa great place lovely sandy beach. Would definitely stay again. Just would get a later flight back to the UK 4.50 am pick up this morning was a bit harsh.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were family of 5. 3 adults and 2 kids. Rooms nice and tidy. We were lucky to visit this hotel at the beginning of season as at that time it less crowded and you can enjoy it more. The best highlight of the hotel is bartender Nathanael. The only person who will take time to create perfect cocktails not only to taste good but to look great as well.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just home from a super 5 night AI break in Santa Ponsa, courtesy of an unbeatable deal from Travelzoo.
The Fergus Style suites were a real delight, a top floor room with a huge balcony, separate bedroom, walk in wardrobe, newly refurbished with a lovely matt wood effect tiled floor, large bath/shower room, all spotlessly clean.
The whole hotel has been refurbished very recently, with white (walls, ceilings, floors, upholstey etc) as the main colour, the staff were helpful, hard working and as friendly as their hard work would allow. The food was about as good as I have experienced at a "buffet style" hotel (15+ AI stays) with lots of choice, I liked the 2 replicated serving areas, so avoiding a bottleneck at a single one, lots for carnivores or veg enthusiasts, very good bread (sourdough?) there was always a Paella at lunch and dinner, varied between shellfish, chicken, veg, and even a Cuttlefish with black rice version, a really "top end" dish that was delicious but appeared to be being treated with some suspicion due to its colour! All said, very good.
I have no idea what the entertainment was like as we generally avoid it.
A couple of tiny minus points were the "sardines" sunbeds around the pool, not helped by the fact the side of the pool closest to the indoor pool was closed while they continue to refurbish it, and the "beach" is actually a tiny rocky cove that is full of that rotting seaweed that seems to plague Majorca, minor quibbles in my opinion, a solution to both is to walk 5 mins around the headland and pay 4 euros 50 for a sunlounger, away from the crowds, and you can still walk 5 mins back to the hotel beach bar for refreshments!
We arrived at the tail end of the Easter break, there were allot of Brits with kids, but this thinned at the weekend, replaced with lots of French and a few Germans and Spanish.
The other thing I would be aware of is the coach transfer from the airport is a tedious 2 hours, the Fegus Style being the final of about 8 drop offs, with the Fergus being the first pick up to go home, meaning more negotiating the backstreets of Magaluf for 2 hours at silly o'clock in the morning. If we do it again, for the frankly ridiculous price we paid, I think we would have to consider private transfers.
All said and done, absolutely brilliant!

Room Tip: We got top floor, avoids the 3am chair scrapers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

4 star hotel? 2.5 to 3 star at best!
We were a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids aged 9, 10 and 11) and stayed here for a week. After a long and slightly delayed journey we were initially pleased with the way the hotel looked. The view from the road where the lift was located was beautiful, as was the reception area with its white marble floor and pillars. We were given room 201 which you should AVOID! The only benefit of this room is that it was on the same floor as reception (2nd floor), however almost everything else was on Floor Zero including the pool, bar and restaurant. Directly in front of our room (approx 3ft away) and as you opened the door we had a kiddies play park for younger kids which our kids were too big for. These rooms have large balconies with a large sunbed however ours didn't get a single ray of sunshine as when the sun came around in the evening it was blocked by huge trees....excellent. Our balcony was mainly used as storage for the kids lilos and hanging out our beach towels. The layout of our accommodation was odd. The living room was converted into our 3 kids bedroom so space was very limited. The settee was made into 1 bed with 2 other low quality and squeaky cotbeds on either side of this. My wife and I had a fairly spacious twin room with 2 single beds pushed together. So apart from having a kids play area at the front, a sunless and unused balcony, a cramped living area full of cheap beds and 1 bedroom with 2 singles pushed together...we also had a small dressing room of sorts with almost no storage facilities in it apart from a single bar to hang about 10 items up and a shelving unit which also housed the safe! Baring in mind there were 5 of us in accommodation fit for 2 or 3 at most. My wife's organisational skills was our saving grace. We enquired at reception first thing the following morning to see if we could be moved to a more accomadating room but were told they were all the same. Our room was cleaned and bins emptied daily though our beds were only changed once during our stay and clean towels provided twice. I believe this was because we all roughly made our beds each morning for tidiness and hung our towels on the sunless balcony after use. In hindsight if we were slobs and left our beds unmade and just chucked our used towels on the floor we may have had a daily change? Who knows.. Not good enough, and certainly not 4 star!!
The restaurant food was generally nice and varied though be careful of the sausage which are poor quality as I found several animal parts which shouldn't have been there. The beach is non-existent. It's more of a gorged out area full of seaweed. I snorkelled here and did manage to see a few fish though it wasn't very interesting at all and had seaweed stuck to me for most of the day. Santa Ponca beach is a 10-15mim walk away which is nice and the town is great for shops, bars and restaurants. There's a square opposite the hotel (over the road, past the park and up the ramp) which had an Indians, Irish bars, sports bars and souvenir shops etc which was also the quickest way to the beach.
Despite the accommodation gripes this was a nice hotel. We wouldn't return to this hotel but would definitely return to Santa Ponca.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned from a stay at the Fergus Cala Blanca. The pictures are exactly what you see on their website clean and white. We arrived gone midnight on 3rd April check in took a matter of minutes. We were told that they had left us some food in the restaurant although it was only cold meats and cheese with fruit and water it was still a nice gesture.

As a family of 2 adults and 3 children we were we were given rooms on the 4th floor 2 suites next door to each other as requested via email (thank you). The suites were very clean and spacious nice idea of the walk in wardrobes. The rooms and towels are cleaned and changed every day. No double beds 2 singles pushed together.
The only thing I would suggest is a TV in the bedroom as the sofa was a little uncomfortable to sit and watch telly. Also no tea and coffee making facilities in room.

Facilities
Restaurant
I can honestly say that the food in the restaurant was great breakfast was what it is but for lunch and dinner you got some different every day and we ended up staying for 2 weeks due the Easy jet cancelling our flights for a week. Even the most pickiest of eaters will find something to it.

Pool
Plenty of sun loungers around the pool water is freezing but I could see this getting filled up quickly in high season especially if people insist on leaving their towels down all day.
No indoor pool apparently it was being refurbished to open mid May 2015. Not stated on website.

Evening Entertainment
This was always outside (chilly) and I think it was really geared towards the children.
They did have 2 singers on Good Friday in the Bar they were very good.
Band played live music Wednesday 15th again outdoors.

Kids club
Games, face painting and competitions for the children thank you Christina.
Resident pony Pongus a hit with the children.

Bar
I cannot comment on the alcohol as we don't drink. I can say that the soft drinks are the real thing not that sweet powder stuff out of a machine. Slushies at the pool bar.

Beach
No existent. The closest beach is Santa Ponsa Beach about a 25 minute walk away it costs €4.50 to use a sun lounger. This is across from McDonalds.

Wifi
Yes it is free but slow the best place to connect is the restaurant.

If you want to go to Palma take the 102 bus and if you want to go to Magaluf take the 104 bus about a 5 minute walk past McDonalds.

Nice Hotel I would recommend this to family and friends thank you to all the staff who work very hard Jose Marie, Stephen, Joan, Eva.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lift and road are better for wifi 428 & 429
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites

Address: C/ Huguet d'es Far 27, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Do you want to wake up every morning at the shores of the Mediterranean? Dive in the FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites, a design hotel in Santa Ponsa Bay of Majorcan and Mediterranean inspiration. An accommodation that will offer you the most pleasant experiences, entertaining days and the best rest on the seaside. Only our hotel in Costa de la Calma can offer you the magic of the Mediterranean, with traditional and Asian gourmet gastronomy, recently refurbished facilities and a first class personal attention. Imagine yourself staying in a hotel with theme parties near the swimming pool, free wifi in the rooms, All Inclusive service with premium brands, cycling, golf... At the FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites we want you to live an unforgettable experience, so that every day is perfect. Enjoy a golf trip to Santa Ponsa or a cyclotourism holiday in Majorca with the best equipment at your disposal. Our hotel in Cala Blanca is located just within a 5 minute drive to Santa Ponsa golf club and it offers you a locker for you to keep your equipment. For cycling lovers, the FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites features an indoor parking for 150 bikes, repairing and washing station, laundry with dryer for maillots and fruit for you to recharge energies before and after your routes. Besides, enjoy your family holidays with your pet: the FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites is one of the few pet friendly hotels in Majorca with relax areas for adults and children ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel d`Or Jardin De Playa Hotel Santa Ponsa
Jardin De Playa Santa Ponsa
FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage FERGUS Style Cala Blanca Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.