We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs updating” 3 of 5 stars
Review of TRH Jardin del Mar

Save Saved
You added TRH Jardin del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TRH Jardin del Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Huguet des Far 1, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 35 hotels in Santa Ponsa
Irvine, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hotel needs updating”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Good location. Stayed in October for 4 nights. Would not like to stay there during the summer season. Sunbed around pool were uncomfortable. Rooms need upgrading. No kettle or toaster in room but they were available to hire. Would upgrade to a sea view,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    269
    182
    85
    82
See reviews for
296
201
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after some deliberation on where to stay in santa ponsa. It was our first visit to the area. I wil not be returning to this hotel. The bedroom door had a hole where it was kicked in , tv had cigarette burns on top and beds were like sleeping on a board. To say this was a three star is being very generous. Its dated an let go. Its grand if u just want a basic place, no frills and plan on spending all ur time out and about! On a plus side the staff are helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

All the other reviews are spot on, the hotel is a great location but needs updating! The beds in some of the rooms are extremely hard, and that's from someone who sleeps on a firm bed at home! The idea of the power going off to the fridges is ludicrous, we had to throw loads away! The kitchenettes are extremely small with the only cooking facilities being a 2 ring stove and you have to buy absolutely everything, even salt and pepper! On the plus side, the setting is perfect, especially if you book a 'see view' room, the views are quite spectacular from most of them! The pool and patio area is lovely and well maintained with loads of sun-beds and tables to choose from! The staff are very helpful and friendly. There are toasters, irons, hairdryers etc available to hire for a small charge.

Room Tip: 'Sea View' apartments are the best, not side sea view. The delux ones have a much bigger ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniscorthy, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We have stayed in the Jardin del Mar many times and agree with some of the reviewers that it needs a little bit of TLC. While it is clean and adequate it should be possible to have electricity in the apartments for self catering. The fridge defrosts when you are out all day resulting in large blocks of ice forming in the ice box and food going off. The fridge in our apartment had the most offensive smell of fish which I could not get rid of. The previous guest must have left fish in the fridge freezer box and it went off when electricity was off. The fridge should have been properly cleaned before we got there. Also it should be standard to have a kettle, microwave and toaster in self catering. There was free WiFi for one hour which is a joke. Of course you have to pay for the internet in reception at the rate of €1 for 10 minutes. I will probably stay there again but they need to review self catering facilities.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

just returned on 28th september. On arrival at 11.45p.m. we were greeted by 2 male staff who were very helpful. The apartments are quite small and kitchen is tiny - about 1.5 metres x 1.5 metres, with limited equipment for self catering. Beds are VERY firm and take a while to get used to, and were changed after 5 days of our 10 day stay. Towels were changed every other day and rooms cleaned 8 out of 10 days. Apartments are clean but need updating - looks like they've not been updated since the 70's, the t.v. doesn't even have a remote (which means you don't have to hire one) but does have British channels. Kettle, toaster and hairdrier are all available to rent at 10 euros per week each with a 10 euro deposit.The air con was adequate at this time of year, but i can't imagine it would serve it's purpose in high season. The pool area is well maintained and has a lifeguard on duty from about 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. However, the poolside toilets don't have any locks on the doors and no working hand driers and no soap. All in all a lovely hotel which needs a bit of tlc and where a sea view room is a must for the beautiful view and sun on the balcony all day. Outside of the hotel, the cove which is reached by some rickety steps from the pool area (but can be reached more safely by using the steps from Caesar's hotel) was a bit dissappointing as its very pebbly and difficult to walk on. The main beach is about a 10 - 15 minute stroll down the hill and contrary to previous reviews is not that bad to walk up. There are a number of bars and restaurants around the square and also nightly entertainment, which was very enjoyable. Bar Lucinda, next to the hotel, is a nice bar which stays open until the last customer has left, and Bob's cafe in Santa Ponsa serves a pint of San Miguel for 1.35euros - cheapest we found - and also serves good but cheap food. If you've not been to Palma, the sightseeing tour is great. It costs 15 euros each for a 24 hour hop on, hop off ticket which takes you to all the main sights e.g. Belver Castle, the cathederal etc. where you can get off the bus, take time to visit and view these places and get on the next bus that comes along. It's a great day out sightseeing for 15 euros.

Room Tip: Fourth floor, sea view rooms and above have fantastic views and the sun all day til about 6 p.m. p.s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stayed in september 2012, with two friends for a week. We booked as part of a package deal and went self catering. The facilities in the room were basic, but very clean and more than adequate for holiday catering! Staff are lovely, extremely helpful and added extras such as staying on free of charge and using the gym showers free of charge are ideal if you're not flying until the evening. Also worth purchasing WiFi for only 10euros for three days if your room is on the ground floor and by the pool! No need to bring towels as they are provided, and you do also get a hob kettle, which i found misleading when reading some previous reviews.

The other great thing about the hotel is it's location. The views from the pool are spectacular, and there is a beautiful little cove for swimming 1min walk away. The bars and restaurants of Santa Ponsa are about 10mins walk away, and there are a few ones even nearer too. perfect for if you want to have a big one in Santa Ponsa but also have a night off and go for a lovely dinner. Great places to eat include Jackies in Santa Ponsa (amazing mussels and salads), and las olas on the beach (amazing baby squid and spaghetti carbonara.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAMBRIDGE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

My daughter and i have just returned from a weeks stay here.I read the reviews before i booked and thought, yeh there are some bad ones but you cant please everybody. But trust me when i say, this hotel is very disappointing! I have stayed in a few hotels in Santa Ponsa( i used to live there so had some idea of where i was booking) and have always found them excellent value for money. This hotel was a big let down. We found the food awful. Not much choice, and very poor quality. I can normally find something to eat, but there was nothing on offer that i could contemplate eating. Beef stew 2 nights on the trot. Turkey swimming in oil. Lettuce on the salad section going brown. Runny lasagne and that was just on the 2 nights that we bothered going down. We had chips and gravy those 2 nights! We spent the rest of our week having to eat out, which used up our spending money! Anyone with children would be very stuck to feed them! We paid extra on arrival to upgrade to a superior room with large balcony and sea views, which for us was the highlight. But we constantly had dirty feet cos the floors werent cleaned properly And the beds....they were so hard that after the second night of tossing and turning with back ache, i decided that for the rest of the week, i would sleep on the sunlounger. And thats what i did!...There were 2 'comfy' chairs in the lounge, which were equally as uncomfortable as the beds! So nowhere nice and relaxing to sit after a hard day out and about! I will say though that the staff around the hotel were lovely. The receptionists were kind and helpful. We were hoping to have a late check out but the hotel was fully booked, so we were given somewhere to stash our bags, and were given access to the gym area, to have a shower. This again was pleasant, more comfy than our room! Location wise this hotel is great but I wouldnt recommend it in a million years, and needless to say, we wont be going back there!

Room Tip: You must pay for seaview, and if you can go 'superior'
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TRH Jardin del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRH Jardin del Mar

Address: C/ Huguet des Far 1, 07180 Santa Ponsa, Calvia, Majorca, Spain
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Calvia > Santa Ponsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Santa Ponsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TRH Jardin del Mar 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is located in the southwestern part of Mallorca, overlooking Santa Ponca’s bay. We offer apartments with air conditioning and private balcony. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, with a solarium with fantastic views. All apartments have a kitchenette and a fridge. They all are tile-floored and equipped with satellite TV. The Jardín Del Mar Hotel has a bar-cafeteria with big TV screens. There is also a snack bar by the pool. Among the leisure facilities, customers will find a gym and a beach volleyball court, sauna and indoor pool (not available from May to October). Free Wi-Fi (during the first hour) available in all common areas. The hotel is located 10 minutes drive from the lively resort of Magaluf. Customers will find Santa Ponca’s beach in about 5 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your TRH Jardin del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trh Jardin Del Mar Hotel Santa Ponsa
Jardin Del Mar Santa Ponsa
Jardin Del Mar Majorca
TRH Jardin Del Mar Santa Ponsa, Majorca

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TRH Jardin del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.